cjmc wrote: » Only ever knew my maternal granny. She died when I was 17. Grand fathers and paternal grany died long before I was even conceived
JupiterKid wrote: » Would I be correct in presuming that those posters whose grandparents - particularly their parental grandparents - passed away before they were born or when they were very young because their fathers married and had a family late in life? Would I also be correct to presume that most of these posters come from a rural background, more specifically a farming background, where it seems to me that men in farming in Ireland traditionally married in their 40s or 50s to a considerably younger wife? Why is that?
JupiterKid wrote: » Would I be correct in presuming that those posters whose grandparents - particularly their parental grandparents - passed away before they were born or when they were very young because their fathers married and had a family late in life? Would I also be correct to presume that most of these posters come from a rural background, more specifically a farming background, where it seems to me that men in farming in Ireland traditionally married in their 40s or 50s to a considerably younger wife? Why is that? Another thing that seems to be quite common to posters on this thread is that we didn’t have rich grandparents with trust funds to pass on to their children or grandchildren. Most of our grandparents struggled and had a pretty hard life because they were relatively poor, because Ireland was poor and underdeveloped when they were young.
Would I be correct in presuming that those posters whose grandparents - particularly their parental grandparents - passed away before they were born or when they were very young because their fathers married and had a family late in life?
thesultan wrote: » I'm. 38. Not alive.
[Deleted User] wrote: » Now if the question was how many of your grandparents are still around?.... My gran, as I said is 100 years old and has Alzheimer's. My grandfather died a decade and a half ago. A few months back she had a very bad fall and banged her head and had to be hospitalised. She was in a bad way and we all thought she was going to die. I was standing beside her bed with my cousin and she was staring into space and muttering total nonsense to herself, when she suddenly turned to me and asked "Is your name 'buile'?". Now she hasn't known or said my name in at least 6 years, so I got quite a surprise. "Yeah", I said, "I'm Buile." She nods and then looks at an empty spot beside her and then turns back to me and says "There's a man here asking for you". Jaysus, gave me the heebie-jeebies. "Hello Grandad", says I.
JupiterKid wrote: » Would I also be correct to presume that many of these posters come from a rural background, more specifically a farming background, where it seems to me that men in farming in Ireland traditionally married in their 40s or 50s to a considerably younger wife? Why is that? .
Gwynplaine wrote: » All long gone. Both grandfathers died long before I was born. Grandmothers died when I was 10 and 14. Now I'm 38, my mother died in 2009, and father in 2013. Have a 6 week old son now. I'll have to tell him about them when he's older. It's quite sad really. And I get a certain jealousy when I see people who are older than I am, who still have both of their parents.