One eyed Jack wrote: » Feckall to do with what “celibate” men were telling anyone at the time HD, sure 10 years earlier we’d already had a referendum to remove the recognition of the special position of the Catholic Church - passed by an overwhelming majority of 84% of the electorate.
No, it had everything to do with people having notions about class, and their position in their communities and in society.
See the recent example that was made of Margaret Cash in the media and on here, and then come back and you can feel free to lecture me as though Irish society was somehow different 35 years ago from what it is today - people still generally condemn people they regard as being irresponsible.
What’s more unbelievable are your hyperbolic efforts to suggest anyone was accusing Garda Moynihan of a criminal act, when nobody had done any such thing.
Of course she felt she was being treated like a criminal because she was being disciplined by her employer for a breach of the regulations which she was aware of when she joined AGS.
She wasn’t treated any differently than other member of the force who was in similar circumstances. She wanted to be treated differently. That’s exactly where the problem was - she wasn’t going to be treated differently.
The other Garda who was involved was treated differently because his were a completely different and separate set of circumstances.
That aside, I can understand from his point of view why he wouldn’t stick around after she turned him down. What was he supposed to stick around for?
We don’t know whether or not he would have supported his child because she decided to give the child up for adoption.
Certainly one thing we do know is that both of them chose to be irresponsible on the night the child was conceived when in spite of the fact that they were using contraception, on the occasion in question when the child was conceived - they both chose not to use contraception.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » You either completely misunderstand, or misrepresent, the purpose of that referendum. It was intended (in the context of the s**t hitting the fan in Northern Ireland) to take a sectarian measure out of the constitution - and the RC church did not oppose this - this is all in the article you linked to, did you actually read it? It was NOTHING to do with reducing the power and influence of the RCC over our institutions and society as a whole - and it didn't. Yeah right. Why all the focus on sexual morality, and specifically those who did not adhere to the catholic version of sexual morality? There's a big difference between being irresponsible, and being a recidivist criminal with dozens of convictions for theft. Do you know what inverted commas are for? :rolleyes: I said "crime". As far as AGS were concerned, she was treated like a criminal. I'm sure her ex-partner was aware of those regulations, too. Very different outcome for him, does having a penis justify that? And as has been pointed out multiple times, "its the rules" does not justify immoral actions. What happened to her was immoral. Bull. Other unmarried female gardai at that time were allowed to keep their jobs while raising their child. Read the Irish Times article quoted at the start of this thread. Yes, they both created a child but he didn't give birth to it, so slap on the wrist and he was grand He had a moral and financial responsibility to his child. Did you listen to the interview? She said this was AFTER he said he wanted nothing to do with either her or the child. You are making a very very big assumption, there.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » You either completely misunderstand, or misrepresent, the purpose of that referendum. It was intended (in the context of the s**t hitting the fan in Northern Ireland) to take a sectarian measure out of the constitution - and the RC church did not oppose this - this is all in the article you linked to, did you actually read it? It was NOTHING to do with reducing the power and influence of the RCC over our institutions and society as a whole - and it didn't.
Yeah right. Why all the focus on sexual morality, and specifically those who did not adhere to the catholic version of sexual morality?
There's a big difference between being irresponsible, and being a recidivist criminal with dozens of convictions for theft. Do you know what inverted commas are for? :rolleyes: I said "crime". As far as AGS were concerned, she was treated like a criminal.
I'm sure her ex-partner was aware of those regulations, too. Very different outcome for him, does having a penis justify that? And as has been pointed out multiple times, "its the rules" does not justify immoral actions. What happened to her was immoral.
Bull. Other unmarried female gardai at that time were allowed to keep their jobs while raising their child. Read the Irish Times article quoted at the start of this thread.
Yes, they both created a child but he didn't give birth to it, so slap on the wrist and he was grand
He had a moral and financial responsibility to his child.
Did you listen to the interview? She said this was AFTER he said he wanted nothing to do with either her or the child.
You are making a very very big assumption, there.
Deleted User wrote: » The father wanted to marry her and accept his responsibility. She denied him the chance to do so. Same as she denied him any part in his sons life. Her choice. Hers alone.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » "Marry me or else you'll never get a cent off me and I'll turn my back on my own child" What a bully.She and the child were better off without him.
One eyed Jack wrote: » You’re missing my point. Your claim was that most people in Irish society at the time did what they were told by “celibate” men, and the result of the referendum demonstrated that no, they didn’t.
People cherrypicked what suited their own interests and individual morality, and chose to dress it up in religious values when it suited them.
Because of people’s cultural values, that’s why all the focus on sexual morality. The fact that people’s morals coincided with the Catholic version of sexual morality was no small coincidence - it’s how the Catholic Church gained the power it had in Irish society.
People want to signal to their peers just how virtuous they are, and it can’t have escaped your attention the sense of satisfaction some people get when closet homosexuals who speak out against homosexuality are outed. Leo played a blinder in that regard and played the media and the people of Ireland perfectly to his considerable advantage.
