Happyilylost wrote: » The whole point of this initial funding was to put GAA in areas in Dublin where it wasn't been played!! Your saying its ok to try and do it in Dublin but not Limerick? How does that make sense?
rm75 wrote: » Why nots thats exactly what you have been doing the entire thread! Kerry have 81 provincial titles dublin have 58. Their dominance of Munster has been near total and for far longer than Dublins of Leinster. How many counties would you split Kerry into? Mayo have almost double the number of Connacht titles as Roscommon but over 15 times the number of Sligo so what changes would you make there?
blanch152 wrote: » If you were really interested in competitiveness, it would be something like this: Munster: Kerry East Kerry West Cork Limerick/Clare Tipperary/Waterford Connacht: Galway Mayo Roscommon Sligo/Leitrim London Ulster: Donegal Derry/Antrim Down/Armagh Fermanagh/Tyrone Cavan Monaghan Leinster: Dublin North Dublin South Kildare Laois/Offaly Carlow/Kilkenny Wexford/Wicklow Longford/Westmeath Louth/Meath Not wedded to those particular combinations, and someone may have a better one, but 24 is a nice round number.
beggars_bush wrote: » Westmeath and Laois have the same number of Leinster titles in the last 20 years as Kildare
shockframe wrote: » The GAA gets a lot of stick but people fail to realise that it has to cater for quite a lot. Football, Hurling, ladies games, underage and a lot more besides. All this in a very small country with a small population trying to juggle a unique case with 2 ultra intense indigenous sports.No other country has 2 native games only played on one island. The GAA is not perfect but it does quite well for itself considering the constraints.
Tombo2001 wrote: » Its a fair point -The other thing is that the debate about 'financial doping' is intrinsically tied into the success of the county team as if that is the be all and end all of GAA in the county, without which the game is stagnant. To go back to discussion on Meath football earlier - when I was a kid, there was virtually no gaelic football in Ashbourne, and not much more in Ratoath. At the time, Ashbourne was as big as Trim or Kells - one of the largest towns in Meath. Meath were winning all irelands left right and centre, but it had no impact on kids living there beyond watching it on the telly. The local games were soccer, rugby and athletics. Whereas now - Ashbourne and Ratoath both have really strong clubs, loads of kids are playing - but Meath are nowhere in the senior county championship..... As a local person I would think having a strong local club is much more important than having a county that is winning regularly.
threeball wrote: » It also conveniently ignores the fact that Galway has always been effectively two counties under one umbrella. One half played hurling, the other football. So effective playing numbers for football would probably be about 13000 and hurling about 8000. Far below the level implied above and more in line with average playing numbers and zero all Irelands. We've the 3rd most in football and 7th in hurling. Within 5yrs I believe we'll be 4th. For the numbers available we punch well above our weight.
shockframe wrote: » People gloss over the fact that Dublin's cub scene is pretty competitive.,There has been quite a spread of winners at Senior since St Vincents decline in the early 80s. Add in the fact that there's clubs in recent years like Oliver Plunketts, St Judes and Castleknock who came close to winning it and this all helps in building a good scene for the county.
rm75 wrote: » It's spread, Crokes, Ballyboden and Cuala coming from nowhere. 5 of the starting team are from southside clubs that wouldnt have contributed any players prior to the early 1990's. Rather than looking at financial reasons you'd be better off looking at the impact Crokes wins in the early 1990's had on kids in the area. Given the success of Boden and Cuala that's likely to increase.
aodomhnaill wrote: » Wicklow is full of "prods" and they've very few GAA clubs in comparison to the rest of the country for the size and population of the county. Your protestant pals that play in Cavan are in the minority, plus Cavan are also sh*te at both sports so I'm not sure what your point is. By the way, was that 200 more presbyterian stat a typo? Or an attempt at some kind of meaningful relevant stat in relation to playing numbers? 200 people.
shockframe wrote: » ... I don't equate Dublin's success to money all that much. The will to succeed has to be there first and foremost. It's apparent in teams like Kerry, Mayo, Tyrone and the Dubs. Gavin has said it himself that players like Cluxton go through everything in great detail like the last day and prepared accordingly. That's your base level, build from there. Financial Doping has become a cliche at this stage. It ignores the culture change set about by Gilroy and Gavin and total buy in from the squad that's really important here.
