beer enigma wrote: » Just had a call to say its the son of friends of ours, stunned. Lovely young fella and a talented rugby player big into his athletics with his whole life in front of him.
corks finest wrote: » Town is gone,no way back FG/ gardai can't/ won't / didn't do anything to prooer police Cork ,it's a no go area for anyone over 50 years of age ATM
SusieBlue wrote: » I heard from a very reliable source that of the 3 lads who were involved in the attack, one was 17, one 18 and only 14yrs old. They were not from the area and had gone to Bandon Rd/College Rd with the intention of starting fights with students. This wasn't a case of a situation getting out of hand at the heat of the moment, the perpetrator was armed with a deadly weapon, it wasn't just a little pocket knife. He is the 18yr old so hopefully he will be named and tried as an adult. Gardaí know exactly who was involved and the ball is already rolling in that regard.@beer_enigma, I'm so sorry for your loss. I know of a few different people that also knew him, and have only heard positive things about the kindness he showed others, and his popularity among his friends. He didn't deserve what happened to him and I hope that those that caused his death receive the maximim penalty possible.
beer enigma wrote: » Thanks, I'm kinda stunned. Its his lovely parents that my heart is with, known them for over 20 years. At least two of them had knives, so yes not a random incident.
Mahony0509 wrote: » Apparently they came to the house for drugs, stayed for a bit and a phone charger was left behind. They returned to retrieve the phone charger and an exchange occurred. That's what's being said anyway, may or may not be true.
TheBoyConor wrote: » RIP. Sounds like he was a top fella, cream of the crop with sports and study. A huge loss to cork.
Mahony0509 wrote: » That's what's being said anyway, may or may not be true.
SusieBlue wrote: » I just don't agree with this, yes there has been an escalation recently but writing off an entire city as a no-go for all ages is pure scaremongering at its finest. I'd feel safe walking pretty much anywhere in the city on my own.
NasserShammaz wrote: » Friends of yours are they ?
cantalach wrote: » If there aren't gardaí around it's not their fault. It's because there aren't enough of them. Blame the politicians when they call to the door. Don't blame the men and women who have to do things most of use couldn't. When somebody finds limbs in a gym bag, do they call you? When a five your old gets his head crushed in a traffic accident do you have to tell his parents? Just shut it.[/quote You wouldn't need so many guards if the ****ing judges would stop giving suspended sentences to these animals a d pissing all over the hard work of the guards. 70 convictions my arse what a ****in joke
FishOnABike wrote: » Then it would be better to say nothing and refrain from repeating unfounded rumour.
The_Mac wrote: » Really? Dunno if you've been in town recently but there's lots of people walking around who're over 50 and, from the look of them, they generally seem to not have been assaulted recently. I can't even imagine the logic of these little scumbags. "he won't let me in so I'll kill him?" Honestly seems recently that here and in Dublin, scumbags are trying to emulate London roadman culture.
NasserShammaz wrote: » You wouldn't need so many guards if the ****ing judges would stop giving suspended sentences to these animals a d pissing all over the hard work of the guards. 70 convictions my arse what a ****in joke
Spanish Eyes wrote: » Not only in the badlands of Dublin. It is everywhere now. Sorry for the family of the deceased person. Must be awful for them, his friends, colleagues and fellow students. Jayzis. What the feck is going on in this country. But maybe I am a bit innocent. With due respect.
MMXX wrote: » I do agree wholeheartedly - but ultimately, is this not the politicians fault also? Do they (genuine question here - not directed to you, but anybody that knows) - do they not have the authority to demand proper sentencing? Why is it that there are people with multiple, multiple, multiple convictions walking around? Is it low prison capacity / lack of funding? If it is - can they not find the money? If not, why not? Do they REALLY give a single sh*t?
[Deleted User] wrote: » Because it fuels a big part of the legal industry. These repeat offenders (read: complete scrotes) are the bread and butter for many a law firm. R.I.P. to this young man, such a needless loss.
igCorcaigh wrote: » Really? It can't be just that. It's a complex problem, but that can't explain it.
MMXX wrote: » Is it low prison capacity / lack of funding? If it is - can they not find the money? If not, why not? Do they REALLY give a single sh*t?