dxhound2005 wrote: » Most small countries never get to World Cup, or European finals. Ireland never achieved it until 1988. Only 7 countries have won the World Cup. We are doing OK, and it would be unprecedented for a country like Ireland to withdraw from international competition. A generation of players to match the Dublin footballers might come along. Dublin went for a long time with no success.
TheIrishGrover wrote: » My nephew has been doing Tae Kwan-do for almost 20 years. Has gone to many world championships, won many medals. The Irish team is VERY well regarded internationally. And yet they do not get a single cent of support from the Government. Every competition he went to he had to pay every single penny. Literally saved and worked summer jobs etc in order to go. While Olympic Tae-Kwan-do does get some support (Enough to buy their uniforms and that's about it) the non-Olyimpic sport gets nothing. And it's clubs like THESE: Grass roots, local clubs that gives the kids something to do and out of mischief that needs the support. Clubs practically begging for money outside shops. How much money was given to Equestrian Ireland? When the last Olympic medal we received was stripped from us? And Ireland used to be very highly regarded equestrian-wise. Maybe these high-level support should be performance-based
SmartinMartin wrote: » So I'm a miserable bollix cos the Irish soccer team are sh1te? lol. Dunno why the rugby comparison, at least we've actually won something in that sport. Really though, why is the State wasting huge amounts of money on this rubbish?
twowheelsonly wrote: » IMO that's Tae Kwan Dos' own fault. They should be well able to lobby for funding as countrywide it's a huge sport - far bigger than most people would realise. The trouble is it's too political with too many associations and side shows going on and it's been that way for years. As a unified body they could have serious lobbying power but some within it can't see past their own differences for the greater good.
Omackeral wrote: » How is it not? All you need is a ball and a bit of space. Jumpers for goalposts, ever hear of that expression? Kids in barrios can play it and many of them have nothing. College students play it. Over 35's play it in leagues. Work mates play it for bonding. Even boards.ie has had teams (I've played for them!). Astros, streets, indoor or on a green field. It's for everyone.
valoren wrote: » The Euros and the World Cup are really to my mind extended tournaments. The qualification is classed as a separate tournament but it is really the group stage for the group stage. The 'finals' are the sexy culmination of those tournaments and are condensed into a month at the end of each tournament cycle. The teams who progress are the cream of the crop. The initial cycle of qualification groups are part of the tournament proper and as such we always participate in the Euro and the World Cup tournaments. That's why we have a soccer team i.e. to participate in international tournaments. Sure we mostly don't progress from the "initial" group stage of the tournaments but given our level of play progressing to the finals will always be a major achievement in itself. In effect, if, for example, you get capped for Ireland playing against Georgia in a WC qualification match then to my mind you've played in a World Cup. If you scored then you've scored in the World Cup. With that in mind, the Irish team have won 3 games in Euro 2020. We have scored 6 goals in Euro 2020. If we were losing all 8 games and almost never scoring and doing so at considerable expense then calls for the actual need to have a team would pertinent.
valoren wrote: » When such time and energy is invested in sports where we are literally beating ourselves then it should come as no surprise to anyone that we perpetually under perform at football. In the past Greece have won the Euros, so too the Danes.The Dutch could have won the world cup a number of times now. Even Croatia have reached the World Cup final. Perhaps qualifying for the major tournaments would become a tick the box exercise if we focused on having a culture of being exceptionally good a football.
Woke Hogan wrote: » This website had a football team? Hahaha, are you for real? Who were they playing, Banter United from Joe.ie?
Edgware wrote: » Don't worry, McClean will be getting his bit of publicity next month when he has his annual "I wont wear a Poppy" phase. He certainly wont be getting it for his football ability
Omackeral wrote: » Yes. Won a few competitions too. It was played against a multitude of different teams from the likes of the civil service, finance sector and other established teams looking to keep sharp in their off-season. Things like that. It was a social league and a fantastic way to keep fit and meet people. Don't see how that's really funny. Some really sound lads on the teams throughout the years.
Utter Consternation wrote: » Everyone hated playing the comments section from the Journal.ie.
Woke Hogan wrote: » Fair play. I'd say it was a great way to lose weight.
Mad_maxx wrote: » Or his ugly mug Hypocrite that guy, if he was full committed to his principals, he would refuse to play in England
MarkY91 wrote: » We qualify with a win against Denmark. Relax ffs.
Iscreamkone wrote: » I'd say that there are much more participating in soccer than Gaelic Football, Hurling or Rugby. Any stats on participation out there?