FrancieBrady wrote: » I know it's a cliche but my jaw kinda dropped open when I read Traynor's and Haughey's name. What a web and where are our mainstream journalists on that story!
Silly Gilly wrote: » I think a taser may have been involved.
NIMAN wrote: » He wasn't the healthiest looking 55yr old I've ever seen. No surprise he took a heart attack when his door was bust down.
Silly Gilly wrote: » Kevin Lunney said in his interview that the whole Anglo situation changed Quinn's personality and he no longer recognises his former employer. Bitterness can do strange things to people.
FrancieBrady wrote: » In defence of 'local people', they don't necessarily know somebody is behaving criminally. They generally judge people on their experiences in dealing with them. As I said, my father worked for Quinn and I know him, could I say he was a criminal...no, absolutely not. In fact my experience of him is as an incredibly generous man.
Seth Brundle wrote: » ...aah sure maybe the locals up around Ballyconnell & Derrylin will throw some money towards him. They could have a fundraiser event and Mickey "You know decent people when you meet them. The Quinns are decent people." Harte and Fr Brian D'Arcy will even turn up! :rolleyes:
Deleted User wrote: » shows the quality of the hard men put on pedestals by the media or anyone who soft-pedals the cancer of violence in pursuit of financial or political ends. big man shat himself and keeled over at sign of a cop actually coming at him. embarrassed that it took the uk cops to put the hand on him. drug gangs, splinter republicans, border bandits- only take up the gun cos theyre not worth a fcuk with the gifts they inherited
blackwhite wrote: » The behaviour of the Quinn family in concealing assets isn't going to help win the trust of any potential new investors
Seth Brundle wrote: » Not just that. His insurance business was mismanaged as it had "significantly breached" its solvency ratios and made various asset guarantees which reduced the companys value. We now have a 2% levy to all non-life policies until 2037 to thank him for :mad:The we had the lengthy chase to find out where all of his assets were - doubtful that everything was found
Seth Brundle wrote: » Not just that. His insurance business was mismanaged as it had "significantly breached" its solvency ratios and made various asset guarantees which reduced the companys value. We now have a 2% levy to all non-life policies until 2037 to thank him for :mad: The we had the lengthy chase to find out where all of his assets were - doubtful that everything was found.
NIMAN wrote: » Was the reason for his spectacular fall not the fact that he bet everything he had, billions of Euro, on Anglo Irish and it was a sham bank?
FrancieBrady wrote: » You'd have to say an incident like that would land very quickly on the Garda Commissioner's desk with 'Urgent' marked on it. As a citizen of an area demarked as 'lawless' by none other than our current Taoiseach I would like to know what his direction was on it and all the other incidents.
careless sherpa wrote: » He is notorious since he moved to the area. Won't be too many shedding a tear
Topgear on Dave wrote: » A well known name in the local area and well known to the cops.
blackwhite wrote: » Maybe read the post I was responding to - someone trying to claim that today's developments have exonerated Quinn. Media outlets are being incredibly careful to avoid naming Quinn directly - but aren't being overly subtle about the hints they are dropping
DFGrange wrote: » Ahem... I'm only speculating here. It's possible that SQ was set up and protected by the IRA from the outset and in their mind it's their company. I'm just guessing.. Sean Quinn being the front for very very very bad people laundering money from major bank raids in recent times... it's their retirement fund. Maybe.. just speculating..
NIMAN wrote: » Why did it not happen when a Guard's car was being torched and his family threatened. For me, that there would be the breaking point. Once the law is shown to have no power, the full force of the security forces should have come down hard.
celt262 wrote: » The paymaster what a mystery....
Patrick2010 wrote: » McGuinness was doing it to get Sean Quinn back in charge. He wasn’t going to profit, only Quinn would so unless McGuinness is some altruist you would have to assume he was working for Quinn. Interesting if they trace a contact between the two of them.
NIMAN wrote: » Sure did......and what gangster story would be complete without Charlie Haughey's name.
dresden8 wrote: » Hard to believe a guy with over 50 convictions dtops dead because the cops come through his door.
FrancieBrady wrote: » As I said earlier, I remember well Sean Quinn's rise and remember the spying allegations and other skullduggery accusations going on. I always reckoned that part of the reason for his spectacular fall was that he seriously annoyed some big players in a very lucrative business during that time, but I never quite knew exactly what was going on. I still don't understand the in's and out's but this is quite a read, it like the plot of a Mafia novel tbh. And some of the names!https://villagemagazine.ie/index.php/2012/11/the-cement-billionaires/
NIMAN wrote: » Re: the fact that the security heat was so late in getting stepped up. Why did it not happen when a Guard's car was being torched and his family threatened. For me, that there would be the breaking point. Once the law is shown to have no power, the full force of the security forces should have come down hard.