jmayo wrote: » Yes there are lot of protestants historically in likes of Wicklow, but it also has the old garrison town mentality as well. Bray a town of over 32,000 has one senior club Bray Emmets. Arklow with population of around 14,000 has two clubs: Geraldines and Rock. Rock only play hurling as far as I know. Greystones with population of around 18,000 has one club: Eire og. Tralee with population of around 23,000 has 3 senior clubs: Austin Stacks, Kerins O'Rahillys and John Mitchels. Castlebar with population of around 12,000 has Mitchels and Breaffy is only just over a mile out the road. It is just not counties with tradition of some success but the likes of Carlow with population of around 24,000 has 4 clubs: Eire Og, O'Hanrahans, Carlow Town hurling, Graiguecullen (yes I know they compete in Laois but they are as good as Carlow town). As someone said GAA is strong in pockets of Wicklow, but it is particular to more rural areas. And also as someone else said a huge fecking chunk of the population think they are dubs. The youth soccer clubs all try gravitate towards Dublin leagues and hell it looks like Emmets have been trying to get into Dublin as well. Pardon the pun, but I think they may have grounds for that as I think their ground is technically in Dublin. Ah so not alone have they best volunteers it seems, but not they have the hardest working most dedicated players.We are all just lazy and that is why everyone else loses to the lads and now lassies from Dublin, right :rolleyes: PS one could argue "buying into a squad" is probably much easier when you don't have to travel upto 3 hours to and form the squad training a few times a week.
Gael85 wrote: » Tallaght West, Ballyfermot, Walkinstown, Drimnagh, Crumlin, Kingswood and Kilnamanagh wouldn't be strong at underage.
Tombo2001 wrote: » Nobody is saying that or has said that or has even insinuated that. There is constructive debate, and then there is just arguing for the sake of it.
Bridge93 wrote: » So do we force dublin to train in mullingar? or the players to work in munster? Or accept that some things are just economic and social realities/neccessities of the modern world and nothing can be done about them? Some things can just never be equal. There are intrinsic advantages and there always has been in every sport
jmayo wrote: » But this leads me to point that the inter-county model for top tier football and probably eventually hurling is unsustainable. Even if you were to remove the in-balance created in development funding, you cannot remove the in-balance in player numbers, rich successful growing clubs, the proximity of players and the sheer financial clout in terms of attracting high level sponsorship. It is a totally un-level playing field to use a hackneyed expression. And you can tinker all you want, including splitting Dublin/amalgamating others, but Dublin and other richer areas will always have an advantage.
gaffer91 wrote: » Look, Dublin will have to be split. They have unfair funding, population and de facto home pitch advantages on every other county. These advantages help them to win more games and titles than they otherwise would. Gormdubhgorm and Gachla have posted some charts showing the explosion in titles won by teams from Dublin since the financial doping in the early 2000s started. It's gone on for so long now the advantages will probably last for decades if concentrated in a single team. A split will help to manage these advantages fairly.
rm75 wrote: » And Kerry and also Mayo and Galway
gaffer91 wrote: » None of those counties have unfair advantages- Dublin have many e.g funding, population, home advantage for consequential games etc. Even if Dublin didn't win the next 5 (which they probably will) they should still be split because of their advantages, not just because of the outcomes.
jmayo wrote: » Yes Mayo the county that has won two National Leagues in the last 20 years, and last won an All-Ireland in 1951. Oh and hasn't won their provincial since 2015. Or Galway the county that last won the All-Ireland in 2001 and last won the league in 1981. Where do you stand up again ?
rm75 wrote: » Provincial titles Galway 48 Mayo 46 . . Sligo 3 Leitrim 2 Munster Kerry 81 Cork 37 Limerick 1 Waterford 1 So provincial domination is fine for Munster and Connacht but not Leinster is what you're saying ?
Weepsie wrote: » If population is an issue, splitting Dublin would eventually just lead to 2 excellent teams. Even if split by council you'd have 4-5 that could possibly best most others and just have a load Dublin teams in the semis