gormdubhgorm wrote: » See this is the sort of whataboutery from the bigoted narrowminded republican types who see only one view, Even in the sart of the war of Independence two Irishmen one from Cork and one from Mayo were shot dead for three poxy boxes of geligenite. (never used due to frost) One left five orphans was a native Irish speaker, which is more that can be said for so many plastic republicans. Who can barely speak English nevermind Irish. If people cannot find it in thier hearts to remember real Irishmen who did not live in colours or flags. But lived his culture, was respected in the community spoke fluent Irish as his native tongue. For a fella like that to be dismissed because he wore an RIC uniform does not make you nationalist, it just makes you a heartless brainwashed bigot. Those fellas O'Donnell and O'Connell from the RIC in 1919 were as much Irishmen as Robinson, Breen or Treacy et al. But it is much more palatable to term them RIC as Crown forces better narrative. Pathetic.
Junkyard Tom wrote: » A United Ireland doesn't require Unionists' consent. What part of 'one person - one vote' do you not understand?
FrancieBrady wrote: » The history is STILL all there.
ReginaldSmythV wrote: » Next on the list should be packing that loyalist terrorist they have running the Gardaí back up where he came from. Can be sure he had a big hand in this being organised in the first place.
Larbre34 wrote: » Just the sort of eventuality that the Northern unionists will use as propaganda. To all the revisionists who sought to remove elements of history just because they found them distasteful, well done, great job. After all, why should we look at the events of the time square in the eye, why should we teach our young people and our not so young about any aspect of our past that isn't the green tinted was of Pearse and Devs Ireland. Why shouldn't we ask anyone to reflect on the lessons of the past as we approach a critical time in the evolution of our nation. This was never going to be a celebration, it was going to mark an important aspect and discuss it. All the success in getting this event censored is to set back the cause of true Irish unity.
bubblypop wrote: » But not the Irishmen who served as policemen
Bambi wrote: » Jaysus, I open up the auld twitter machine of an evening with a cup of tea and trending in Ireland is notmytaoiseach and associated Tan hash tags (hash taigs?)
1800_Ladladlad wrote: » So its be canceledhttps://www.thejournal.ie/ric-cancelled-4956894-Jan2020/?utm_source=shortlink
irishfeen wrote: » The policemen who were part of the occupation of Ireland on behalf of the British crown.
FrancieBrady wrote: » Incredible the anti Irish demeaning invective posted as it began to look like this was a disaster for FG. Like spoiled brats who didn't get their way.
bubblypop wrote: » Ridiculous. Ireland had always been part of the UK
FrancieBrady wrote: » Flanagan disgracing himself on RTE. Blaming 'sinister elements'.
Odhinn wrote: » Proper order.
ygolometsipe wrote: » https://www.irishtimes.com/news/politics/ric-controversy-minister-for-justice-defers-commemoration-event-1.4133184 "Speaking later on RTÉ, Mr Flanagan said he is “determined that this event will take place” in the future." I hope the electorate has something to say about that! Horrendous that this was even considered let alone "deferred"
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Why are you pretending you did it? You were not there! But for fate you could have being in an RUC uniform in the 1920's trying to support your family living from day to day. Or fighting in Belgium or France with the BA. 'We' the same thing so called many republicans say when supporting British teams. It makes me laugh. Is this the same 'we' that let a kiddie fiddler run riot - rather than report it to the authorities as it was a 'prominent' republican family. I don't hear you taking credit for that. They did not even have the 'decency' to kneecap the fella.
bubblypop wrote: » Ridiculous. Ireland had always been part of the UK, that was life.