fergiesfolly wrote: » I suppose coming from where this programme started to where it is now, it's a shadow of it's former glory. Where it could be an informative entertaining programme, it's just entertainment now. It's Top Gear for house extensions. And in the same way I wouldn't hire Jeremy Clarkson to design a car, I wouldn't let Dermot within an asses roar of any home redesign I was paying for. A man 20+ years in an industry doesn't know costs, time-frames, logistics etc just doesn't add up. We don't need the the faked drama. A well constructed sharply produced show would deliver a much better programme than whats being offered. It's a good job Bannon has an established architectural practice, because if Room to Improve were a job interview, Dermot would be stacking shelves in Tesco by now.
siblers wrote: » I think an awful lot of this episode was scripted/dramatised. There's no way he could be this incompetent or ill-prepared
kerryjack wrote: » Some of the comments on here are disgraceful, have ye ever met the man. His a professional that has done very well for himself, he seems a good family man. He Show is on primetime TV and has had good viewing numbers for the last 10 or 12 year, ye were all tuned in tonight why all this hate for the man.
Penn wrote: » If he thought he'd get it done for €500k and it came in at €600k, then I might have believed it. But he's a disgrace of an architect if he thought it'd come in under €350k. I mean whatever about trying to create a bit of drama, they may as well have said there was a meteor heading towards the house.
iamwhoiam wrote: » I agree its scripted but isn’t it strange that a professional would be willing to look stupid for a TV show ?
prunudo wrote: » Just on the reflections revelation. The fact that the window was on a curve meant the effect was exaggerated. Again I feel this was all part of the producers contrived 'drama'.
HeidiHeidi wrote: » Exactly what I was wondering while watching it last night! He seriously did himself no favours, IMO. Also agree that it's bizarre (if true) that this never, ever occurred to him, while merrily installing plate glass all over Ireland for the last 20 years. In fact, I plain don't believe it.The solution (installing low-level lighting close to the window, lighting up the exterior), worked beautifully - as long as the lighting inside the room was switched off. HTF is that a solution in a domestic house??? Very disappointing show all round - I accept the need for a bit of drama, and scripting, and editing a year-long buiild down to two hours of telly - but IMO he comes out of it looking a bit foolish.
jay0109 wrote: » 600k! There's money in architecture and TV shows. It'll come in a couple of hundred K over that no doubt
raspberrypi67 wrote: » What is it about windows NEVER arriving on time....
appledrop wrote: » Wtf has a convention centre got to do with a semi-di? Love the way he told Dermot he would never do his own house. That burst Dermots bubble. Meanwhile Dermot flapping around wasting time with his hero architect.
vladmydad wrote: » Haha I told you, old woolly head is here to do the garden lol
siblers wrote: » The bit with the glass wall made no sense, considering the amount of houses he's done with massive sized windows, surely he would have been well aware of the issues with reflections etc. I wonder if that and other parts were just scripted to add a bit of 'drama' to the show
iamwhoiam wrote: » I am quite sure that Dermot is a nice man and good family man . But professionally and as an architect I personally wouldn’t let him within ten feet of my house . You only have to listen to the professionalism of Patricia and her deep knowledge to know she is top of her game Yet we get an architect who is 20 years in the business not having a bulls notion of cost or indeed an awful lot of cop on either . Then he sits like a star struck teenager in awe of an older architect and looks bewildered at his very logical thoughts No thank you , If I had 600k to spend on upgrading my house it sure as hell would not be Dermot Bannon I would entrust to get me my money’ worth
the_pen_turner wrote: » this is what made the programe what it is (or was) its easy do these things when you can throw half a million at it. the majority of people in the country need their house adjusted slightly or a small adition to give a better flow etc not a huge open plan extention. 50 k would do a lot of work to a normal house that wanted to improve it a bit . we would all love a 100% renovated house but most could never do that
harr wrote: » Best bit was the realisation that his hero didn’t like walls of glass , I taught he was going to cry. Why in gods name would he not release that you can’t see out of windows in the dark and that windows reflect images like a mirror at night. Its mind blowing that came as a shock to him and showed him up big time, surprised they left that segment in to be honest.
gifted wrote: » He doesn't come out of this programme with any great respect.......we are in the middle of a homeless crisis and this chap is throwing hundreds of thousands at upgrading his house to his dream house, not including the amount of money he paid for it....don't get me started on him flying to Oxford to meet his hero......Anyone know how much RTE paid him for this show?
Deleted User wrote: » I get the impression that they needed some 'drama' moments and this was what they came up with. Personally, I think they made him look like an idiot. I would have made more of a drama out of the 'wanting to keep the old with the new' approach he was taking (keeping the old doors, ironmongery, etc.) but I get the impression that he is buddies with the lighting chap and perhaps he was in it as a bit of promotional work or something (I noticed the metal fabricator got his van perfectly positioned in the background when they were chatting, but the lighting chap didnt seem to get any real mention of his business name in there, unfortunately for him). Primary school kids know that glass reflects at night. This quite simply isn't possibly something an architect just learned.
meeeeh wrote: » I think some take a bit too seriously an entertainment tv programme. There was no conflict with client so they needed to find some back and forth with the builder and with the Oxford architect. The later probably showed that he is still a great fan of architecture. Programme was a bit boring and overextended. It would be better if they made one episode out of it.However the complaints about homeless crisis and money spent are just begrudgery. He has money to throw at it and importantly the house will be also used as part of his portfolio.
LennieB wrote: » Dermot will be on Ray Darcy show after 4 to discuss the show and the feedback.
donkeykong5 wrote: » Probably on Tommy tiernan show this week.
MrMusician18 wrote: » Any homeowner should be able to spend what they like on their house, guilt free.
tototoe wrote: » Absolutely, but this show comes across like it's being shoved in your face. The numbers are huge and It's not relatable for most people...a bit like most of RTÉ's output. They are living in their own " star" bubble and considering the state of RTÉ's finances, it's not a good look for a supposedly public sector broadcaster. It's been a common theme for room to improve the last couple of seasons
FFVII wrote: » every other post could probably be deleted!!