BarryD2 wrote: » Dunno - I haven't voted FF ever and a No1 for FG just once, 30 years ago. But I would strongly consider a No1 if that direction if there was another election soon. No fan of them but if the alternative is SF, not much choice.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I expect FG's vote to fall even further in another election. I expect they do too if they are considering a mergercoalition with FF. Anathema to both of them until...well until SF.
Mortelaro wrote: » I don't expect an election until nov 24 or a merger I could of course like you be wrong
McMurphy wrote: » That's the point - unless FFG merge one of them is most likely facing a wipeout, there's simply not enough between them policy wise for them both to exist separately in their current forms. They'll keep splitting the votes for people who aren't voting SF.
Idbatterim wrote: » a merger, loses another third , possibly more, of what they currently have jointly. They might not like it, but they might just have to accept, that they are going to be joined at the hip. And they could even try the mad notion, of addressing the problems here over the next few years and winning over half the seats between them for the next government term...
Mortelaro wrote: » Rather than ignore the point,which party polled highest in Simon's constituency again and what do you think that does to your silly 15th count comment I'll tell you what Makes it even more naive
Fann Linn wrote: » Your last sentence sums it up. Address the problems and they'll get the vote back, mine included. But dont expect me to change my vote for them now if another election is called. They've still to prove themselves.
Foxtrol wrote: » But there is enough voters for the alphabet soup of left parties that are currently out there? I wouldn't write any obituaries until we see how SF perform in government, it could be the first and last time we see them in charge. Until that point it is likely we'll start seeing a lot more of Vote non-SF, transfer non-SF...
Bowie wrote: » He spoke on Sio, you diverted to the FG first preference vote in the constituency. Is it still that touchy a subject for ye lads? It's done and over.
Mortelaro wrote: » What sort of an answer is that? I merely pointed out he was on doddery ground suggesting simon Harris would lose in Wicklow where FG had more 1st prefs than SF
cryptocurrency wrote: » FG want to blame others for Brexit and the coming recession. We all know what they are trying to do.
McMurphy wrote: » It's not who breaks the ribbon, but how you get across. Didn't John Brady top the poll in Wicklow? Harris didn't get elected until the fifteenth, that's the reality.
Mortelaro wrote: » Reality is FG won the popular vote in Wicklow A rather shakey stat as evidence Simon's seat is in jeopardy You guys really are high on the protest vote arent ye Fickle it is,I tells ye Fickle Have a plan b,c and d,I'd advise Or none at all if you think the country will go communist
Suckit wrote: » 3 runners and by just over 1000. I wouldn't be singing their praises too much. Do you think if Timmins and Doyle didn't run that Harris would have got over 18,000 votes? Not a chance. How he got in at all must be something the Wicklow voters have asked themelves.
Mortelaro wrote: » I'd imagine like the rest of the country if Sf ran at least 2 candidates per constituency they wouldn't have topped the poll in many but theyd have had more seats at the expense of other far left parties mainly Theyd be faced with the same issue though in the Dail Far left numbers being too small If fg just ran 2 in t Wicklow in that scenario, Simon would top yes I'd imagine
FrancieBrady wrote: » You must be hoping time will stand still. The poll last week saw SF at 35% and FF FG had fallen into the teens. That means further seat losses for FF FG.
Mortelaro wrote: » Rofl Go and smoke some more protest vote pipe will ya I'm all for whatever makes people happy:D There isnt an ice cubes chance in hell that theres a 35% far left vote in Ireland today Never mind after 5 years of problem solving Dream on
FrancieBrady wrote: » There was the same sort of reaction here when SF polled 25% in a poll. They finished on 24.5%.
Leo Varadkar has claimed Sinn Féin’s planned rallies are part of a “campaign of intimidation and bullying”. The Taoiseach said he believed the decision by the party to hold events around the country was “an unwelcome development”
JP Liz V1 wrote: » https://www.businesspost.ie/politics/sinn-fein-rallies-part-of-campaign-of-intimidation-says-varadkar-a042c4f7 Leo clearly does not want another election
smurgen wrote: » Of course not. It's clear he wants to keep the electorate at a distance from himself and his ministers.they see engaging the electorate as beneath them.they absolutely got their arses handed to them when they went out in public during the election.they've also done nothing to endear themselves to the electorate since the election.
smurgen wrote: » Any word from Alan Shatter on this? Would remind ya of Fine Gael removing homeless people with mechanical diggers so it would .https://news.sky.com/story/israeli-minister-defends-bulldozer-being-used-to-scoop-palestinian-mans-body-11942039
FrancieBrady wrote: » I wonder how anyone rationalised voting for Harris and Murphy, when they treated their electorate with such disdain.
FrancieBrady wrote: » I expect FG's vote to fall even further in another election. .
hatrickpatrick wrote: » That's not quite true for Murphy, many of the property speculating gobsh!tes who are gleefully bleeding people dry amidst the rent crisis probably come from his constituency and were more than happy to vote for him.