Jazmin Harsh Gold wrote: » Yeah I know they were on about mopeds. I’ve never said I don’t see a place for bikes just they aren’t for me or a lot of people. The e-scooters require no effort to get around on which is the big attraction . They are also handy to stick in the boot, bring up into an office etc. Personally in my circumstances I wouldn’t see one as a main way of getting around by any means but a handy thing for zipping around shortish distances for lunch, picking up something from the shop/chemist etc. Maybe if park and ride was close enough o town it would be an option of nice days also. If living close to work I’d definitely see one as being a good option for commuting (say with 5km of work). I’m trying to justify buying one for the Craic as it is but I don’t really think I’d get the use for spending 5 or 600 euro. I wouldn’t be too bothered about dedicated infrastructure, what ever bits of cycle lanes are around plus in normal traffic would be fine. I’ve no fear of being in traffic on bikes etc, despite what many think I have actually cycled quite a bit in cities especially picking up coke bikes etc I just don’t see cycling as being the complete travel method others do and certainly not for the distances or carrying stuff some promote it for. Totally agree on keeping them off footpaths also along with bikes.
Jazmin Harsh Gold wrote: » I wouldn’t be too bothered about dedicated infrastructure, what ever bits of cycle lanes are around plus in normal traffic would be fine. I’ve no fear of being in traffic on bikes etc, despite what many think I have actually cycled quite a bit in cities especially picking up coke bikes etc I just don’t see cycling as being the complete travel method others do and certainly not for the distances or carrying stuff some promote it for. Totally agree on keeping them off footpaths also along with bikes.
xckjoo wrote: » Just to come back to this point for a minute (not necessarily aimed at you). It's not about being brave enough to cycle in traffic that's the issue........ That's why we need separate infrastructure for cycling.
fergiesfolly wrote: » I'm on my phone and can't see the second photo clearly, so won't speak to that. But Andrew, honestly, do you think the guy carrying the tins of paint is taking due care and behaving responsibly?
AndrewJRenko wrote: » What could possibly go wrong? Could there be some kind of comical incident involving a cyclist going head first into a tub of paint or something? Relative to the 98% of drivers that are breaking urban speed limits, it seems to be a very minor issue to me.
timmyntc wrote: » As many of us will know from experience - carrying stuff across the handlebars is never a good idea. Get a rack and tie it on the back or a basket and put it in the front - but this craic of balancing shopping bags/paint tins/tools either side of the handlebars is the stupidest way to carry stuff on a bike. Whataboutery regarding drivers in the city doesn't make it okay.
timmyntc wrote: » As many of us will know from experience - carrying stuff across the handlebars is never a good idea. Get a rack and tie it on the back or a basket and put it in the front - but this craic of balancing shopping bags/paint tins/tools either side of the handlebars is the stupidest way to carry stuff on a bike.
JCX BXC wrote: » Road behaviour is bad and worsening in the city. Firstly, I saw throw his bike down on the road in a tantrum blocking traffic just before the roundabout on the Sean Mulvoy road. Started taking photos of the gold immediately behind him Inc of all the passengers inside. Few people got out of their cars and started screaming at the cyclist. Was fun to watch. Following that, a van with a trailer decided to run an amber light and get stuck in the yellow box at the Ffrench junction blocking all traffic from the wellpark road for almost the entire duration of the lights Some horrifically blatant red light jumping to be seen at many junctions, mainly during traffic. Finally, on the N67 outside the Galway Clinic, an elderly couple driving the wrong way down a dual carriageway! Had driven most of the length between the junctions before finally deciding to take a U-Turn.
pure.conya wrote: » all ya have do is stand anywhere for 5 mins to see the quality of drivers
fergiesfolly wrote: » To be honest with you AndrewJ, I just wanted to see if you had to have a dig at cars in your response.....and you did. Your hatred of cars is so enveloping, you can't even be objective about the clear case of irresponsible behavior that that photo shows. Any chance that I could take anything you say seriously, is gone.
Deleted User wrote: » There are idiot drivers, cyclists and pedestrians, there are few angels out there
AndrewJRenko wrote: » Yes, that's true. Though the idiot cyclists and pedestrians aren't the ones killing two or three people each week.
fergiesfolly wrote: » Any chance that I could take anything you say seriously, is gone.
Jazmin Harsh Gold wrote: » In many cases where pedestrians are killed it’s their own fault.
Mrs OBumble wrote: » Andrew's response re the paint pot, the suggestion that all a painter needs to carry is paint, and his lack of knowledge of Galway make me to think that he's either a bot, or someone with a bicycle fixation who crawls boards looking for places to post about them.
jjpep wrote: » Victim blaming. Nice. ****ty even by your standards of trolling.
xckjoo wrote: » Jesus Christ. I presume you've some hard stats to back up that kinda of sh1tty statement
AndrewJRenko wrote: » An absolutely dispicable claim, in the same league as blaming women who get raped for having a drink or wearing a short skirt. But even if it were true (which, to be clear, it's not),?
Jazmin Harsh Gold wrote: » Get of the high horses will ye. It’s well known that drunk people falling in front of cars, wearing dark clothes on dark roads etc are definite reasons for people getting knocked down. It’s obviously not all people who get knocked down but it’s idiotic to try and claim that a pedestrians are not at fault in many cases where they get knocked down. Just look at the idiotic behaviour of many of them and it’s easy to see how it happens, running across busy roads can, falling out into the road when drunk etc. Also when you see those stats for alcohol involved in a accident resulting in a death it’s often a pedestrian with drink taken. Of course it’s true, idiotic to claim that pedestrians are not often to blame when they get knocked down.
jjpep wrote: » It's often.. It's well known... Many people say... Blah blah blah As always, your spouting rubbish and you've got nothing to back it up. Either admit you said something stupid and move on or prove it.
JackyJoe wrote: » Biko, Close it. Again, Traffic thread has run its course and the nastiness in people is coming to the fore. This thread just cannot be discussed civily.Its becoming ugly and personal. unfortunately.
Mrs OBumble wrote: » https://www.irishtimes.com/news/ireland/irish-news/half-of-all-pedestrians-killed-on-irish-roads-had-alcohol-taken-1.3647965 "Half of all pedestrians killed on Irish roads whose deaths were analysed by either the Garda or the coroner, had alcohol taken." That's with about 30 seconds googling. There's plenty more if you want to look. Yes, driver behaviour is a problem. And yes, the driver is always legally liable. But pedestrian behaviour sometimes causes the death.