Lallers96 wrote: » - Should I buy more books? The recommended books come to almost €1,000 for those 4 subjects I mentioned I *could* afford them but it would cost me a month's wages. Here's a more detailed look at the prices: - McMahon (Tort recommended reading) is €228 cheapest - Kelly (Constitutional) is €263 cheapest - Craig & DeBurca (EU) is €46 - Bloomsbury Professionals Companies Act 2014 is €84 - Courtney (Company's recommended reading) is €218 So that adds up to €839. Honest answer, is it worth the money? Could you manage these exams without all these books, could I get by with the books I already have? I will be buying the Bloomsbury Act book, and probably as well to get Craig & DeBurca since it's cheap but the rest is extremely expensive. I remember doing just fine in college without any books, as I couldn't afford them to be honest, but as I mentioned the standard is surely higher and maybe I do need them. What's your advice? Are the 4 subjects I've chosen the best, or is there anyone who can advise me on the best course of action? If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great. I don't know anyone who is taking the FE1 exams, or even has in the past so I came here hoping for some direction.
Lallers96 wrote: » Hi, sorry if this is the wrong thread but I'm new to boards.ie. I studied Corporate Law in NUIG and graduated last November. I was taking time off to save money and now I'm seriously thinking of taking the FE1 exams in Autumn, after having time off to come down from the stress of college. I just have a couple of questions that I'd like to ask people who have FE1 exam knowledge, or are in a similar situation to me. From my research I gather that the standard required of candidates is higher in these FE1 exams, compared to college. I have ordered and read the exam papers for the last 3 years and while the questions seem similarly worded and detailed but there is 5 questions out of 8 to be answered in 3 hours - so I assume that I am correct that the standard to get high marks is higher than college? Especially given the pass rate is 50%, rather than 40%. (Hopefully I won't have to worry about that) Secondly, and I am sure that nobody can give me a concrete answer since nobody can be certain in these uncertain times, but I imagine that the FE1 exams will go ahead as per previous years in October 2020? What are your thoughts? Third question is just out of curiosity as I want to plan to pass all 8 exams by March next year, when do you get your results should you take the exams in October? And finally I want to give a short background into my situation and ask if you guys feel I am prepared or not, and if I need to take action to become prepared then any advice would be greatly appreciated. I feel like I am ready now after taking time off college to tackle these exams. I am working (well I will be again, once this COVID pandemic passes) part-time to pay bills, and I have past exam papers & examiners reports for the last 3 years (I find repeating old questions the best form of study - practice makes perfect). I think that I will take 4 exams in my first sitting, Tort, Constitutional, EU Law, and Company Law - as I studied those in college and feel like 5 would be too much in one go. I have the EU Legislation book that you can bring with you to the exam. I have Tully's book for Tort Law that I bought back in 2015 in 1st year (not the recommended reading, but a supplementary one). I have nothing for Constitutional Law, unless an auld copy of the constitution counts . I have 2 Nutshell books (condensed down study books) for EU Law and Company Law respectively. - Should I buy more books? The recommended books come to almost €1,000 for those 4 subjects I mentioned I *could* afford them but it would cost me a month's wages. Here's a more detailed look at the prices: - McMahon (Tort recommended reading) is €228 cheapest - Kelly (Constitutional) is €263 cheapest - Craig & DeBurca (EU) is €46 - Bloomsbury Professionals Companies Act 2014 is €84 - Courtney (Company's recommended reading) is €218 So that adds up to €839. Honest answer, is it worth the money? Could you manage these exams without all these books, could I get by with the books I already have? I will be buying the Bloomsbury Act book, and probably as well to get Craig & DeBurca since it's cheap but the rest is extremely expensive. I remember doing just fine in college without any books, as I couldn't afford them to be honest, but as I mentioned the standard is surely higher and maybe I do need them. What's your advice? Are the 4 subjects I've chosen the best, or is there anyone who can advise me on the best course of action? If anyone could point me in the right direction that would be great. I don't know anyone who is taking the FE1 exams, or even has in the past so I came here hoping for some direction.
Coulter97 wrote: » That's what I was thinking. Firms always need trainees. And chances are by 2023 the economy will be up and roaring again.
channing90 wrote: » Anyone with any idea on any online courses to do during this time to upskill that would be useful for getting a traineeship etc
lawstudentirl wrote: » I really wouldn’t worry if I were him. If anyone will be affected it’s those with start dates now/soon. Even if there are smaller intakes in 2023, the intake obviously isn’t full yet so people like your friend who already have a contract will be grand, it’d just be harder to get one if you don’t. I know it’s easier said than done but really try not to be stressing out about a job that isn’t for 3 years. Plenty things in the nearer future to be stressing about!
Coulter97 wrote: » I have a friend with a TC in 2023 and he's worried about cancellation/deferment because of the economic crisis. Is that likely or possible?
spygirl wrote: » PPC1 resits are happening via Moodle. Saw it on the law Society website. Wonder will something similar occur for other exams if this continues.
channing90 wrote: » There’s going to be no mass gatherings for months, a vaccine is needed for normal life to resume again.
HappyKitten62 wrote: » I think August would be far too late for Blackhall. But we can’t possibly know. No point in speculating. We’ll be given plenty of notice.
channing90 wrote: » I predict August at the earliest, just throwing it out there based on nothing but my own guess work.
mydogwentroof wrote: » Chill ...
shaunadennyham wrote: » Ah here would you cop on how can they possibility confirm when the exams will be on when the country is essentially in lockdown? If they gave an indication of when it will be on and they had to change it people would be up in arms. They'll reschedule it as soon as this pandemic has abated. We'll be given notice. Relax
biglawhead420 wrote: » Do we have any ideas as to when they’ll be on???
channing90 wrote: » I need tort too preferably sample answers but I could send you Eu stuff alri.
lawDani wrote: » Yeah I guess that’s all I can do. I’ll get both materials and just go from there when we have more of a timeframe I’ll judge it more. I think il like tort as working in a law firm introduces litigation and damages.... we can try suss EU together ha. Have you all material?
nmurphy1441 wrote: » There is a lot in tort but it can be handy enough to pick up! You either love it or hate it. Personally I enjoyed it. I’ve never ever looked at EU but I’m going to sit it during the extra sitting! Study it for the next few months but I think it’s worth a go! Trying to sit the two from scratch could be very tough, just all depends how long we have!