Baby01032012 wrote: » I’m an estate agent. Letting an apartment does not come under an essential service. I had a maintenance guy go to an apartment block time repair a gate he was stopped and fined €150 by the guards as it’s not an essential service. I doubt you’ll find any agent actually doing physical viewings. A lot including the bigger agents are doing virtual viewings. Your health is essential OP, this is potentially a life and death scenario. Your situation is not.
Quantum Erasure wrote: » Was this changed, or did I just take it up wrong? Someone I know was stopped and told they really shouldn't be travelling outside of 2km unless it was essential, they were let through though... wasn't an essential errand they were on either
Quantum Erasure wrote: » The 2km thing is for being out walking/ for exercise. It's so loads of people don't turn up at beaches or Glendalough for a stroll...
10pennymixup wrote: » I thought that pertained to vehicles, especially ones used to move food and essential personnel around: From gov.ie 28/3/20 Rental and Leasing Activities rental and lease of cars light motor vehicles and trucks necessary to support the provision of essential services
Graham wrote: » Anybody who currently has accommodation would be protected by the emergency legislation for the most part.
saabsaab wrote: » There is an exemption for 12. Rental & Leasing Activity I don't know if your case would qualify? Try to do it online as much as possible. I would be very careful take precautions etc.
dor843088 wrote: » https://merrionstreet.ie/en/News-Room/News/Speech_of_Taoiseach_Leo_Varadkar_27_March_2020.html People should really pay attention. And also cop on. Travelling around viewing apartments? Really ?
10pennymixup wrote: » Genuinely interested to hear where this quote comes from.
runswithascript wrote: » I have just read somewhere else: Still reading.
Landlords are accommodation providers. Accommodation is an essential so landlord providing accommodation or maintaining accommodation would be entitled to travel for that purpose.
runswithascript wrote: » I am staying in Kildare at the moment but have desperately been trying to find a small flat in Dublin the last few months. The number available seemed to increase when there was just a few case here but now there are very few, although around twice a week I will receive an alert. Given the outbreak, is it permissible to travel to viewings? I wonder if a guard were to stop me would he accept travelling for a viewing essential or would he find me in breach of the law?