Still Ill wrote: » Ah, lads.. We all knew what we were signing up for. It's a general sports podcast.. Listen to the bits that interest you and if you feel like you're not getting your fiver's worth then maybe have an extra pint every month instead or something.
StockTwat29 wrote: » The way some people are giving out about the GAA shows it's clear that they don't even listen to them and are happy to just disregard them Thought the GAA shows have been good enough this year, not Duignans biggest fan but love the two football lads, Murph is very passionate about it and does add a bit to the discussions (will admit that sometimes he doesn't add much to other discussions and tries to be too funny) One thing that did annoy me a bit was that Mayo seemed to be the main talking point of most shows, yes they usually have the best stories but it gets a bit repetitive
Brock Turnpike wrote: » I'll often ask the bar man in my local for a partial refund if I don't finish my pint. I should only be paying for what I drink.
EltonJohn69 wrote: » Brock Turnpike wrote: » I'll often ask the bar man in my local for a partial refund if I don't finish my pint. I should only be paying for what I drink. I don’t think that’s a correct analogy.... if the bar man serverd your 4/5 of a Guinness pint (football content) along with 1/5 of a cider pint (gaa content).... you would be more then entitled to ask for partial refund or at least a full pint of Guinness
EltonJohn69 wrote: » I don’t think that’s a correct analogy.... if the bar man serverd your 4/5 of a Guinness pint (football content) along with 1/5 of a cider pint (gaa content).... you would be more then entitled to ask for partial refund or at least a full pint of Guinness
hankless wrote: » it's a solid journalistic investment.
MercuryBoy wrote: » hankless wrote: » it's a solid journalistic investment. I always found the "independent journalism" schtick a bit of a spoof, they aren't breaking exclusive stories or anything, it's usually just the lads talking about the events of the weekend (which is grand)
Raisins wrote: » Not true the lads go on about mourinho/ pep etc but they also analyse the games and the tactics in the sport itself. You wouldn’t ever have guys like Johnathan Wilson or Tim Vickery or Michael Cox or Rory Smith as guests if you weren’t interested in discussing that side of the game. How can you argue that Rugby and GAA are more likely than soccer to bore those not interested in those games? People who are not interested in soccer generally despise the wall to wall coverage they don’t love “the gossip or opinionated stuff”. If you’ve decided you’re not interested in a sport you probably won’t enjoy a discussion about it. You’re a soccer fan who wants more soccer chat it’s as simple as that but the lads are running a sports podcast which suits a lot of Irish people that track multiple sports and have a passing interest in others. There’s loads of soccer pods if that’s what you want.
Raisins wrote: » I don’t think it’s really a spoof it’s not about exclusive stories. The lads are free to be as critical as they want to be on any topic and to select any guests they want to have on any topic. The other pods don’t have that luxury. Look at newstalk banning any journalists from the Irish Times. The GAA hour doing all the odds on matches etc is pathetic given the damage gambling does to the GAA. Do you think the GAA hour would have oisin mcconville on? Places like the Irish Times and Guardian are the closest in terms of independence but they will use their own journalists almost all the time. The lads are not bound by any of that which improves the content in a practical way.
MercuryBoy wrote: » Fair enough but they generally talk about the Premiership and I haven't heard them take any extreme/independent viewpoint on much in the last few years, when they initially started the Patreon thing it was pitched as an anti-tote to the world of fake news etc which in retrospect seems a bit OTT, maybe "independent entertainment" would be more appropriate... Still a great listen though...
StockTwat29 wrote: » I think they mean independent as in they are their own bosses, they're not owned by some big company, they don't have sponsors, that sort of stuff
MercuryBoy wrote: » Yeah, and it's definitely better than the likes of the Totally Football Show with the Paddy Power sponsorship...It's just that the content (other than Ken Early) isn't that much different from the other popular football podcasts out there... same guests etc
EltonJohn69 wrote: » If you can prove you haven’t listened to any of the gaa podcasts can you get a partial refund from second captains/patreon ?
dulux99 wrote: » The Peter O'Mahony interview was so bad it was good. I'm glad they were able to laugh about how bad it was!
Utopia Parkway wrote: » I kinda knew it would be bad beforehand as POM is famously taciturn but I started listening anyway. Lasted a few minutes and just fast forwarded through it.
CD-R 80 wrote: » Does anyone think Murph is funny?
corwill wrote: » CD-R 80 wrote: » Does anyone think Murph is funny? Yes, I do.
Obrieski wrote: » Don't see how this is even remotely relevant on a sports podcast? You want comedy go and download a different podcast. I find Murph a valued member of the podcast. Just Ken and Eoin this past week - you'd miss having the 3rd member in there.
Brock Turnpike wrote: » Are you a culchie?