is_that_so wrote: » Driving offences are not always jailing offences although I do think he probably should have lost his licence in this case. Outcome here is that the cyclist is OK, will be compensated and the driver has a 3 year prison sentence hanging over him.
Blazer wrote: » You mean the 5 previous convictions weren’t enough? Justice is a farce in this country. No one can deny that.
is_that_so wrote: » And I guess this is why you're not in the legal system dispensing justice! It's a final warning for him.
begbysback wrote: » Now cmon, he didn’t actually drive ‘over’ him, it seems the injuries were minimal, plus the judge had the benefit of cctv which I’m sure was a factor in his decision. Look at this rationally, if your the driver and you have to pay 10k then it’s gonna hurt, on the other hand if your the cyclist do you want the driver to go to jail, or have him pay you 10k - if I’m the cyclist I’d take the 10k
mikemac2 wrote: » Don't the Brits have local magistrates doing much of what our district court judges do It isn't paid and I suppose is largely done by retired people who want to fill their time. Dunno if its better than what we have though.
bmc58 wrote: » Some hope of getting €10,000 off that boyo.
Blazer wrote: » He should be inside already. Quite honestly I reckon that cyclist now has carde blanche to run him over. There’s no way he’d serve any time over it.
is_that_so wrote: » Why? He did get a 3 year sentence, suspended for now and got fined a whole lot of money. With his track record he could find himself inside soon enough.
_Brian wrote: » That’s truly a travesty of justice.
BorneTobyWilde wrote: » ''Kearns had been a very good golfer but lost his form '' Ah well that explains it, good enough reason to run someone over. All well that ends well, let that be a lesson to cyclists everywhere, don't mess with someone who has lost their golfing form.
Weepsie wrote: » "He added Kearns had been a very good golfer but lost his form and he had become depressed." That should be laughed out of the record. Also Martin Nolan. Say no more. The man is a massive embarrassment to the entire nation imo
begbysback wrote: » “His victim suffered minor injuries, including soft tissue damage, and has since made a full recovery.“ “CCTV footage played in Dublin Circuit Criminal Court showed Sean Kearns driving straight at cyclist Marcelo Valencia, causing him to come crashing off his bicycle on the middle of a busy road five years ago.” That’s taken from the times article, the other source may be slightly biased as there’s a noticeable difference between the 2 reports.
nthclare wrote: » I think judge's should be a mixture of laymen and laywomen with a list of crimes and sentences in front of them and if the person is found guilty put them away...
mamax wrote: » To be honest too many scumbags get off with a fine for this kind of behavior. Maybe not over but it's still hit and run with the hit meaning to hurt or kill.
CCTV footage viewed in court showed Kearns drive into and through Mr Valencia on the road when the cyclist stopped in front of the car Kearns was driving at red lights. The cyclist was sent up into the air on impact and then onto the road, suffering a series of injuries.
jaxxx wrote: » Sorry lads but I hate cyclists! Joking aside (jealousy really cos I actually can't cycle), that verdict is ridiculous. The order for payment is good, but that's nowhere near enough. He should have his license suspended INDEFINITELY. Forgetting his previous convictions, deliberately driving at a cyclist is abominable. His lawyer using depression as an excuse is sickening. I've had depression for 10 years, I've never tried to deliberately drive into a cyclist!
mamax wrote: » More here > https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/circuit-court/suspended-sentence-for-man-who-deliberately-crashed-into-cyclist-1.4094339 So the message the judge sends out is it's ok to run over a cyclist if your having a bad day it will only cost you 10 grand, what a load of bollicks, that judge should be struck off. What if everyone driving a car tomorrow was having a bad day :eek:
mamax wrote: » If you take away emotions then he deliberately drove over a cyclist !!!, nothing rational about that, wrong punishment, that scumbag should have got jail time. I'm all for giving a fella a 2nd chance but not a fella with several convictions, he meant to hurt the guy badly and now he's laughing his arse off at our court system, next time he might actually kill someone.