BarryD2 wrote: » Five years? LOL! If there isn't an election in the next month or so, there'll surely be one after the next budget. Wait till the real impact of Brexit bites hard and Sean/ Sinead will be on the war path.
Tacitus Kilgore wrote: » They don't. It's impossible, even if you were on €200,000 you would still only be paying 45.2% tax. You are fecking miles off with your statement, changing your stance to say: It's FIFTY % on overtime is still lying. .
Yurt! wrote: » Maybe we're having a good chuckle at the hubris and misfortune of FG voters who don't know how to bow out gracefully. Busy with their crystal ball and hot-take Tory boy economics telling us how Ireland is going to turn into Cuba because the country thumped their party for their demonstrable failures.
Yurt! wrote: » It's funny because Leo is now relishing his place on the ditch and and is busy picking out a comfy spot. For a man that was apparently so enthusiastic to be Taoiseach a few short days ago, he's given up the ghost fairly handy when there is a clear viable FG/FF option on the table. If SF are such a grave danger to the state, it's surely incumbent on Leo the patriot to get talking with amenable partners to form a government that excludes them in the national interest.
Yurt! wrote: » All the noises from Leo is that he's content on the opposition benches. This isn't Fine Gael playing hard to get. You can clearly see other smaller parties making moves and staking out other's positions. Evreyone is in the mix to form a coalition - except Leo who has more or less told everyone he's off for a nap.
krissovo wrote: » I think he means after deductions, I take home just over 48% of my paycheck after tax, prsi, usc and levies. I am in the bracket that SF want to apply further taxes on.
IAMAMORON wrote: » It is like the Fine Gael bashers have run out of things to bash now. Only 1 in 5 people voted for FG. It is everyone else's chance now. For people who say they did nothing I think they have chosen to ignore 1) Gay Marriage 2) Abortion No other party ever delivered these in 100 years of the State. It needs to be said. I look forward to seeing John Brady or David Cullinane discussing the future of Bord Iascaigh Mhara after Brexit starts rolling in. If I was living in Killybegs I would be genuinely shítting myself. Meet the new boss …. same as the old boss.
bullpost wrote: » FG are like the family on the housing list who are offered a house in a dodgy area and think "Nah, We'll wait for a better offer"
Fr_Dougal wrote: » SF overpromised in their manifesto
Yurt! wrote: » You don't need to run a budget surplus to build infrastructure or invest once you're creditworthy and service your debt. We were back on the markets a long time ago. If he's Junior Cert, you've just failed your Leaving.
jimgoose wrote: » Remember that weird-looking youngfella with the cast-off clothes at the back of the class in primary school, who spent the whole time leering unintelligibly at girls while playing with himself? .
Fr_Dougal wrote: » You have contradicted yourself many times in this thread. You’re not happy when he accepts that FG will be in opposition, and you’re saying that they’re not bowing out gracefully. What do you want? A punching bag?
Idbatterim wrote: » for all of those of you hoping this will be a blip for Fg, it might be, it wont be if they keep that moron varadkar at the helm, I see I am not the only one that wont vote for them again, with that spinessless weasel at the helm!
tritium wrote: » So just to be clear, do you want a FG government? Because if not you seem to be having a hell of a whinge about getting what you actually want Very strange
storker wrote: » Happiest days of your life Jim?
sameoldname wrote: » To be fair, nobody would be able to court your vote. I've read a lot of your posts over the past few months. You're all over the place politically. You want reductions in USC, LPT, tax rate, raise the tax bands, reduce social welfare for those you deem spongers, move social tenants out of the city, reduction of house prices, increased spending on infrastructure and have Leo Varadkar shot. ...And then you voted SF? I mean, they might do 1/3rd of the policies you seem to want and the other 2/3rds you'll despise them for.
Yurt! wrote: » No contradiction. FG posters all over the threads just short of predicting SF will dig up Pol Pot and make him minister for agriculture or something. Those are the dimwits that aren't bowing out gracefully. As for my criticisms of Leo, he is going into hiding. I'd rather the guy was out of public life in Ireland and in some sinecure in a multilateral organisation where he can't do any more harm - but they are only a couple of seats off the pace and could conceivably form the smaller part of a FF/FG coalition to stop the grave danger of SF taking the reigns. I wish he'd just admit he's taking a knee and walking off the job. People still mounting a defence of FGs performance the past couple of years and still predicting doom for Ireland actually makes me laugh. It takes a special type of incompetent for so many toxic social problems to develop in economy with the headline growth rates we've been experiencing.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » Like FG's promise to abolish USC in 2016? I can list others if you like. Here's a real shocker all political parties tell lies, we as an electorate have grown used to it.
Idbatterim wrote: » Tacitus Kilgore wrote: » Idbatterim wrote: » single people earning above 35,300 if single, dont pay FIFTY percent? please see the below income tax calculator! I am saying for every euro you earn over E35,300 as a single person, you pay 50c of it in tax. pretty simple to understand, pretty moronic rate and implications... You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about - anything above 35,300 is taxed @40%. After that, USC kicks in which everyone pays at varying levels.
