McMurphy wrote: » I agree with you, Ireland's plight wouldn't have been any different had FG had been in power at the time.
Edgware wrote: » You really believe that?
McMurphy wrote: » FG are there in a caretaker capacity, and if you have some evidence that they're any closer to reeling in a patsy to get a new one established, throw the link up. There'll be a new election or a national government of unity, either or won't sit comfortably with Leo, that's something I can tell you for free.
blanch152 wrote: » If I was a FG supporter, I would be screaming for them to go into opposition. Let the others sort this out would be my view. I also think that would benefit them in the longer run and they would be by far the biggest party after the next election, whenever that was. But I am not, I am a Green voter, and want them in government with parties that actually know how to govern, Fine Gael and Labour would be my choices to go into government with the Greens, that isn't possible so holding the nose with FF is the next best option.
blanch152 wrote: » And remind me again who is in government? Or who is close to forming a government?
McMurphy wrote: » You also said the best place for fg was opposition.
Mortelaro wrote: » In those ebbs and flows,you forgot Sinn Féins 'excellent ' council elections less than a year ago...
blanch152 wrote: » I have said all along that it would be a challenge to get the required two-thirds majority of members. However, it is much better to be a party going into an election having made a genuine attempt to form a government rather than one that made a song and dance about it and couldn't get an agreement with anyone.
McMurphy wrote: » Let's recap so, FF wrecked the economy back in the late 00s, were decimated at the polls, FG came along (but needed labour as they didn't have the numbers themselves) got 5 years governance , lost the next election campaign, could only govern with FFs permission, and now find themselves as the having the 3rd highest number of seats, after FF and Sinn Féin, and now FF are ok to handle the economy again but only if FG become their lackeys? Oh my how the mighty have fallen.
McMurphy wrote: » Please elaborate on this. Hearing something similar, I know the green party candidate in this area (failed to get elected) and I don't think they're too united as a party at present, watch this space greens in a FFG coalition govt ain't going to happen. A new election later in the year or national government is what's going to happen. Whether the electorate will thank FFG for dragging this charade out during a "once in a lifetime" pandemic remains to be seen.
Mortelaro wrote: » If you arent an organic farmer then as a SF supporter you are also contributing to nitrates You are contributing anyway but it's not fair to attack non Sinn fein farmers Aswell as that,its shaky ground given where the by product of diesel laundering ends up
Shefwedfan wrote: » I think people taking out 100% mortgages on houses they could never afford. Or building mansions in the middle of nowhere was part of the problem as well...... As I said before, it didnt matter which party was in power at the disaster, none of them knew what was coming. If so we would of had loads of discussions in the Dail. No point talking about the disaster after it happened Even today you have people complaining that they cant get a 100% mortgage anymore,.....government cant stop stupidity!!!
Mortelaro wrote: » Unless it was with FG oversight Do you not believe in rehabilitation of politicians at all at all
Deleted User wrote: » FF know that they cannot compete with FG, who are doing a great job.
tikkahunter wrote: » Lot of rumbles that all is not well in the green camp .FF needed a fresh face in there, a lot of their younger members doing great work in their respected areas but they are a long way off even becoming TD's.
McMurphy wrote: » Hehe no need to go back to the 1800s, nine years would be grand, someone could also ask Leo if he's ready to put Delaney back in charge of the FAI if he's done a deal with Michaél and making it possible for him to become Taoiseach. https://twitter.com/rtenews/status/1224826375355367431?s=19
[Deleted User] wrote: » Not at all,but i obey rules (be also well below my nitrate limits too) Land saturated this year and i could hear lads out in middle of night spreading slurry weeks before opening date If you spread slurry,the night before 35mm of rain forecast onto already saturated land,you dont have to be member of mensa to know where its going to end up??
McMurphy wrote: » I agree - but as I already said Eamon isn't the green party, Eamon as the leader has to convince the rest of them to go along with potential political annihilation for something he has been promised, ie they get shafted so he can be a minister? Not going to be convinced myself. It'll be back to the polls or a national government of unity. Also where the hell are FF atm? Practically zero from Michaél as past days - are they happy enough to be seen as letting the tail wag the dog?
McMurphy wrote: » I agree - but as I already said Eamon isn't the green party, Eamon as the leader has to convince the rest of them to go along with potential political annihilation for something he has been promised, ie they get shafted so he can be a minister? Not going to be convinced myself. It'll be back to the polls or a national government of unity.Also where the hell are FF atm? Practically zero from Michaél as past days - are they happy enough to be seen as letting the tail wag the dog?
Mortelaro wrote: » And how in 1823 Baron Sheckleton had a lettuce grower imprisoned Or that the seeds have sold out in shankhill as an FG supporter bought more than his fair share Or that the hens in ballyferriter in 82 may have ate something genetically modified that blew in from Leo's great uncles garden in India on a strong easterly once Yes many important questions from people that just don't get the greens..
Mortelaro wrote: » Are you an organic farmer?
[Deleted User] wrote: » Whats point in saving planet if.they are just going to help ff/fg poision it and every river here??
McMurphy wrote: » Wonder if anyone will ask Eamon how he felt when the news broke they leo interfered in the planning application for a wind farm so as Donald Trump's business investment wouldn't suffer.
blanch152 wrote: » From a Green perspective, given the opposition to a carbon tax from the likes of Sinn Fein and PBP, as well as the nuttiness of some of the rural independents, FF and FG offer the best route to getting their policies implemented. Again though, in talking about building an organisation to "progress to next level", you are showing that you have little understanding of what the Greens are about. Progressing to the next level isn't their objective, saving the planet through policy implementation is.
blanch152 wrote: » It is not the case that climate change is coming fast, it is more that it is like a large ship heading for an iceberg, the earlier you turn away from it, the easier it is.
Melanchthon wrote: » Well then we are doomed because Ireland is a droplet in terms of the global population. I don't think most people who take these lines actually believe it, you know how it's obvious, they never talk about implementing infrastructure and policies to help us survive as a society the changes that are coming in the next number of years. If you genuinely think it's rolling down the line soon your not going to want a foreign aid budget (unless it's tied to reducing population) your going to want to be building geothermal and nuclear that can operate in very bad weather, your going to want to start building serious coastal defences now, your going to want to start looking at GMO crops and a complete change in farming practices for when Irelands weather becomes more like Ontario/up-state New York. Climate change is real but if it's genuinely coming down the line as fast as they say we shouldn't be pissing about around the edges as Ireland is legitimately too small to make a difference, we should be looking to survive it as a 1st world country. Green types never follow through with their own predictions logical conclusions
aido79 wrote: » That's true but they'll always have the DUP to blame in the north. It's always someone else's fault.