notobtuse wrote: » What is the Trump impeachment inquiry about? Attempts to dig up dirt on a presidential candidate, or something, I've been told.
hetuzozaho wrote: » OK, but dumb it down for me, are you saying Obama is involved in the Ukraine thing? I don't understand the Clapper thing. Reading comments on r/the_donald now as it's front page there, but still lost.
mad muffin wrote: » America’s Founders did not put impeachment into the Constitution as a partisan tool to be used for overturning an election. Today's Democrat party disagrees with the Founders, and with the Constitution as written, so don't expect them to act in the best interest of the country. They lost, and they can't handle it. They know they can't win as their plans for the country are the opposite of what the people want, so they must use whatever means necessary to take what they can't earn.
hetuzozaho wrote: » You'd imagine his team must be baffled by him! Why do they let him ramble on, why do they let him tweet?
Odhinn wrote: Truly, the most ignorant potentially lethal gob****e in the western hemisphere
Odhinn wrote: Because they can only advise him. If the clown won't listen to sense, there's not much they can do.
Odhinn wrote: » Truly, the most ignorant - potentially lethal - gobshite in the western hemisphereTrump defends Syria decision by saying Kurds 'didn't help us with Normandy'https://www.theguardian.com/us-news/2019/oct/09/trump-syria-kurds-normandy
osarusan wrote: » All talk of impeachment aside, he really does come across as incredibly ignorant of the world sometimes, and I would guess he never wants to be advised on or informed on anything, he'll just bluff his way through it.
Penn wrote: » He doesn't need to be advised or informed. He knows more about everything that anyone. And I don't just think it's bluster or bluffing when he says that, I think he genuinely believes it. He believes, even with as little knowledge and experience as he might have on any given topic, that his opinion on that topic is right and he therefore truly understands the situation better than anyone, even if everyone told him he was wrong. He can't not be right all the time. Not just publicly or for show, but I think he genuinely believes he's just right all the time.
Wanderer78 wrote: » narcissists tend to be, well, narcissistic
[Deleted User] wrote: » :rolleyes::rolleyes:Goodness! The Don might actually co - operate and roll over so...http://english.sina.com/world/am/2019-10-10/detail-iicezuev1123495.shtml
notobtuse wrote: » No. What I’m saying is Democrats are trying to impeach Trump for things they 'claim' are impeachable, which just so happen to be very similar to what their guys have done when in power - underhanded methods of digging up dirt on a political opponent in order to hurt their campaigns, or in the case of Democrats to also work get a duly elected president out of office. If double standards and hypocrisy are allowed to rule the day, or if impeachable offenses are anything Congress says they are, we will be witnessing endless and continuous impeachment inquiries and hearings for every president going forward, whether it be Republican or Democrat. This is not what we vote politicians into office to do. If every president has to defend himself/herself from impeachment nonsense their entire time in office how in the world can they be effective?
hetuzozaho wrote: » I'm struggling to keep up. But why does this effect the Ukraine thing?
Matt Barrett wrote: » As an American, rather than defending based on double standards, would you not like to see Trump impeached and any former politicians held to account in some way too? One canceling out the other isn't how the law works surely? And no, seeking aid from foreign powers to get dirt an an elected American official for personal gratification is more than just something congress casually decided was impeachable. Is this as much nonsense as when Trump supported the Birther movement and harangued Obama for years?
hetuzozaho wrote: » Ah perfect I understand you now. I'd be a "two wrongs don't make a right" kind of guy.
notobtuse wrote: » Things don't work that way. What is good for the goose is good for the gander.
notobtuse wrote: » But I’m sure when the next Democrat became President the DNC would do everything in their power to keep the Republicans in Congress from following the precedent they’ve set. They'll expect the GOP to suddenly become the party of ‘turn the other cheek.’ Things don't work that way. What is good for the goose is good for the gander.
Penn wrote: » And rightfully so. Both parties need to be reigned in and checks and balances properly enforced.
notobtuse wrote: » I agree with this. But as history notes that expectation only seems to happen when power changes between parties. So the time is now to make sure checks and balances are properly enforced, not when another party gains power.