Yeah, there is a big difference, the difference being that Garda Moynihan wasn’t treated like a criminal.
She discovered that she wasn’t above everyone else in AGS and thinking that the rules that applied to everyone on the force, didn’t apply to her.
By your rationale, Paddy Jackson and co. were treated like criminals by the IRFU because they violated the terms and conditions of their employment.
We don’t have him coming out now in the public eye giving a contradictory account of her experiences from the testimony she gave in her disciplinary hearing.
It’s just silly to argue that he was treated differently because he had a penis.
We do know how Garda Moynihan behaved when presented with the charges against her, and she didn’t help herself IMO.
And before you suggest that I must never have done anything wrong to deserve a disciplinary hearing, I have, I
He was willing to take on that responsibility, but she turned him down.
She’s a victim of herself.
It’s her own victim mentality
She too had a moral and financial responsibility to her child, but she chose her career over her child, and placed her child for adoption, when as you pointed out yourself earlier - other women took responsibility for their children, and they maintained their careers too.
Question - How did this pregnancy occur if contraceptives were used? Answer - He did not use them the night I got pregnant Question - Was that at your suggestion? Answer - No
One eyed Jack wrote: » Can’t seem to make up your mind whether she would have been a victim if she’d chosen to marry him, or was she a victim because she didn’t. Like Ms. Moynihan eventually realised - you can’t have it both ways!
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Anyone is better off without that type of bullying, coercive behaviour in their lives.
His moral obligation to support his child and his child's mother did not end when she declined to marry him.
Do you think every separated man in Ireland should have the right to stop supporting their kids financially, because the kids' mother isn't riding them any more?
One eyed Jack wrote: » on what basis are you willing to believe she’s telling the truth now and she wasn’t at the time of her sworn testimony? On at least one occasion she isn’t telling the truth.
Nope, and he didn’t have that right either, even if he thought he had or said that he wasn’t going to support his child financially. He still didn’t owe Ms. Moynihan anything as they were only having casual sex. It wasn’t as though they were married, so they were never separated either, so he was under no legal or moral obligation to support her in any way whatsoever as they weren’t in any kind of a committed relationship.
Mrsmum wrote: » For Majella to say she and the child got no support from him seems nonsensical to me as he would have married her. Marriage = 100% support.
Maybe he was hurt or even embarrassed she rejected him.
Or maybe he didn't want his child adopted
Also I'm not sure she is doing her son any great favour speaking negatively of the man who is his biological father, the man who Majella and not he decided wasn't to be in his life. It doesn't help a reunion should her son want one with his father.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » The RCC did not oppose that referendum, so your attempt to spin it as some sort of rejection of the RCC fails miserably.
Sure, they do, but a lot more people back then were actually religious (as opposed to just ticking the catholic box) and actually listened when the man in black spoke out on sexual morality.
Right, society wasn't the way it was because of the church, it was all a coincidence? This is getting more ridiculous by the second.
Wtf are you on about? Are you saying Leo should have stayed in the closet? Most people are now mature enough to accept that a person's private life is their own business.
She was charged with an offence. It is not the criminal law but it sure sounds similar, hence treated LIKE a criminal, not AS a criminal. Why did they do this? She was an excellent garda who had glowing reports from her superiors but some creeping jesus type decided to make an example out of her.
Except the rules weren't applied to everyone else.
Were they told that they were being disciplined, or being charged?
What are you claiming is contradictory?
They were both involved in the same act but the outcomes were very different. Why was she threatened with dismissal instead of just a fine?
I am sensing a pattern here :rolleyes: What exactly are you claiming was wrong with the way she "behaved" when presented with the charges?
She turned down marriage, he then refused to provide any support whatsoever for his child or the mother of his child. What kind of moral degenerate puts T&Cs on whether he will support his child? That he had to get his jollies or else not a cent?
There really is a pattern in your posts. Whatever a woman does she is always in the wrong. You should just cut and paste "the brazen huzzy should've kept her knees together, she deserved everything she got" into every post, would save you and us a lot of time. ...Amateur psychoanalysis on someone you've never met, wow :rolleyes:
She was in an impossible position between her father providing no support to her, her ex-partner providing no support to her, and her employer providing no support to her, and worse putting pressure on her. She said in the RTE interview that she was in no fit mental state to make such a decision when signing the final adoption papers, she had no real choice.
So he ran out of rubbers but wanted to get his jollies anyway.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Support with some heavy strings attached. In 80s Ireland that meant "conjugal rights" (i.e. husband's legal right to rape) and marriage was until death, no matter what. Probably, but his immature reaction was to cut off any support for his own child. Totally immature and irresponsible. Well you'd think then he'd be offering every possible financial and other support (with NO strings attached) to ensure she would have a real choice of bringing up the child herself. No, she decided not to marry him. That didn't give him the right to tell her and his child to f**k off because of his poor hurt feelings.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » What are you claiming here exactly? 2nd time of asking.
