Gachla wrote: » Trying to drag this down a rabbit hole? Anyone come up with a valid reason as to why Dublin have improved standards in football, hurling, underage, club etc all at the same time?
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Sorry but they have won nothing, plain and simple. The point was made that these teams achieve above themselves as a mode of conparison. But they have not won anything. Denmark won a watered down euros in 1992 and it is still talked about. Is that what kerry are supposed to now accept as their lot? Re the critical mass. These things are relative. 100,000 and well organised could probably compete with 6-700,000 not as well organised. But 1.3 million well organised and infinitely more funded is just a bridge too far.
BonnieSituation wrote: » I asked for alternatives because the likes of yourself seem unhappy with the current "system". And then you responded to say that you basically don't want to waste them on us. And then my critical response is met with this crap? Seriously, being so disingenuous is exactly the reason that Dubs can't listen to ye. When the likes of Bruschi can cast a critical eye and engage in debate it makes me wonder if yourself and your ilk are just here for an anti-Dublin moan? So tell me again, what are your solutions? What is it you want?
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Your problem is that you are assuming funding is the MAIN reason for Dublin's success. it is not proper management is. You yourself bring up China - if the funding was the sole reason for success in sports - China would be doing much better in Soccer and win the majority of World titles in snooker (they have yet to win a world snooker title)
gormdubhgorm wrote: » What posters such as yourself fail to acknowledge is the superb management of the team, the superb caliber of players, and the superb management of funds. To imply that funding is the sole/main reason for Dublin's success is insulting in the extreme. But then again it takes the focus away from examination of what other counties did from a position of strength and faded - Kildare - Galway - Meath. Let us not forget Galway have one of the strongest football clubs in the history of the game
blanch152 wrote: » Mayo spend the most of all counties on their senior team. Any funding they get from Croke Park is concentrated into the senior team. It is a very short-sighted approach and will cost them in the next decade.
ToBeFrank123 wrote: » Mayo pay mileage for training. Its a huge county. I'm sure Dublin do too, but for Mayo lads, you could be talking a 40 or 50 mile round trip to training if living in Mayo and a 300 mile one if living in Dublin which many of them do. For Dubs, what would the average round trip distance be for training?
Gachla wrote: » Money has made a huge difference. Here's a quote from a GDO who was invloved from when this all began: "I went back the following year to an U15 development squad. And if you were to compare the quality of player coming through then to the U13s now, the difference is night and day. Kids were coming into us without the basic skills. They were kick-passing a five-yard pass instead of hand-passing it but their instinct was to kick it along the ground. So they obviously hadn’t been exposed to any level of coaching. I look now at U14 football in Dublin and the standard of football in the county is phenomenal. The level of individual skill the players have, the level of coaching teams, it’s incomparable to the late ’90s, early ’00s. And a big reason why is obviously the GDO system going into Dublin." Also, do you have any explanation as to why Dublin increased titles across the board, winning 80 titles since 2005?
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Structure, planning allied to superb players, the funding helped but that is only a nudge. If the players structure and planning are not there it would not have worked. Dublin won thier first u21 title in 2003 against a hung over Tyrone after they won Sam (played in October) Captained by Alan Brogan Also had Paul Griffin, Declan O'Mahoney, Declan Lally, Keaney a lot of the names you will know from 00's football underachievement Dublin were hammered in the 2002 u21 final v Galway Bergin ran the show over in 15 minutes - Barry Cahill was injured I think. So things were bubbling under before 2005 - it is being painted that 2005 was the year dot for Dublin football not true. They were plugging away prior to that with flashes here and there.
jmayo wrote: » Ehh you forgot the prize winner in that Offaly who have totally faded into oblivion in both codes. Dublin used their money wisely, have brought in competent people at many levels and that together with the sleeping giant that was their possible player numbers is what has made them stronger and is making them stronger still. And yes the likes of Gavin leaves nothing to chance, but then again he doesn't need to worry about money like McStay commented about his time in Roscommon. Ehh as far as I know Corofin's coaching ethos has been forward thinking for years working on the development of players at young age. Hence when lads are reaching minor and u21 they are already more rounded skilful players. They don't just work on the age old shyte of just giving the ball to the strong lad at u10 or u12 to barrel up the field and score. And trust me you still see that bloody tactic employed in this day and age in lots of clubs. Sure yer man is going to play county in a few years, but he will still only be able to kick with one foot and the rest of the team will be cr**. Also as someone once remarked Galway isn't referred to as the City/County of the Tribes for no reason so club success does not always translate to county success. Just ask their hurlers. :rolleyes:
Gachla wrote: » The funding started before 2005! You've completely ignored all other areas of Dublin GAA apart from the men's senior footballers, why is that?
