Shefwedfan wrote: » Did I say Geoghegan played in 80's? I just said I started to watch in 80's. I mentioned Geoghegan because he is still one of my favorite Irish players of all time... I am fully aware how terrible Ireland where before the 2000's. At the end of his contract Gatland had a win ratio of 47%. Loss more games than won. He had a number of disasters as coach including the loss against Scotland in the last 6 nations. The biggest was Lens.....all these came down to his coaching. People look back now and think we should have kept him on, but at the time he was released nobody had a time machine.
Shefwedfan wrote: » If you think a win ratio of 47% is success then so be it.... In my eyes anything under 50% is a failure.... How would you describe EOS and Kidney tenure?
Shefwedfan wrote: » If you think a win ratio of 47% is success then so be it.... In my eyes anything under 50% is a failure....
Shefwedfan wrote: » How would you describe EOS and Kidney tenure?
lleti wrote: » Not sure what thread to post in but how are tackles going to be made in future. Look at the tackle Stockdale got. Stockdale was low as **** and running straight into a player. What is a defender supposed to do now? I heard BOD say go for the legs but how much lower can a defender go when a player is running straight into them dipping themselves?
Shefwedfan wrote: » Gatland is long gone.... He has done well and fair play to him....he will never be Ireland coach again so pointless discussion
ClanofLams wrote: » The majority of people were saying at the time he should have been kept. Using 47% in isolation means nothing, what did the coaches before Gatland have? Had it improved every year over his term? Irish rugby was in a shambolic state when he took over, they were on a clear upward trajectory. Ludicrous decision to get rid of him made by blazers because Gatland wasn’t suitably deferential to them and Eddie O’Sullivan was willing to go along with that nonsense.
Shefwedfan wrote: » I started in the 80's.....simon geoghegan and all that.....I remember all the s**t days. He threw young lads in because he was about to get the sack. He had just got hammered 50-18 by England. That why the young players got picked....He beat France and the following week at home got beaten by Wales? He was the coach of the disaster in Lens. They should have won the Grand Slam the foot and mouth year but got hammered by a terrible Scotland team. Only coach in the professional era never to win a trophy and the worst win ratio.
Fornevermore wrote: » You do know that we would have had a choice to rest our players if we'd beaten Japan? Like what Wales did. I don't see them moaning. As excuses go, a 7 day turnaround is a flimsy one.
[Deleted User] wrote: » If you don't think having one less game and a longer recovery isn't of significant benefit then I've got a bridge to sell you. And don't take my word for it, see what Eddie Jones had to say.
jacothelad wrote: » Gatland was a btrath of fresh air but was dreadfully handicaped by nor being allowed to select the players he wanted until it was almost too late. Ireland still selected the team by means iof the appalling seleection committee system. When he did get a free - ish hand the team improved dramatically as he jettisoned the old hands p.d.q.
Interested Observer wrote: » I'm glad we got the extra match in. We played a full strength team against Japan and lost, a second string against Russia and were pretty terrible, so I really don't think they're ideal performances to carry into a game against NZ. The first team got another run against Samoa and were pretty good, I think that's important. Jones and Hansen saw their sides sail through the pool stages.
Birdie Num Num wrote: » I know this is most likely going over old ground by now but I haven’t been on any threads recently. I did have a glance over in the last few days and I know many people will disagree with me. I had the benefit (or disadvantage) of watching the Samoa game without sound, so had no commentary nor heard any views of pundits at the time nor since. ...I really didn’t see Aki’s Tackle as a red. To me all the force and momentum was coming from the Samoan. If I remember rightly Aki bounced or spun off another player, uprighted himself and was met in an almost standing position by the Samoan who was coming up from a low position. I was actually expecting a penalty without a card. On a few reruns in slowmo I thought a possible yellow. ...I haven’t seen a full replay of it since but I did see a twitter clip of the ref and TMO viewing the footage. I felt the footage that they viewed didn’t seem to take in enough of the lead up to the impact. Apologies if posters find this monotonous at this stage. Also, as a btw, I didn’t think it was as bad as the shoulder to Stockdale’s face either. I felt Aki was unlucky, nothing malicious in it at all and a 3 week ban to me is ridiculous.
Birdie Num Num wrote: » Apologies if posters find this monotonous at this stage. Also, as a btw, I didn’t think it was as bad as the shoulder to Stockdale’s face either. I felt Aki was unlucky, nothing malicious in it at all and a 3 week ban to me is ridiculous.
ionadnapokot wrote: » Any news on when Ref will be announced?
Shefwedfan wrote: » It was a red card....3 weeks was the minimum Didn’t need pundits, just watch Aki face after the tackle, he knew it
testtech05 wrote: » I thought I heard on the radio this evening it was named as Wayne Barnes but it might have been the pundit was saying he would prefer Barnes though. Only heard it in passing.
ionadnapokot wrote: » Hope not Jaco - no thanks Gardner - no chance Would like Nick Berry
Stheno wrote: » Was on Facebook that it is Barnes