You could not be more wrong. If you father a child you have a moral and legal obligation to support it. "Just casual sex" - so our hero here gets to walk away and she's left with the consequences :rolleyes: Do you have any sympathy for women in crisis pregnancy at all? You didn't show much in the 8th threads, but your posts on this thread are descending to a new low.
Mrsmum wrote: » Polite society did not agree to women having babies out of wedlock and by choice bringing them up alone.
One eyed Jack wrote: » It’s written there in the post - she isn’t being truthful on at least one occasion, which presents a credibility issue.
What am I wrong about? I said he had no legal or moral obligation towards her, Majella Moynihan.
Morally in that scenario then, he was only responsible for the child, a moral and legal responsibility he was relieved of when Ms. Moynihan chose to place their child for adoption. What was he supposed to do? Stick around like an emotional support animal at her beck and call? That would have been emotional abuse.
Do I have any sympathy for women experiencing a crisis pregnancy? Of course I do. I have every sympathy for women experiencing crisis pregnancy. I just don’t share your opinions is all.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » As if, when she was desperately trying to keep her job, she'd take on the entire Garda hierarchy by telling the truth about senior officers harassing and pressuring her. We've seen what that leads to, even in much more recent years. I mean, really... All she wanted was for it to be over with and to be let get on with her job.
He had an obligation to provide her with child support but instead he said she'd get nothing off him.
Oh ffs. If he was any sort of a man he would have made it clear he was not going to shirk his financial responsibility to the child he fathered. If he had done so, and if her employer had been in any way supportive instead of aggressively hostile, she might have decided to keep the child.
Not really, when you said it was ok to punish her because she gave birth.
marieholmfan wrote: » Where were RTE in 1984? This was 35 years ago. It's a personal tragedy but it isn't news.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » so you keep saying.
1641 wrote: » I'm not sure what the big argument is about here. Next to nobody looking back now would think that this woman was treated well or fairly. But that is by contemporary standards.
One eyed Jack wrote: » Y’know I get that she wanted to keep her job, I really do, and I can understand that she felt under pressure from all sides and felt she had to say whatever she had to say to keep her job in spite of what she felt was the endless harassment of actually being held accountable for her actions. I get that she made a mistake
I don’t agree with you that she wanted it all to be over, that could easily have been done.
I can understand why she wasn’t willing to let it go though, because she felt she had been wronged by everyone and she was a victim. That’s why she was so easily convinced to go public again
because this time she was convinced that she’d take down everyone who had wronged her and expose them all and get the justice she felt she deserved. That’s why she says she feels vindicated now and yet even still she is considering legal action instead of just letting it go and getting on with her life in private.
It could be over in the morning if she wanted, but she doesn’t appear to want that because for her, she still has so much left unresolved. I don’t think she’s going to get the outcome she wants.
No, he didn’t have any obligation to provide child support for a child that doesn’t exist remember? She was pregnant at the time, and there was no legal or moral obligation obligation upon him to provide for the foetus.
I’ve already explained that I’d rather hear it coming from him that he said it, as opposed to coming from Ms. Moynihan claiming that he said it.
I’d still provide for my child though.
I never said anything even remotely like that? In spite of Ms. Moynihan’s claims that she was being punished for giving birth, she was actually being disciplined for a breach of her employers regulations. It appears she enjoyed the status of being a member of AGS, but didn’t want any of the responsibility that came with being a member of AGS. That’s nothing like even suggesting that it would be ok to punish a woman for giving birth, that’s just stupid now, honestly! You’re clutching at straws coming out with that sh.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » Nope She was treated badly even by the standards of the time. Single motherhood was not a new thing in 1984. Other unmarried gardai at that time were allowed keep their jobs after giving birth, some were allowed move closer to home, work regular office hours, etc. in order to make life easier for them. Not her. She was pressurised for months by senior officers to sign the final adoption papers. Then, after she did what they wanted her to do, they still decided to discipline her and came very close to sacking her. Then continued to treat her badly afterwards.
Deleted User wrote: » I think that she was paranoid and felt guilty. At times she claimed to have no contact with her family, yet she lived with her father after leaving the children’s home and her boyfriend though enough of their relationship to actually ask her fathers permission to ask her to marry him. Her mental health was fragile and in light of this she’d be well advised to take a step back.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » The profession of psychoanalysis should be very concerned about the number of amateur practitioners on Boards, they'll be put out of business before long at this rate. You quoted my post, but didn't address a single point of my post.
Deleted User wrote: » Your posts go on and on about the poor abused bangarda. Despite all the evidence to the contrary, you persist in denying that the baby’s father offered to marry her and take responsibility for their child. She chose adoption and is blaming the Garda bigwigs for her decision. She’s not the first to regret a decision taken in her younger days. Time to move on and stop making a fool of herself. Learn from mistakes. Not dwell on them.