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Hmm. Obviously not a fair point. Intercounty managers arent the ones who develop young players. The paid professional coaches are the guys who developed those lads. That is pretty obvious.. If you dont think so then why dont you put forward a motion through your club to give all the money back to the gaa and the irish government? Because keeping the money and then crowing about it not being down to money, doesnt really hold much water...
tikkahunter wrote: » Because they got their act together and set out a plan from grass roots up . I’m involved with my clubs nursery , we have a set of drills and stations that are rotating every 4 weeks . Girls and boys from 5-7 some cases 4 years old learn to kick , hand pass , throw and catch and use a hurl through games that they enjoy - no matches take place just games that bring on their hand to eye co ordination and physical development. So from September through to finishing up in June the majority can can kick with both feet and pass with both hands and that does not cost a penny and it’s the same through all age groups in the club , a plan is set out and it is stuck to and no mentor or coach gets a penny for it . It’s a handy excuse to just say it’s money that has brought success but go down to any Dublin club and watch the dedicated players, mentors and coaches who do it for the love of the game and sacrifice earnings and free time for it and tell them they are only successful through funding - it’s a bollox excuse for their own counties lack of groundwork.
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Well you are the one going on about 80 titles since 2005 = result of funding. What about an exceptional player from an exceptional gaelic football family like Bernard Brogan? It was funding that made him was it? Not his family environment and inherited skill? Conal Keaney still on the go probably one of the most underrated dual stars in the GAA - you can't train what he has got pure heart. Or did he buy heart and desire?
Gachla wrote: » We're back to this absolute disgusting allegation that every counties volunteers are lazy and useless apart from Dublin's. That's bollox. Every club and county have hard working and dedicated volunteers. Thousands across the country give up their free time. Dublin GAA appointed highly paid officials to oversee a plan that was implemented by professional coaches to get their act together. It has cost millions. GDO's who have been involved from the start say that the difference between the standard then and after is staggering, they say that the professional coaches have played a huge part. Like I asked another poster, are you calling them liars?
yermanhimself wrote: » The current players were coached by Dessie Farrell, Ciaran Whelan, Paddy Christie, Stephen Shaughnessy and Noel Caffrey as well as some great coaches in the various clubs when they were underage and in various development squads. The GAA recognised that since the demise of Christian Brothers and mainly female teachers in primary schools coaching GAA were non existent and hence created the position of GPO which is administered through the clubs in every county. Since Dublin have more clubs than any other county it is natural that they will have more coaches but it is the clubs that drive the deevolement
Gachla wrote: » Not one Dub has even attempted to come up with a theory as to why Dublin have had a staggering increase in titles across the board. Not one. Instead, they just repeat the same debunked rubbish!
gormdubhgorm wrote: » Where in the name of Jayus are you getting your stagegring increase from?
BonnieSituation wrote: » What debunked rubbish is that? What are your solutions?
ClanofLams wrote: » No-one has said anything bad about Dublin volunteers. Where did all these volunteers learn how to coach effectively? Did getting their act together and working from the grass roots up magically happen after someone decided it was a good idea or was there huge funding there to support it? Presumably that’s what 18 million was spent on and fair play to Dublin they spent it wisely. Other counties would just like some fairness in the distribution of funding.
Gachla wrote: » Everything from it's a one off group of players to your volunteers are lazy. All has been debunked.
BonnieSituation wrote: » Where has it been debunked? What are your solutions?
Gachla wrote: » All over this thread. Any explanation for the staggering increase in standards across most grades and codes in Dublin GAA at the same time as the staggering increase in finance?
BonnieSituation wrote: » I can't see them. You're saying they're there. Where? What are your solutions?
BonnieSituation wrote: » So the other counties can buy wasteland in Athenry and spend it on credit cards or overspend on badly project managed stadia?
Gachla wrote: » Use the search function. 80 titles since 2005, 20 titles in the 14 years before, any explanation?