cson wrote: » This contradictory nonsense is very prevalent in the narrative, even Duignan was saying it today. It simply can't be harsh & at the same time the right call. They're mutually exclusive concepts. The correct call isn't harsh, its simply correct. Equally you can't hang James Owens for making the correct decision on the basis of the failings of his peers in prior matches. There's not been near enough introspection from Shefflin etc; the spotlight should be on Richie Hogan for making a challenge that puts the referee in a position to send him off.
Chalk McHugh wrote: » I think they will. Dublin to miss out.
awaywithyou wrote: » Will KK be playing Dublin in Parnell Park next yr? Dublin will beat em... Galway will beat em in Salthill and then it’s Wexford in Nowlan Park... who should be good enuf.. TJ will be a year older.... doesn’t seem to b anyone coming along to take his place as a leader in KK attack like TJ himself did when Shefflin moved off the stage.... Cody to retire next year... All the talk bout red card just papered over how poor I think this KK team is hurling wise... obviously they lack for nothing in honesty, hard work and massive commitment.... but they just don’t have the hurlers or the strong forceful characters/personalities of Shefflins team... how many of that KK team would get into either the Tipp or Limk teams at the moment.... TJ and Eoin Murphy and after that I’m struggling...
smelly sock wrote: » Id tend to agree. Wexford will be kicking themselves that they didnt beat Tipp. 5 points up with 5 to go. They should have. I think theyd have had to much for this KK team today too.
Chalk McHugh wrote: » Yes, Wexford will feel they really left it behind them. Tipp hurled out of their skin for the last 25 minutes though and Wexford couldn't arrest the slide. Davy looked shell-shocked so he did and thankfully he was pretty much lost for words and hasn't been heard of since. I'm not sure Wexford would have beaten Kilkenny twice in such a short time. My money would have been on Kilkenny to exact a bit of revenge but we'll never know.
Lefty Bicek wrote: » You're absolutely wrong. If the penalty for overcarrying the ball is death, and the sentence is carried out then that is the correct call. According to your logic. It's a bit harsh, though. You ought not to make emphatic statements that a more finely-tuned mind would baulk at. QED :P
Lefty Bicek wrote: » It can, but my preference is otherwise. PM sent.
Joe Daly wrote: » Could you explain this please.
Gentleman Off The Pitch wrote: » Look you're obviously enjoying putting the knife into Kilkenny over the last few days, but for a man tut tutting about Kilkenny bitterness just a few posts back your own is beginning to rear its ugly head, with your diction becoming more ludicrous with each post; Jackie hurtling towards middle age no less, predictions of Limerick atomizing Kilkenny next year and declaration that Kilkenny were not in the final on merit, the claims of tiresome fawning over St. Kierans, and of course the usual authorative statements on the opinions and thoughts of Kilkenny people as a collective. It would give the outward impression that there is some latent hurt behind your score settling Oh and imagine someone having slim fit chino shorts and flip flops in their wardrobe, that is surely the epitome of flamboyance to a sartorially ignorant Tipp man
Powerhouse wrote: » Nobody can accuse your hurt of being latent anyway. The suffering is palpable.
Powerhouse wrote: » For some reason he seems convinced he's heading out to his Debs every night. Not sure why a guy hurtling towards middle-age insists on dressing like an 18 year old. There's definitely slim-fit chino shorts and flip-flops in that wardrobe.
adrian522 wrote: » Given that your opinion is that Hogan made a deliberate attempt to break Barrett's jaw I don't think there is any reason to take anything you say seriously. I thought Richie's interview was excellent, it would have been very easy for him to hide away and not say anything. I thought it was very honest and hopefully he'll be back next season and hopefully he gets his injuries sorted out as he has had a terrible run with injuries.
Gentleman Off The Pitch wrote: » For a man that has posted the same image 400 times in recent days, it's baffling that you cannot see that he struck him with his upper arm, which is to be expected when you line a player up for a shoulder and he steps in side and you reach out to make contact. Richie admitted he struck Barrett but not with his elbow. Are you still asserting he did?
smelly sock wrote: » What does Cyril Farrell be talking about?
Mantis Toboggan wrote: » Can ye not just accept it and move on? No need to be so bitter about it. Christ ye've won 36 of them. Blaming the ref will get ye nowhere.
Treble double wrote: » The way hurling has been reffed for the last 10 years plus has led to the uproar over this sending off. Reffs have been encouraged to let matches flow for the sake of better spectacles. This has meant alot of rules not being enforced eg. steps, handpass, general pulling and dragging etc. Players, coaches and spectators have become used to this culture. That's why I have sympathy for Hogan, he has played all his career with this culture and 2 years ago wouldn't have been booked for that challenge if Barrett had got up straight away. I think hurling is coming to a crossroads, reffs can't be expected to pick and choose what rules they enforce for the sake of the spectacle. All rules will have to be enforced for the sake of consistency and with top inter county players calling for a VAR type system it will make for a very stop start poor spectacle. Hurling as a spectacle is brilliant when it is off the cuff, mile a minute, non stop. If it is reduced to a stop start free taking competition it will die. Interesting times ahead for the law makers.
Snow Garden wrote: » KK folks and Hogan are making complete idiots of themselves now. Jaysus. Sore sore losers. Embarrassed for them. No way he has a 36 inch hurl either!
mosesgun wrote: » Don't agree with your central point at all but the I laughed when he said a 36" hurl. 33" max I reckon
On 'Off The Ball' last night Richie Hogan was adamant his challenge was "honest" and that in no way could it be described as an elbow to the head. But unlike the black card in football, there is no distinction between accidental and deliberate. If it's high and hard, it's in red card zone. Now that it has been applied on the highest stage, it sets the standard for other referees to follow. Thus, the challenge by Bill Cooper that, ironically, caught Hogan in the All-Ireland quarter-final and left Cooper worse off, might be viewed differently now. Owens himself was referee that day. So, too, will a couple of incidents during the Munster hurling final when Tipp's John O'Dwyer caught Diarmaid Byrnes with a hurl to the head and Ronan Maher met Peter Casey with a shoulder to the head that was late. If the common consensus was that Hogan's red card was merited and was in line with what is expected from these type of challenges, then it sets a different landscape for the game in the years to come.
adrian522 wrote: » I think this is a good point. I think it was in the independent today someone was saying that James Owens has set a high standard for punishing these fouls with red cards. Already this season we saw similar fouls go unpunished or get yellow cards (At least 4 that I can think of off the top of my head) Are we going to see a spate of straight red cards next season? Interesting times ahead next year I would say.
In the following components of this Rule on Aggressive Fouls, there are references made to specific infractions being penalised by Caution or Ordering Off – signalled by Cards of a stated colour. A Card shall be issued only where the Infraction is deemed by the Referee to have been deliberate and not accidental.