Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » They are still collectively called junkies, imo all users of illegal drugs are junkies. I get it, you don't like me using that word because you probably do/have smoked some yourself and believe that because you use at recreational level it makes you better than the poor saps who are off their faces everyday around the city from either heroin or prescription pills.
suicide_circus wrote: » if cannabis were legalised would users still be junkies? or is it the illegality that makes them junkies? are weed smokers in Colorado junkies?
all users of illegal drugs are junkies.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » What part of this did you not get?
Kivaro wrote: » Is the guy smoking a joint outside the courthouse? Albeit an amusing story, it highlights issues that we have in the Irish legal system. I presume that we (tax payers) are paying for his defence solicitor Anne Fitzgibbon. She said that the Malawian was suitable for community service, however the "only problem" to that was the issuing of an order for him to leave Ireland by June 22 or present for deportation on June 26. She is (almost) suggesting that we should bypass the deportation order so that he can serve community service in Ireland. Another issue that I have with Ms Fitzgibbon is that she explained to the court that Liwembe had been concerned that the cannabis he had bought "could be detrimental to other people's health". Let me ask you; do you think that the Malawian thought up of this excuse by himself, or did she come up with this story and encouraged him to lie about the true nature of his visit to the Garda station (i.e. he thought he got ripped off on the purchase of his drugs)? If she concocted this story, then is she herself breaking the law? He also has history of trespassing on private property, so why is he still in the country? Oh yeah, his solicitor said that he "might" appeal deportation, as he now wants to stay in Ireland. This case is a prime example of a dysfunctional asylum/deportation system and the corresponding financial benefits that the malfunctioning system brings to the legal profession in Ireland.
suicide_circus wrote: » nail on head. this is an attempt to delay his deportation, nothing else.
Ulysses Gaze wrote: » Sure why would we deport him? It's guys like this that we need to pay our pensions in the future.... So I've been told....
Bobby Baccala wrote: » Can you not just accept that you've been misusing the word junkie? Why not go full soccer mom and just call them all druggies?
someone who cannot stop taking illegal drugs someone who wants to have or do something all the time:
KikiLaRue wrote: » Prescription drugs are legal, so according to you someone who is off their heads on prescription pills is not actually a junkie. You’re using the word wrong.
You can have your own opinion on what the word means, but you’re still wrong. I can choose to believe that if I only eat fish I’m a vegetarian but I’d be wrong. I can choose to say it’s a bright sunny day out when it’s pissing down. Say whatever you want, just know that by refusing to admit you misunderstood how that word is used, you look increasingly silly.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » I feel the same way about alcohol. Have a few pints at the weekend? Grand so. Have a few pints or a bottle of wine every night? Imo you're an alcoholic.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » all users of illegal drugs are junkies.
[Deleted User] wrote: » So which is it? You're contradicting yourself all over the shop here. It's either everyone, or only "People who cannot stop taking illegal drugs"?
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » I'm not misusing the word
Rennaws wrote: » You are. Much as in the same way people without any experience sometimes call cannabis “gear”. It’s not. Gear is heroin. You’re perfectly entitled to label people who consume marajuana as “junkies” if you wish but it’s not the correct use of the word no matter how much you claim it to be. It’s just a poorly disguised attempt at denigrating anyone who enjoys a toke but given that it will be decriminalized at some point in the not too distant future, your arguments are all a bit moot.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » How is it a contradiction?
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » I'll go with the dictionaries description of the word over some random person on here. You may not like the description but that doesnt mean it's wrong.
[Deleted User] wrote: » You said "all users" of a drug are junkies, then linked to a definition which stated "people who cannot stop". So is it everyone, or just those with a habit?
Similarly, if you go out for a few pints of a weekend you're a dipso, going by your first definition.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » You're entitled to your opinion, I'm entitled to mine. In my opinion he is a junkie.
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Wrong! I said Again wrong! Couple of pints at the weekend is fine Pints/wine every night is imo an alcoholic.
suicide_circus wrote: » the dictionary definition of junkie is a drug ADDICT. You call all users junkies wether addicted or not so youre not sticking to the dictionary definition.
person with a compulsive habit or obsessive dependency on something.
someone who cannot stop taking illegal drugs someone who wants to have or do something all the time
Timberrrrrrrr wrote: » Couple of pints at the weekend is fine Pints/wine every night is imo an alcoholic.