_blaaz wrote: » It literally is,and more i read of your posts the more im.near certain yous arent what.you claim to be....i know quite a wide section of unionist commuinty and none have the contempt of me to try and tell outright utter lies to me like the rest of this post Bonfires are light well before 12 o clock....yous are a joke,cant even lie realisitically.......like i said i know a wide variety from ex soldiers to former paramilitaries and fair bit inbetween of unionists,from blackest of prods to complete athesits....one thing shines through is none would put up with bull/chancers representing them that yous are pedeling here
Imreoir2 wrote: » I can fully support the idea of there been a difference between Civic Unionsm celebrating the 12th in a peaceful way and the hooliganism that burns flags. I have no problem with McDonalds having an orange milkshake for the 12th, for example, like they have a green milkshake down here for Paddy's day. Hopefully you can see the difference between Irish speakers wanting their language to be part of a shared society and a scumbag shouting "Tiocfaidh ár lá".
FrancieBrady wrote: » The language of the island telling you themuns are in charge would not be a legitimate cause for complaint. You would need counselling help for that.
downcow wrote: » So do you think Irish should be kept out of the workplace also? Or is this another case of , if it offends my ones
Junkyard Tom wrote: » Speaking it? Or Irish language signage?
downcow wrote: » Signage
FrancieBrady wrote: » On what grounds?
downcow wrote: » You want the context? This was the statement by a poster “Fair play to the guy. There are very strict employment laws in the north that were designed to help dismantle the sectarianism ingrained in the environment unionists created for themselves. The workplace must remain a neutral place free from tribal symbolism and rightly so. I'd imagine some 'patriot' decided to hang portraits of Mrs Windsor around the gaff to 'piss on the lampposts', as it were. No more of that nonsense downcow. Those days are over.” And this was my question “So do you think Irish should be kept out of the workplace also? Or is this another case of , if it offends my ones”
FrancieBrady wrote: » So on what grounds is it or could it be 'offensive' in a workplace?
janfebmar wrote: » In N. Ireland the Irish language is associated with Republicanism. As another poster said, if he went in to McDonalds and it had "Fir" on the toilet door, he would go to KFC or Burgerking next time.
Imreoir2 wrote: » Some unionists want to politicise the language because they see it as a threat.
janfebmar wrote: » The Irish language was politicised already because of those who chose to use it and why. Many saw those who use it as a threat. A bit like how the Irish tricolour was hijacked by the Republican community and used to drape the coffins of pira members. Some people associated the Irish tricolour then as a threat because it was used by members who threatened their community.
Imreoir2 wrote: » The Eglish language was used by the soldiers who murdered people on bloody sunday, is English a threat to nationalists as a result?
janfebmar wrote: » The Irish language was politicised already because of those who chose to use it and why. Many saw those who use it as a threat.
janfebmar wrote: » Everyone uses English. It is not associated mostly with a particular community or political outlook.
janfebmar wrote: » A few token words now and again, fine. I use a cupla focail myself sometimes. A different matter to wanting Irish language signs up in the UK where everyone understands English. Maybe you should advocate Boards.ie to make its home page headings bi-lingual?
Imreoir2 wrote: » Boards is a private company and can do what it wants, NI is not.
janfebmar wrote: » It would not be practical or cost effective or look right to have the headings on boards.ie bi-lingual. Same as government signs. The only people who promote Irish in N. Ireland do so for political reasons. A generation or 2 ago in N. Ireland Irish was virtually never heard of at all.
Imreoir2 wrote: » Bilingual/multilingual signage is the norm in most of the world
FrancieBrady wrote: » According to the 2001 Census, 658,103 people (36% of the population) had "some knowledge of Irish" – of whom 559,670 were Catholics and 48,509 were Protestants and "other Christians".
janfebmar wrote: » "Tiocadh ar La" that is some knowledge of Irish. Means nothing.
janfebmar wrote: » No it is not. Everyone in the UK understands English, no need for the extra expense of bi-lingual signage. Maybe you should ask Ryanair to make all its info and signage bi-linguial in Irish and English?
Imreoir2 wrote: » . There is need to provide bilingual sigange.