seenitall wrote: » By a non-pressurised social environment, I mean anything but a "date", essentially. I even loathe the word, but that's just me. The whole concept just feels so frickin American and artificial. (I'm not Irish, I'm from EE, so may have something to do with it.) It's just hanging out with someone, this time without other friends around. This thing of going to a specific appointment to specifically gauge another person's romantic potential is so cold, contrived, unromantic.
Wompa1 wrote: » One of my wife's friends is into online dating. She was over visiting from the US and it was like a hobby. Take out the phone and look at what the local men were like. She travelled for work so it was something she'd do everywhere she went. He default position seemed to be that all of the men were below her and every story of dates she went on made the guys sound like losers. I consider myself lucky that online dating wasn't a thing for most of my young life. I feel like for women it must be like me looking for a new laptop online. I'd spend 2 years looking and never committing and buying one because I'd think I'd regret it right away and a newer model will come out.
Wibbs wrote: » +1000. Can't abide this imported "dating culture" myself either. I've gone on a few organised "dates" and with the exception of one they were boring as hell or downright irritating TBH, including the ones with the twenty questions from some Cosmo checklist, a few minutes after "hello" and not to be too unkind, they weren't exactly in the position to be asking too many questions with such apparent vigour. The exception was we both early on saw the daftness and the lack of any spark in that direction and just had a bit of craic.
Potential-Monke wrote: » It still stings a little, and if it's happening 99.9% of the time on the dating apps, you begin to question yourself, and the downward spiral begins. Unfortunately, not everyone has the mental fortitude to react to every rejection positively. The joys of individuality! Update: I joined Bumble the other night, never heard of it before but the 'she makes the first move' is interesting. I've just got my first match. Now we play the waiting game, as she has 24 hours to contact me. Maybe I could turn this into my romantic escapades thread!
bluewolf wrote: » i found dating grand - i did have a laid back approach and just meeting new people for a chat mindset. had good times just chatting away, met a few weirdos, the usual
Leg End Reject wrote: » For all the negatives you've posted about yourself, your self awareness and humour shine through. You've answered people honestly and haven't once gotten irritated. The HUGE plus for you though is that there isn't even a hint of bitterness, nor any of the "all women are ..." from any of your posts. I hope all goes well for you and you do meet someone.
Bullet To The Head? wrote: » Maybe you shouldn't have messed the guy around and he wouldn't have been annoyed?
Greyfox wrote: » I think this attitude is a must. You need to treat it like your meeting this person for a chat that way if it's a nice chat and leads to nothing more you just carry on to the next chat.. the nice to meet you but your not the one for me is part of the course with od which is why you should be multi dating. Multi dating can be extra time consuming but it helps to stop you from lingering on the ones that ghost you.. and everyone gets ghosted
lainey_d_123 wrote: » Could not disagree more re multi dating. This 'stay cool and detached and date around' approach is IMO largely why so many people are incapable of forming proper bonds and starting real relationships these days. You're supposed to get a bit carried away, not be cold and clinical and making sure you have a back-up plan. How can you give anything a proper chance when your attention is so divided?
Bullet To The Head? wrote: » Well I hope she had a genuine reason because flaking on someone at the last minute is a ****ty thing to do.
Bullet To The Head? wrote: » It's not about entitlement, its about having respect for the other person. Standing people up was always considered a ****ty thing to do but now we because we have this internet dating culture suddenly it's ok? OK fine, but don't complain when the guy you really likes ghosts you.
Bullet To The Head? wrote: » It's not about entitlement, its about having respect for the other person. Standing people up was always considered a ****ty thing to do but now we because we have this internet dating culture suddenly it's ok? Ok fine, but don't complain when the guy you really likes ghosts you.
ArchXStanton wrote: » I was at a social event recently and was put sitting beside this one as a matchmaking thing by a friend who's event it was, I think we both knew it, but immediately she started in with the questions what do you work at? Do you have children etc. At some point I went out for a smoke and my mate who was sitting across from us came out and she says fcuk me you're getting some interrogation off yer woman, what's that about? I said I know right, I'm here going over my answers.. It felt more like machine gun fire, completely off putting and not natural at all, like she was trying to work out were to put me in the pecking order, men can sense that sh*t a mile a way.
Church on Tuesday wrote: » That kind of craic never works. It's too contrived.
Bullet To The Head? wrote: » Is 'entitlement' your favourite word? If a man posted here about standing a woman up, he'd be pilloried.
Church on Tuesday wrote: » I reckon they would prefer that to yet another dick pic.
BorneTobyWilde wrote: » I hate 20 questions CV daters. Like **** off
Wibbs wrote: » On top, all they could talk about was how much better their cubicle/office was and how they were pushing paradigms and the like. To me they sounded like Donald Trump attempting to pick up a woman without the millionaire thing.
Wibbs wrote: » A mate of mine on this merry go round a few years back before she got loved up(outa the blue and spontaneously, real "meet cute", as the Yanks say) told me she had the same interrogation checklist sh1te from a couple of men she went out on dates with. I mean crap like how many kids do you want and how soon, her career prospects and how that might change with kids. Yep. And one guy asked her for a tally of her sexual partners as his "morals" didn't want to marry a "woman that got around". Yeah. Jaysus like. On top, all they could talk about was how much better their cubicle/office was and how they were pushing paradigms and the like. To me they sounded like Donald Trump attempting to pick up a woman without the millionaire thing.
lainey_d_123 wrote: » I remember a man trying to do it to me on a dating app. Asked some ridiculous question like 'so who ARE you?' like he was expecting me to write a novel baring my soul to a rando on a dating app who also hadn't told me anything about himself.