[Deleted User] wrote: » True enough.. but I wear boots (Doc'm) all the time. They have roughly an inch heel on them. That's still manly, I suppose. You can find practical boots with variable sized heels throughout history... for some it was for horse riding. I'm sure with some digging you'll find plenty of other practical reasons for heels on boots. I'm not really arguing against your point though.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » That "men bad, women good" idea doesn't happen on boards. AH is never long without a thread blaming women for something. Ever compare the men's forum and women's forum on boards? Men's forum has loads of threads Complaining about feminism and women. Women's forum has no such abundance of threads Whinging about men or men's rights.
the_pen_turner wrote: » while i understand your logic m surely that aplies to most discusions online and beteen people in real life. i often talk about issues, personal and political . i know it wont change anything . that doesnt mean its not worth discussing. surely if anyone reading about mens issues or that most of modern femanism is BS then surely its a good thing
KiKi III wrote: » Where do you feel I have dismissed you? I have disagreed with you, but I have not at any stage sought to dismiss you. Again, this narrative that I want to dismiss you or shut you up is your creation. It suits your anti-feminist perspective but it’s not grounded in fact.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » It depends on what you're objective is. If you want to go on and on and on about feminism, that's grand. If you want to address men's issues then Whinging about feminism is useless. Campaign for solutions to men's issues is the way to solve men's issues. But some people only really care about Whinging about feminism. Men's issues aren't as important to them as Whinging about feminism.
the_pen_turner wrote: » most of those threads start because of something in the media blameing men for something or how opressed women are as for the ladies lounge v gents club. i have noticed that. i put it down to women haveing no genuine claims for rights etc. women have everything right that men have and a lot more in some areas. i cant think of any area that women need more rights or to right a wrong against them. but men have dozens of wrongs against us
Silentcorner wrote: » Do you think that has anything to do with the fact that women are not confronted with the hostility straight white men are confronted with on an ongoing basis, in media, in work, in education? Are you seriously that blind to it?
KiKi III wrote: » Nope, feel free to call feminists out as you please. Just know that it won’t improve anything for marginalised or underprivileged men.
KiKi III wrote: » It’s fairly simple, he’s saying sh1tting on feminism doesn’t improve anything for marginalised men.
KiKi III wrote: » So, what I think El Dude is saying, or at least what I’m saying is channeling some of the energy currently spent giving out about feminists into the activities mentioned above would be far more likely to result in meaningful change in the family courts system.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » How do you know I wouldn't ask the bloke why came to work in a dress? And what's this thing about being a 'hard man'? I'm only asking him why he chose to dress like that.
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » The delightful thread the other day about the case where a man who admitted he raped a woman and people were still doubting it and her was an eye-opener.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » Notice how El Dud reduces any criticism of feminism to 'whinging'.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » You actually think I wouldn't say 'Steve, wtf man? What's with the get up?' Of course I would! And why wouldn't I? Why can't I ask that question? I work in government office too btw. And no HR wouldn't fire for me just for asking a question. No doubt you're disappointed by that.
the_pen_turner wrote: » i agree that whinging doesnt change anything and that actions on the ground are needed to bring change.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » Actually criticising feminism is not 'whinging' at all. It can't be 'whinging' when much of feminism is legit BS.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » In the context of critiquing feminism it's grand. In the context of addressing men's issues, it's just whinging. Completely takes the wind out of the sales of the men's issues and pits the focus on feminism instead of the issues which men face and the solutions to those issues.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » Incorrect. Feminism is trade union for women. It has nothing to do with equality.
Valentino Old-fashioned Spacecraft wrote: » I am correct.https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/feminismhttps://dictionary.cambridge.org/dictionary/english/feminismhttps://www.britannica.com/topic/feminism Anybody who believes in feminism, or wishes to consider themselves a feminist, must address imbalances that favour women as well as those that favour men.
Valentino Old-fashioned Spacecraft wrote: » The definition of feminism is advocacy of equality between the sexes, so someone who is concerned with men's rights in areas where they are lacking is a feminist.
KiKi III wrote: » That’s exactly how I feel about it. I want imbalances effecting either gender addressed. Family courts & suicide are the two biggest I see for men but I know there are many more. I don’t see any contradiction between feminism and advocating for men.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » Yeah that's why we're getting women only jobs in academia. Meanwhile it's men do all the dirty, unpleasant jobs that keep society going. Equality my hole.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » OK. Personally I'd expect feminism to focus on women's issues a d men's rights advocates to focus on men's issues. But you can hope feminism fixes men's issues if you want. Because men don't tend to support addressing men's rights there really isn't support for a men's rights movement at the moment. Feminism is the only show in town at the moment. Imagine if the energy spent whingeing about feminism was spend on campaigning for (or expressing support for) men's issues. That would be a different situation.
Valentino Old-fashioned Spacecraft wrote: » Feminism and mens rights are by definition the same thing. But Mens Rights badly needs rebranding.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Your own links are contrary to your opinion? Feminism is an ideology which promotes the welfare of women and equality for women and girls in areas where they are not equal to men. Someone who says they campaign for men’s rights means they’re a feminist is either confused, misled or being deliberately obtuse. At some point their ideology will present a conflict which cannot be resolved based upon the principles they claim to adhere to. Fathers rights is just one example where fathers welfare would conflict with mother’s welfare, neither of which is actually relevant in the family courts where it is the welfare and the best interests of the children are the primary concern, not the wishes of their parents.
Valentino Old-fashioned Spacecraft wrote: » Family courts tend to only give custody to fathers in extreme circumstances. The first definition in every one of those links refers to equality between the sexes. You chose to pick definitions lower down the list to try to distort things.
Rathbool wrote: » The goal of feminism, according to feminists is gender equality. If men are treated less than equally to women then you would expect feminists to address the issue.