Tacitus Kilgore wrote: » Idbatterim wrote: » single people earning above 35,300 if single, dont pay FIFTY percent? please see the below income tax calculator! I am saying for every euro you earn over E35,300 as a single person, you pay 50c of it in tax. pretty simple to understand, pretty moronic rate and implications... You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about - anything above 35,300 is taxed @40%. After that, USC kicks in which everyone pays at varying levels.
Idbatterim wrote: » single people earning above 35,300 if single, dont pay FIFTY percent? please see the below income tax calculator! I am saying for every euro you earn over E35,300 as a single person, you pay 50c of it in tax. pretty simple to understand, pretty moronic rate and implications...
jimgoose wrote: » No, that'd be young Yurt! there imagining FG politicians slipping on banana-skins.
He must've been bitten by Garret Fitzgerald as a child, or something. :pac:
Keyzer wrote: » Idbatterim wrote: » Tacitus Kilgore wrote: » You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about - anything above 35,300 is taxed @40%;. After that, USC kicks in which everyone pays at varying levels. hang on a minute, this old chestnut! the marginal rate is 50%, I couldnt care less whether it is 1% income tax and 49% tooth fairy tax! should I? you havent go a clue, please check that income tax calculator link I posted. I will be sure to tell my employees, on your behalf, that they are wrong to turn down extra hours, because it is only 40% that will be thieved from them, not 50%... the god knows how many people who turned down extra hours over the years, must all be wrong... When you lose fifty percent of salary and then might have to pay extra childcare etc, most wont bother and they are right!
Idbatterim wrote: » Tacitus Kilgore wrote: » You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about - anything above 35,300 is taxed @40%;. After that, USC kicks in which everyone pays at varying levels. hang on a minute, this old chestnut! the marginal rate is 50%, I couldnt care less whether it is 1% income tax and 49% tooth fairy tax! should I? you havent go a clue, please check that income tax calculator link I posted. I will be sure to tell my employees, on your behalf, that they are wrong to turn down extra hours, because it is only 40% that will be thieved from them, not 50%... the god knows how many people who turned down extra hours over the years, must all be wrong... When you lose fifty percent of salary and then might have to pay extra childcare etc, most wont bother and they are right!
Tacitus Kilgore wrote: » You clearly don't have a clue what you're talking about - anything above 35,300 is taxed @40%;. After that, USC kicks in which everyone pays at varying levels.
Yurt! wrote: » ...they are only a couple of seats off the pace and could conceivably form the smaller part of a FF/FG coalition to stop the grave danger of SF taking the reigns. I wish he'd just admit he's taking a knee and walking off the job...
Idbatterim wrote: » Keyzer wrote: » Idbatterim wrote: » hang on a minute, this old chestnut! the marginal rate is 50%, I couldnt care less whether it is 1% income tax and 49% tooth fairy tax! should I? you havent go a clue, please check that income tax calculator link I posted. I will be sure to tell my employees, on your behalf, that they are wrong to turn down extra hours, because it is only 40% that will be thieved from them, not 50%... the god knows how many people who turned down extra hours over the years, must all be wrong... When you lose fifty percent of salary and then might have to pay extra childcare etc, most wont bother and they are right! Who are you quoting there old chum? Cos that's not my post.
Keyzer wrote: » Idbatterim wrote: » hang on a minute, this old chestnut! the marginal rate is 50%, I couldnt care less whether it is 1% income tax and 49% tooth fairy tax! should I? you havent go a clue, please check that income tax calculator link I posted. I will be sure to tell my employees, on your behalf, that they are wrong to turn down extra hours, because it is only 40% that will be thieved from them, not 50%... the god knows how many people who turned down extra hours over the years, must all be wrong... When you lose fifty percent of salary and then might have to pay extra childcare etc, most wont bother and they are right! Who are you quoting there old chum? Cos that's not my post.
Idbatterim wrote: » hang on a minute, this old chestnut! the marginal rate is 50%, I couldnt care less whether it is 1% income tax and 49% tooth fairy tax! should I? you havent go a clue, please check that income tax calculator link I posted. I will be sure to tell my employees, on your behalf, that they are wrong to turn down extra hours, because it is only 40% that will be thieved from them, not 50%... the god knows how many people who turned down extra hours over the years, must all be wrong... When you lose fifty percent of salary and then might have to pay extra childcare etc, most wont bother and they are right!
Idbatterim wrote: » when the **** hits the fan again, whether you increase welfare by 500,000,000 a year as is typical or abolish LPT and forego 500,000,000 there is zero financial difference to the state. This spending good, increased tax good, yeah it is for RTE and the huge amounts here, who are massive benefactors of the theft rates of tax, that mid to high income earners here are paying for them
Yurt! wrote: » FG involved in government is the last thing this country needs, it's just amusing watching them run from it when it's still within their grasp.