corner of hells wrote: » There's actually a Stasi museum set up by the German government to support research, development, commemoration along with the exhibition of evidence and research relating to east German politics. Just imagine a DMP / RIC museum..... nah don't. Maybe have a little chat with your friend.
fundi wrote: » Correct. There are two sides to every story, and in Ireland the victors wrote the history books, and done the brainwashing.
BarryD2 wrote: » I expect all unionists might expect is a bit of honesty first up. You & others seem to suffer from some delusion that all the old IRB /IRA did was honorable and for the greater glory of mother Ireland. The 'Christian Brother' history of Ireland is nasty and corrosive. For starters there must be very good reasons why the records of the Land Commission are still withheld from the public. Why, we'll wait & see but I fully expect from accounts I've come across that the boyos involved in the 'war of independence' were nicely looked after in terms of grand farms for themselves. Good old style ethnic cleansing. Were they fighting for the republican ideal or just because they had their eye on the neighbours land?
extra gravy wrote: » Time to unsubscribe. I don't know how some posters have the energy for all the hatred they have. I'll stick to maturity and tolerance, like an adult.
Plumbthedepths wrote: » A friend of mine is from the country formerly known as East Germany. She asked me what this RIC thing was about , I explained. She asked is our government f**king mad. To her that would be the same as the German state comemorating the Stasi.
droidman123 wrote: » Where did all this "mature" mallarkey come from
jmcc wrote: » He's not even capable of running a bath without screwing it up. Regards...jmcc
jmcc wrote: » Flanagan is one of the most incompetent ministers and given the competiton, that's really saying something. He's not even capable of running a bath without screwing it up. Regards...jmcc
Jinglejangle69 wrote: » You should really read a history book before going on a rant.
Strazdas wrote: » Ironically, the Civil War is a big factor in this. The war was well underway by December 6, 1922 when the Irish Free State came into being. Dev subsequently coming to power meant our Independence Day being edited out of the history books, as if it had never happened.
extra gravy wrote: » How the fück would you know what he did or didn't do? Just keep making assumptions and tarring them all with the same brush. Sure he'd be a saint if he had been on the other side murdering before and behind him in the name of "freedom".
extra gravy wrote: » I'm not sure Irish people are mature enough to move on from the past, that's evident from the hysterical overreaction to the commemoration. You can also see from numerous posts in this thread that tolerance is an alien concept to some.
corner of hells wrote: » We don't have a day for celebrating our independence .
chrissb8 wrote: » People in Ireland are not comfortable honouring any British sentiment that existed in the country. There is no let bygones be bygones. Yes, all wounds heal over in time but some are so deep you still feel a dull ache forevermore. I'm no expert in history and the intricacies of the RIC in terms of who they really were elude me. I know there were men in there from Ireland but they did too much bad in Ireland. You can bang on about the ruthlessness of republican forces etc. but at least there was reasonable justification there. Famine, tenant oppression and enforcing overall oppression of the Irish people. This isn't up for debate. If a whole nation still feels this, and rightly so then that says it all. No one is holding on to anything. But no one is just letting go either. Maybe if we didn't have bloody Sunday and Brexit which only exemplified if Britain had their way they would have just thrown up a hard border and let the ensuing violence happen again we could move towards a reconciliation of our past. Is it any reason we don't want to celebrate anything remotely British. Many feel it's a slap in our ancestor's face and it is. We are not even a century into our independence, it is not time to forget. This was a stupid step too far by Leo and he should be ashamed of himself. The insult of us as a nation not being mature enough to respect the past. We are respecting the past. Our past, all of which strove to give us the Ireland we have today. It's as simple as that. I'm sure all armies had good and bad on each side. But that's not what's being commemorated. It's what its stood for is being commemorated. Like we commemorate our independence every year on Easter Sunday. Why would we now want to commemorate those lovely fellows in the RIC who were "just doing their job". There's alot more valid reasons to never have it then ever have it.
contrary_devil wrote: » I also think that Mr Flanagan was a little untactful when he spoke about RIC members being murdered, "killed in the line of duty" might have been a little better and given the opposition he should have cancelled the event rather than defer.
Montage of Feck wrote: » I don't believe historical revisionist arselicking is a neccesity for a United Ireland. How about we just do our best to create a tolerant and progressive republic now, I can't imagine too many educated rational young people up north would subscribe to the bigoted backwards ideology of unionism.
The Rape of Lucretia wrote: » Surely counter-insurgency is the correct way to deal with terrorists and revolutionaries, and to be applauded ? How can it possibly make anyone the worst ???
AudreyHepburn wrote: » Both worked predominantly as independent organizations. The RIC were just a police force. Besides this is a commemoration not a celebration. We can’t just pretend any of the three were never here, they were all hugely important parts of our history. We can’t just write them out of it. But again this probably shouldn’t ever have been organized.