paleoperson wrote: » I certainly am jealous of the attention and fame she has, anyone who has views they would like to promote to the world would be. I'm not jealous of any personal attributes she has. If you think that diminishes the point being here you really don't understand what the word jealous even means. Saying you're "just jealous" is a different thing suggesting that jealousy is the only reason they person is attacked.
Tell me how wrote: » Umm..... Are you jealous? Would make a lot of sense for a lot of posters here.
Tell me how wrote: » Point is, she's doing what she can. Point is, if everyone does the same, situation would be different. How is it you can't understand that? Dig beneath the surface? You think she's pretending the boat appeared out if thin air?
gozunda wrote: » Yeah true what's the feking point claiming it's a carbon zero journey when its far from anything like that. That's the problem with much of the creative accounting done about the alternatives and greta refusal to fly etc. Dig beneath the surface and a lot of it is hogwash.
joe40 wrote: » That is simply a laughable bit of whatabotery. Everytime she breathes she is producing carbon dioxide.
Some people need to get a life and stop worrying about what some 16 year old is doing.
joe40 wrote: » That is simply a laughable bit of whatabotery. Everytime she breathes she is producing carbon dioxide. That will probably be used in some stupid meme to highlight her hypocrisy. Some people need to get a life and stop worrying about what some 16 year old is doing. It's not harming anyone in any way whatsoever.
gozunda wrote: » I do hope greta at least understands that the $10 million dollar sailboat - the hull of which is made from Carbon Fibre which is, in turn, made from petroleum is not recyclable. Added to the fact that the some crew of the boat will have to fly back. Crazy stunt at best ... This kind of thing is now popping up on Twitter...
Tell me how wrote: » Not everyone is as thick as Donald Trump. Sun all the time isn't a good thing.
Tell me how wrote: » Applications increased for environmental courses this year. That's a positive...
the phrase "correlation does not imply causation" refers to the inability to legitimately deduce a cause-and-effectrelationship between two variables solely on the basis of an observed association or correlation between them
In this week’s CAO offers, UCD’s economics and finance course emerged as the most oversubscribed in the country, with an entry requirement of 601 points.
Hal3000 wrote: » I said I’d rather it was him. I didn't say that was the reason for the increase.
Tell me how wrote: » Really, that student who was in the news for the first time about two weeks ago?
Tell me how wrote: » What's the point? ...
Hal3000 wrote: » I’d rather put the increase in applications down to the Irish teen who is trying to find a solution to remove plastics from the ocean.
Tell me how wrote: » Applications increased for environmental courses this year. That's a positive. Nobody thinks she's going to save the planet, it indicates the level of knowledge on the topic that you would even hint that people expect that.
quokula wrote: » They'll get plenty of sun then though.
Hal3000 wrote: » Fair play to them for protesting but you do realize that most will do absolutely nothing after these protests end right ? Protests are known to achieve very little unless they’re backed up by strong educated individuals who form a group to act after the protests end just like say the Repeal campaign. She is an environmental influencer at the moment and I’m sorry to tell you she won’t be saving the planet anytime soon. She should use her platforms to show people how they can make changes to their daily lives. Not pictures of herself on boats or sitting outside parliaments...
Tell me how wrote: » They'd probably prefer that rather than the thought of them or their descendants living in a desolate wasteland with a significantly depleted ecosystem.
SafeSurfer wrote: » They may feel differently when the extra taxes are coming from their pay packets. When the possibility of 2 weeks in the sun and a week on the slopes is the preserve of the very wealthy unlike today.
Tell me how wrote: » You genuinely can't see any way their awareness would impact their personal behavior, their career choice, or what they'll expect from politicians in relation to this in just a couple of years when they start to vote?
Hal3000 wrote: » They protested ? How much waste was generated ? What action was achieved by these protests ? Awareness isn’t worth sh*t anymore.
Tell me how wrote: » 1.4M students joined her on a dedicated strike last March. That's quite a lot of awareness raised. (If you're going to say everyone knows about climate change anyway, you'll find plenty people on this thread who say they don't think it's happening)
Hal3000 wrote: » For the media to latch on to someone who’s actually done years of environmental activism or say a scientist who can speak with academic credibility? You’re right she’s only 16 so I don’t agree she should be a spokesperson for climate change and tell me how to live my life. In my book such a title is earned by endless / selfless years of dedication to a cause and not by being young or by how many followers you have on social media. Plus all this so called high level activism, you think Governments really care about her ? Oh no here comes Greta, better change those policies lads. I’m sure Trump is shi**ing it. She’d be much better off making a difference on the ground or in her community with actual tangible results. Mobilizing communities and direction action is how you make a difference. Imagine 8 billion people did that ? Also constant posting on Insta sailing and sailing a boat to America ? Sorry but I can’t see any tangible improvements to the environment by doing that. Social media is hollow, people comment, share, like and do fu*k all so I don’t actually get what she’s trying to do ?
Tell me how wrote: » She's a vegan, she's trying to minimize her carbon footprint. She's doing as much as any 16 year old could be expected to do. What more do you expect?
MarquisDeSad wrote: » What level of debate. I made it clear I wasn't going to debate you on your 'nwo' nonsense. As I said I'm just disappointed you couldn't even be original with it. Funny, almost comedic but not your own work.
paleoperson wrote: » You'd think they could at least have picked someone who had done something notable. Out of the tens of millions of young people in europe, what about the ones who have won science competitions and broken ground in many different ways. Malwala (whatever her name is) had a freaking bullet shot to her head while she was speaking up for female rights. And everyone was behind her at first. But after a while even she started getting tiresome, to me anyway. It seemed like they were just bringing her on for the sake of it and promote her book. This Greta thing is just dumb.
Hal3000 wrote: » I’m a bit late to this post, but here are my thoughts. There are activists championing causes for years now who get little or no coverage for their efforts. Along comes a young kid screaming at Governments and the media see a much more interesting angle than say the crusty 50 year old environmentalist. That’s why she’s popular, she’s done very little in the way of hard work in activist circles as opposed to someone who has been volunteering for 15 years on these issues. That’s not her fault as she’s young, but in environmental circles she’s still only known as a token activist at this moment. The media will tire of her soon and then we will see the real Greta and if her dedication can continue when she’s not in the limelight or getting huge credit anymore. Remember the activist is not the person who says we should clean the beach, the activist is the person who cleans it.
Hal3000 wrote: » I’m a bit late to this post, but here are my thoughts. There are activists championing causes for years now who get little or no coverage for their efforts. Along comes a young kid screaming at Governments and the media see a much more interesting angle than say the crusty 50 year old environmentalist.