Whereisgalway wrote: » Drove by the prom, in fairness the council have put up signs it up to people to respect the social distancing. People of Galway we really are embarrassing ourselves, I seen runners going in groups of three, people stopping for chats bunched intogether, cyclists on the footpath forcing people in closer together, dogs off leads pooing and sniffing everyone and thing, a group of teenager playing frisbee on the green and to my horror a circuits class been carried out in the play ground. Not a garda in sight. They really need to patrol or close the prom to footfall
Whereisgalway wrote: » A formal request has been submitted to Galway City Council this evening to close off Salthill Prom, Eyre Square and other areas where large crowds can gather, in an effort to combat the spread of Covid-19. It comes after thousands of people took to the Prom, Silverstrand and other parts of the city today – after concerns had already been raised by Council officials.https://www.google.ie/amp/s/connachttribune.ie/galway-city-council-asked-to-shut-salthill-promenade-and-eyre-square/amp/
Mrs OBumble wrote: » How about the front of the County Council building (I saw a crowd there yesterday)? The council buildings? The docks? Rahoon Cemetery?
Whereisgalway wrote: » It’s not the same & you know that aswell
Mrs OBumble wrote: » I don't. The largest group I saw yesterday were the Roma having their sleep / team-meeting outside County Hall. Am really not sure why the guards haven't got rid of them yet, as happened last summer. Now I totally believe that dummies were mingling on the prom. And I had to go to the supermarket, and was not amused by just how close some people got. But I cannot see that it's feasible to "close" spaces which are wide open with multiple entry/exit points. And if congregating is to be a crime, it needs to be not allowed anywhere, not just on popular places.
youngrun wrote: » How long realistically can a lockdown last without severe physical and mental health consequences eg domestic incidents, suicide, mass depression, death through general ill health and loneliness, and wider civil unrest and worse? hard to see longer than a month before deaths under such a scenario start mounting rapidly.
youngrun wrote: » Sounds like we are walking ourselves into martial law . Why not follow Ryans advice from WHO and isolate contacts and vulnerable groups for 14 days and put a cap on virus as opposed to a total lockdown How long realistically can a lockdown last without severe physical and mental health consequences eg domestic incidents, suicide, mass depression, death through general ill health and loneliness, and wider civil unrest and worse? hard to see longer than a month before deaths under such a scenario start mounting rapidly.
jam83 wrote: » I think there's a bit of generalisation going on with the accusing everyone who goes to a popular place as an idiot. Having really young kids it's really hard to stay indoors all day. If they're cranky an hour can feel like a day. Putting them in a buggy and walking on a beach should be fine. I understand if the prom is packed then people shouldn't all still pile out of their cars but why don't the council and government bloody give everyone a long list of places to go? Why don't they force all local sports pitches to stay open so people have alternatives? **** the insurance thing, every pitch has public liability insurance. If they close all the most popular spots then the local towns and villages will be thronged with people just trying to get some fresh air and the same problem exists. Give us a list of alternatives.
beardybrewer wrote: » The internet tide is roaring against anyone leaving the house for a walk although the HSE said it was okay just a week ago. We went to Wind Park yesterday figuring it might be quiet. It wasn't. Car park full but as far as them all being idiots did they all park at the same time? We went a mile up the road and managed to social distance the entire walk very aware to touch nothing. Last week this was probably okay but this week I've a feeling the internet is not okay with this... right?
biko wrote: » A very long time indeed. People have been in isolation (proper isolation) for very long times and managed to bounce back. Or in direct provision for months on end. Even if it is boring people need to stay inside, for others sake. They won't die form lack of exercise, but they could actually die from COVID19. The internet is really a helper during these times, you can still chat to others daily, just not meet in person. French police patrol the streets challenging anyone caught outside. Maybe we need that too.
youngrun wrote: » I disagree I dont think anyones long term health is helped by being locked down. What about all the mind your mental health talk wheres that gone. Whats the point of being alive if you are locked inside for months or years ?? I dont see a future for people in that
youngrun wrote: » I disagree I dont think anyones long term health is helped by being locked down.
youngrun wrote: » Whats the point of being alive if you are locked inside for months or years ??
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Your grandparents were asked to go to war. You are being asked to sit on your sofa. You CAN do this, honest.
flazio wrote: » There is one more concern about asking people, especially lower classes to lock themselves away in their houses indefinitely. Domestic violence.
Whereisgalway wrote: » You should quote pier morgan when you plajorise his workhttps://www.express.co.uk/showbiz/tv-radio/1258889/Piers-Morgan-fury-coronavirus-advice-ignored-tourist-Good-Morning-Britain-ITV-video