Faugheen wrote: » Still don’t understand how a 16 year old child who wants to make the world a better place gets so much guff for it.
AudreyHepburn wrote: » Perhaps because she’s forcing people to confront some very uncomfortable truths?
AudreyHepburn wrote: » If not us then what’s causing it? The ice caps aren’t melting of their own accord. Forests aren’t depleting themselves. Thousands of species aren’t on the verge of extinction for no reason.
splinter65 wrote: » Again, I don’t understand what this means. Can you explain how you imagine she is “forcing” me to confront anything? Do you realize that a lot of us who are parents are concerned about what’s quite clearly the open manipulation of a very obviously vulnerable child by her politically motivated parents? Equally concerning is that you choose to ignore this?
splinter65 wrote: » How is she displaying backbone and courage? I don’t see it at all I’m afraid. It’s not as if she’s under any threat. It’s clear she’s merely parroting well rehearsed lines written by someone else, the same as any other child actors.Where is the bravery?!?
dont bother wrote: » did any of ye see the nutjobs on Claire Byrne live last night? they interviewed some mad ould-one and she literally said "THose are our DEMANDS!"that's terrorism no? making demands??? who do these deluded nutjobs think they are? they swan in from their mansions in Dublin 4 to moan about poor developing countries trying to get a leg up. sickos. sweden loving maniacs.
Tell me how wrote: » I don't believe that the child is being manipulated so I am not ignoring your concern, I do not agree with it. As a parent, I think that you would want your child, and hopefully grandchildren to live in a clean environment with moderate weather events or at the very least, not a significantly decimated environment because of the excess and inaction of previous generations.
Tell me how wrote: » You don't think opening herself up to what must be exceptional levels of abuse because she believes in a cause as being brave? People were talking about the dangers of the yacht she travelled to the US on, it that was true, was it not brave that she travelled on it for over 2 weeks?
Faugheen wrote: » ‘She is being used by others’. So she’s not doing any of this off her own back? Conspiracy Theories forum is that way ——>
gozunda wrote: » Well theres a lot not to understand there... Criticism yes. 'Guff' no. Most likley its because she is being used by others. How does ranting about civilisation ending (incorrectly) in 10 years make the world a 'better place'? She has offered no solutions for a 'better place' except demand that all fossil fuels must remain in the ground immediately. And for who will this be a 'better place' exactly? When people are freezing because they can't afford to put on the heating in their homes because of increased carbon taxes? When transport is curtailed so economies go into tailspin and employers are forced to lay off their workforce? She is a teenager who doesn't have a first notion about these issues - except to repeat parrot fashion what she has been told by others. Not surprising there is real criticism tbh.
splinter65 wrote: » Did she make her own way to NY?
YFlyer wrote: » Solution? She said listen to the scientist.
AudreyHepburn wrote: » I’m ignoring nothing. I just don’t agree that she’s in any way being manipulated. She’s standing up for what she believes in and trying to get the likes of yourself to stop burying your heads in the sand and pretending everything is a ok when it clearly is not.
AudreyHepburn wrote: » I find it pathetic and laughable how so many seemingly rational thinking adults who should know better are getting so offended over a young girl with more backbone than all of them out together. Climate Change is real, it’s happening before our eyes and I commend Greta for having the courage to do what we all should have been doing long before now. After all if we don’t start making changes and taking seriously the threat we pose to our planet it is Greta’s own the generations after her that will suffer.
Galwayguy35 wrote: » Do you really think a speech like she made yesterday is going to change anyones mind? It might have gone down a treat with the lads in the room yesterday but it's not them she needs to convince, it's ordinary people around the world that she needs to get on board. And all they saw yesterday was a kid nearly having a temper tantrum and talking rubbish.
Tell me how wrote: » Can you point to one individual in history, across the human race who did absolutely everything on their own. You're implication that her sailing on someone elses yacht to NY invalidates her argument is nonsense. What do you think she should have done, swam there? Or cut down a tree, hollowed out the trunk and made a canoe and rowed there?
RollieFingers wrote: » What should we all have been doing long before now? Make speeches to the UN? Doubt they would have given many individuals such a platform. And what changes do people need to make on a personal level to stop future generations "suffering"? People always seem to preach the need for change but don't expand on what they want us to do.
splinter65 wrote: » Faugheen one minute you are saying that she has done all this “off her own bat”. Next minute you are contradicting yourself. Can you make up your mind?