spurious wrote: » Athlone. Really. That's how bad things were in the 70s. We did have Abba, however.
GinSoaked wrote: » Wow that dates you to an very specific period. Wasn't Viking World one of those total flops that only lasted a year?
deise08 wrote: » The heritage park in Wexford. Kilkenny castle Muckross House.. That was a long one, from waterford. Our school must have been on a budget,. I remember one year being brought to a trout farm Can't think of many more to be honest.
Purple Mountain wrote: » I know our primary school went there when I was in maybe 4th class. I remember water activities on the Shannon and am I right in thinking a trip to the barracks? Can't think of what else we did.
CFlat wrote: Boat trip? Tour of the Castle? Clonmacnoise?
JeffreyEpspeen wrote: » I remember going to France and girls from a different school sneaking into our room and shifting everyone apart from me. In fairness, one girl wanted to shift me but I didn't want any part of it. It goes without saying they were girls from another Irish school. As if French girls would shift a bunch of pale, gawky Irish lads.
Tucker Faint Luck wrote: » Primary school was one tour per year and only for 3rd to 6th. I remember Dun na Ri forest park in Cavan, Coca Cola factory, and Newgrange. Lyons Estate was crap and only a couple of miles away. And Maynooth Castle was the absolute worst I think. There were 43 of us and 40+ in the other parallel class too. 85 kids with 2 teachers is ridiculous- no wonder we rarely did anything. Secondary there were very few apart from one main trip abroad and language exchanges. I couldn't do the exchanges because my family are nuts. I did go to Paris and Switzerland (flight, bus, bus, flight) though and paid for it myself. Other than that we went to Kilkenny for the day, some place in Wicklow for kayaking and zip lining, the Bridewell and Four Courts, and to Collins' Barracks. During my time as a teacher Causey Farm was my favourite.
Seamai wrote: » When we had to write the obligatory composition on our trip I doubt too many of us finished with the customary "And we all agreed that it was the best school trip ever"
Seamai wrote: » The Bridewell? Did someone get assaulted or something?
mistersifter wrote: » Coca cola factory - "give that man a can of coke" was the catchphrase of the aul fella tour guide.
This is it wrote: » Went to Mosney for one in 5th or 6th class. They had everything there, some craic and great memories.
Tucker Faint Luck wrote: » No, we were brought in to see the cells and spoken to by a Garda about staying out of trouble.
Solli wrote: » To see Saint Oliver Plunkett’s head in Drogheda. Two and half hours each way on a bus with the nuns.