Swashbuckler wrote: » I'd love some thoughts from people on their own approaches to base building, phasing training etc. But I expect most of ye are all feckin marathon runners in which case it's a very different ballgame. Any thoughts of marathon training for me have gone out the window at least for the first half of next year anyway. If I was to ask specific questions to the gang on here it would be; Is there such a thing as too long base building?
Mellow Yellow 26.2 wrote: » As a non marathon runner......
healy1835 wrote: » What's with the username S?
Mellow Yellow 26.2 wrote: As a non marathon runner who picked up an injury in February, it took me six months of building to feel I could race again. For you I guess it will depend on your targets, goals, and what distance you want to focus on. I would say once you get over this injury and start to build the mileage again you'll want to start testing yourself a bit more adding tempo stuff, maybe short hills etc. My advice would be use the next few months to get in the habit of supplementary running specific work, but never let it be too taxing that if will affect your running. Don't ramp it up too much, not just the mileage but more importantly the training load. Also get in the habit of strides just to keep a good turnover. Obviously the longer you're out the longer your base building period will be...
Swashbuckler wrote: » Have kinda steered clear of strava a bit but checking every now and then incase anyone was wondering why I wasn't giving kudos. Lol.
Swashbuckler wrote: » Our little girl got a little brother tonight. All are doing well
AuldManKing wrote: » A book has been opened on the name of the ickle boy; No - its not Alan.
OOnegative wrote: » Don’t call him Michael anyway........