ArchXStanton wrote: » When men abandon them One of the bonuses of feminism was liberating men from chains they didn't know they had
Silentcorner wrote: » I had to laugh at that one...Feminism is fighting mother nature...nobody has ever won that battle. They tried all this when the Jews established the Kibbutz over 100 years ago...removing gender roles and expectations...women were free to work the same jobs as men, nobody got married, kids were raised in separate dwellings so as not to contaminate them... Guess what happened...it took a generation or two but women wanted to get married and live with their husbands and kids and work different jobs to men, today, men in the kibbutz do the majority of farm and tech work, women look after everything else.... Look around you, does anyone actually believe we are emotionally healthier than we were....what do people think is driving the epidemic of narcissism, anxiety, loneliness...we will start to see this reflected in marriage and birth rates...there will be a huge increase in the amount of women who will never experience motherhood at a time when we all get to live well into our 80s and 90s....that is a long long life to be on your own without family. Maybe there was a reason societies built themselves on what gender roles best suited the genders....
ILoveYourVibes wrote: » The only people keeping men oppressed in a way that has anything to do with gender is MEN.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Actually, quite a few men were there with them during those campaigns. My father marched with my mother for equal rights throughout the 60s/70s.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Yeah that’s the way these things work. A lot of the prominent feminists on these threads are supporters of men’s rights issues. Almost all the opposition to men’s tights issues comes from men though which is a shame. Ultimately things change when proper make them change. Some things do change by accident as a consequence of other changes - which people pushed for. If men don’t campaign to change the things they want to see change, then nothing will happen. There are some really clear and fairly uncontroversial issues which affect men and would be ripe for change. Boys falling behind in education, men’s mental and physical health, fathers’ treatment in family courts. Alas, the push for change probably has to come from men and, at the moment, enough men are not actively pursuing those changes.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Because men in women’s clothing look ridiculous, and people aren’t afraid to show their disdain for such nonsense. Men are ridiculed for taking low-paying ****e jobs because they’re expected to be capable of more. Men don’t have a “feminine side”, they’re men - masculine. Men are expected to behave like men and not behave like women. Why should men who want to behave like women expect people to accept that sort of behaviour? I don’t think anyone is “afraid” to show their feminine side or their masculine side. I think they’re fully conscious that there are social standards expected of them and nobody in society can simply be who they want and expect other people should just accept that. Society has no time for selfish individuals.
Deleted User wrote: » Instead, males should be pushing for egalitarianism. Equality of opportunity, and a society that stops placing so much emphasis on gender.
spurious wrote: » I agree. That is feminism, when you take away the cartoon version so many in AH are attached to.
the_pen_turner wrote: » historically femanism was about freeing women , getting the right to vote, not be raped or attacked in their own homes, right to get a job etc.
pawdee wrote: » ...transmission fluid...
Silentcorner wrote: » See...the problem with all that is...no one knows what feminism is anymore...how can any reasoned individual can (often proudly) identify themselves as a feminist is beyond me...the feminism we see in media is all unbalanced gibberish from mainly women who are completely ill informed when it comes to anything that doesn't involve themselves with a cult like loyalty to a rather infantile theory/ideology of "patriarchial oppression". I have to say, maybe with one or two exceptions, on boards, feminists are even more ignorant of issues facing men than most men are and that is saying something. What you have identified are real issues and certainly men and women need to educate themselves properly on how our society treats one another but what doesn't help is a clearly divisive movement that is well funded and afforded way more influence than it should receive, the movement itself abuses that power repeatedly...often to the detriment of women I might add...selling useless Gender Studies degrees to women is immoral but what do I know!!!
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Almost all the opposition to men’s tights issues comes from men though which is a shame.
[Deleted User] wrote: » I don't mind carrying items for an old woman or if something is particularly heavy. Often its old files and they are light enough but there can be lots off them. Its sweaty work in a warm office.
VayNiice wrote: » Jaysus you sound like you're living in the 1950s. I bet you abuse lads for wearing fashionable clothes too?
Obvious Desperate Breakfasts wrote: » I do ponder the lack of acceptance for men wearing skirts and other feminine items. It should be more accepted. And at the extreme end, little boys who decide they want to wear a skirt shouldn’t be thought of as wanting to change their gender. No, maybe they just want to wear a skirt. A lot of the current gender identity thinking actually reinforces old-fashioned notions of gender roles.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » Why does it have to be accepted? Every culture has it's norms, break them at your peril. I'm sure if I lived in an African tribal society and began acting in a freakish and outlandish way I'd soon be ostracized.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » Because it disgusts me. If you want to dress as a women then fine but you are not owed my tolerance.
One eyed Jack wrote: » It’s not taken seriously because men look ridiculous in skirts. They know it too, but that doesn’t stop them from campaigning to be taken seriously. But that’s why there’s a lack of acceptance for men who choose to wear women’s clothing. It’s not something that one can change as easily as they can choose their wardrobe, as much as designers in the fashion industry have tried to make it a thing for years now.
Naggin Merchant wrote: » To answer your question first I'll need you to define what you consider masculine clothing.
mr_fegelien wrote: » Why does it disgust you more than a woman wearing masculine clothing?
Naggin Merchant wrote: » The site of mens' legs does not bother me at all. The site of a man in tights, high heels and a skirt would fill me with disgust.