theVersatile wrote: » At one stage according to RugbyPass Index - Dave Kilcoyne was the best loosehead prop in the world. There's a place for stats in rugby but blindly believing Player A is better than Player B because this algorithm has given Player A 88/100 and Player B 97/100 is silly. Thankfully I think most people here recognise that. I also think the POM doesn't carry arguement is due to the systems Munster and Ireland player last season. Both position POM out wide to stretch the pitch but then played mostly 10 man rugby - with some odd wide opportunities here and there (see O'Mahoney Vs Piatau a couple years ago - Angus Lloyds try in Thomond) and set piece strike plays in an otherwise unimaginative gameplan. Fast forward post RWC - Larkham introduces some form of wide attacking gameplan in Limerick and POM starts to carry more in the wider channels - as seen in his last two European games. Funny how that works - playing wider gives wider positioned players more ball. And before anyone fires a counterargument saying that he should go looking for work - he shouldn't (especially if Joe was as controlling as this thread would have you believe). He's playing a system. If the ball doesn't come his way - is that really his fault. Note this is not in any way a declaration that POM should start - or be captain - or anything. Overall, nothing can be said until we see (a) the 6N squad (b) how Farrell wants Ireland to play and (c) the form of potential competitors in his position (the likes of your Ruddocks, who's playing very well; Tadhg Beirne, Doris/Deegan (if CJ moves to 6), Leavy upon his return etc)
Shefwedfan wrote: » I think people really overrate POM in lineout and underrate all of the other players. The time he came into the game v England you would swear none of our back row players jumped in lineout. I remember on TV someone having to point out at the time other backrowers do join the lineout and jump, just POM is a little better.
...it was recorded as one of the 10 lineouts Munster retained off their dozen throws, while pinching four of Saracens’ 13. Unusually, almost every throw was contested, making the lineout the key battle within the war, with Munster captain O’Mahony a key figure. ... In the heel of the hunt, Mark McCall admitted: “Fair play to Munster, their defensive lineout probably won them the game.”
Shefwedfan wrote: » Having POM playing at 6 with a 7 like VDF is not going to work.
Shefwedfan wrote: » Unfortunately POM is out of form and a doubt to make another WC so he has to be the one the loses out.
theVersatile wrote: » Fast forward post RWC - Larkham introduces some form of wide attacking gameplan in Limerick and POM starts to carry more in the wider channels - as seen in his last two European games. Funny how that works - playing wider gives wider positioned players more ball. And before anyone fires a counterargument saying that he should go looking for work - he shouldn't (especially if Joe was as controlling as this thread would have you believe). He's playing a system. If the ball doesn't come his way - is that really his fault.
aloooof wrote: » This is the actual interesting part of the debate. For me, POM is the best jackaller and one of the best lineout jumpers we have (certainly the best defensive lineout jumper). We lose our biggest turnover threat. We'd gain in other areas tho, most notably carrying. Tbh, I think we're really missing Leavy who offers both carrying and turnover threat (if not the lineout option). With POM out of the team, I think there's a case for Dev being called back in. .
aloooof wrote: » This is the actual interesting part of the debate. For me, POM is the best jackaller and one of the best lineout jumpers we have (certainly the best defensive lineout jumper). We lose our biggest turnover threat. We'd gain in other areas tho, most notably carrying. Tbh, I think we're really missing Leavy who offers both carrying and turnover threat (if not the lineout option). With POM out of the team, I think there's a case for Dev being called back in. Disagree with this. From the England game in 2017 6 Nations up to the end of 2018 he was in brilliant form. His 2015 injury wasn't affecting him then.
Niallof9 wrote: » If somebody can answer the question about POM? he's good off the pitch,he is making turnovers. He is carrying little and doesn't make a huge amount of tackles. Which for a 6 isn't that great. He's great in the lineout. What else? Or do we even need him doing anything else?https://www.the42.ie/peter-omahony-position-back-row-1692067-Sep2014/ For me he became the wrong position. He was a 7 or at a push a rangy 8. Maybe his 2015 injury affected him more than we'll ever really know.
Niallof9 wrote: » For me he became the wrong position. He was a 7 or at a push a rangy 8. Maybe his 2015 injury affected him more than we'll ever really know.
Niallof9 wrote: » you know what bucs, i'll take a ban. **** you
Niallof9 wrote: » you know what bucs, i'll take a ban. **** you Some people love arguing just for the sake of it. Nobody outside this bubble reads this ****. It would be grand like if you didn't get so much wrong. "Form doesn't matter"
irishbucsfan wrote: » Pin ball has a purpose!
sydthebeat wrote: » its like trying to debate with a pin ball.....
aloooof wrote: » Again you're drawing a false equivalence. People are dismissing Rugbypass stats. The players aren't hounding their analysts for Rugbypass stats. That's all I'm saying.
Niallof9 wrote: » Plenty on here dismiss stats in such a way. The players are obsessed with them. I can't drag out all the particulars but Leinster's old analyst Kane told me players would hound him for the stuff. This is backed up by articles
aloooof wrote: » Strawman. Nobody's saying players / coaches don't use stats. But the stats available to them and the stats available on Rugbypass aren't comparable. For obvious reasons that have already been mentioned. You're saying "these" stats as if they're the same. They're not.
Niallof9 wrote: » I never said i was a coach in AIL. I worked as a video analyst for an AIL team with two current Leinster coaches. I coach at other levels. None of it proves anything. All it does is form some of my viewpoints on it. I remember Peter Smyth telling a group of us ,of Jordan Larmour two years b4 he broke through. Said he was guaranteed a cap. and loa nd behold I don't know if your part of a club yourself. Maybe you could build your own network. Its pure chance on my part in some of it, but it gives me a rough idea about stuff. I'm sitting in my office here just amused. I'd love to be embarrassed about it but whatever you want to believe go ahead. All i said was that he didn't dimiss it out of hand I didn't bloody say it was his bloody bible. The players live off these stats. Read some bloody interviews as well to back this up. They hound the analysts for it. So people who are dismissing all these stats are worse. You think they wear gps bibs for the craic like. If somebody can find a free database of stuff i'll gladly have a look. I'm working here for a large multi national and we're using wikipedia as source for data and stuff like that, officially. Yet we often hear oh its wikipedia...blah blah. People who think rugby pass purely do stuff for clicks need to adjust their tin foil hats.
Niallof9 wrote: » The players live off these stats. Read some bloody interviews as well to back this up. They hound the analysts for it. So people who are dismissing all these stats are worse. You think they wear gps bibs for the craic like.
Niallof9 wrote: » Thats true. I said they only paint one part of the picture. POM has loads of stuff that probably weigh in his favor. He is clearly a good talker, a leader, somebody people respect. He's probably a lineout leader. Maybe he's an insane trainer. I agree.
Shefwedfan wrote: » At this stage You have played with a number of Irish internationals....to prove your right You are a coach in AIL....to prove your right You now are in contact with rugby analysts.....to prove your right Not saying anything here but you can’t deny a bit of a trend