Walter Bishop wrote: » Home of some of the greatest acting ever: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=d4sco7g51Zo
branie2 wrote: » Dermot Morgan played a host in the film who introduced a stripper act.
RustyNut wrote: » Life before Mobile phones, feckin bliss.
Hamsterchops wrote: » Drab, dreary, backwards, isolated, mono cultural, Priest ridden, blinkered, intolerant, poor, inward looking and depressing.... It was like another world back then in the70s & early 80s, then something happened, and the green shoots of "catch-up" were sown, and Ireland gradually began to pull itself out of the grave depression that it seemed to wallow in for so long post Independence. Very hard (impossible) for young people to know how black & white the place was back then. London was a great escape for many of us at the time. Just remembered the 1st British shop (BHS) to arrive in Dublin on O'Connell Street early 80s, only to be picketed by Sinn Fein " No British shops here" their placards proclaimed
SirGerryAdams wrote: » Smart phones really drive me crazy. I'm just so sick of going anywhere and seeing people stuck looking into their phones. Go to a restaurant, standing at a bus stop, even at home with my housemate watching tv.
Seanachai wrote: » I'm going to see if I can download it this weekend and watch it with the brother, should be a bit of craic.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » I'm pretty BHS opened in the late 70's. I remember getting a pair of runners from there at the same time my oldest sister got married.
topper75 wrote: » I An Irish CB ran the rate for the punt. It was a currency/rate for OUR economy, not for a depressed German banking sector or a roaring Parisian property market. It was ours. By us, for us. And our politicians gave that away without ever asking us.
cgcsb wrote: » Was it not pegged to the value of sterling until the 90s?
Ush1 wrote: » White dog sh*te and chewing gum flattened all over the paths.
cgcsb wrote: » white dog ****e?
ohnonotgmail wrote: » It certainly was. I believe it was caused by the content of dogfood back then. it has a lot more bone in it that cause the ****e to turn white.
Seanachai wrote: » I was only a kid for most of it, I wasn't really exposed to a lot of the misery. I have a memory of people being less busy and burdened, I really liked the 90's. I don't like a lot of the legacy from the boom.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » You dont really see either of those any more.
ThomasFlynn wrote: » I don't think a lot of people in Ireland personally have found memories of the 90s. It was considered a miserable decade for the vast majority.
farmchoice wrote: » na the 90's was a great decade it kicked off with italia 90 which is hard to describe if you didn't live through it or were too young but it was like a national rebirth or something.
Seanachai wrote: » You don't live on the North-side do you? My neighbourhood and the ones adjacent to it are literally covered in a mottled blanket of dogs**t. I've seen tourists recoil at the sight of it, it's gotten that bad.
ThomasFlynn wrote: » How was Euro 88 viewed? Fewer teams obviously back then but it was Irelands first ever tournament, I think they had some near misses in the early 80s from qualifying for others.