healy1835 wrote: » Was sending an outline of my training for DCM last year to a mate, said I'd post it here. Some of it may be of use to someone ran 2:58, but was definitely in faster shape.
Tigerandahalf wrote: » Out of interest have many people gone beyond 20 miles in their lsr and how many of them would be above 17 miles in the marathon block. If you are doing a mid week long run of 10 miles, is 20 miles as far as you would need to go at the weekend? Thanks
shotgunmcos wrote: » I got 2:58:50 off 2x 16m and 2x18m and off 80-90k weeks (inc 10m per week of MP running). But I was all out going over the line. It was a perfect day Healy did 110-130k weeks and a hatful of 20+m and got 2:58 but more within himself. It was a nice but roasting day and if you went into his log he was killing his interval sessions.
Murph_D wrote: » And you seemed to have more on the day, off less intense but maybe a little bit more specific training. J’s schedule had a 19-miler in week one and a 20 in week 4 - I just don’t understand that, regardless of the intensity of those early LRs.
shotgunmcos wrote: » Healy did 110-130k weeks and a hatful of 20+m and got 2:58 but more within himself. It was a nice but roasting day and if you went into his log he was killing his interval sessions.
Tigerandahalf wrote: » Am I right in that the Hanson's plan only goes as far as 16 miles for the long run. I presume it is thus geared towards people with a solid 2 or 3 year base and towards people who are running a marathon < 9 months from the last 1.
Itziger wrote: » What the last couple of pages is clearly (!!!!) reinforcing is the fact that different plans work for different people. The only way to 'prove' anything here would be to take 100 runners doing a classical 20 to 23 mile runs type plan and the next year change them all over to a Hansons type plan. Not that you'd prove much other than 'different plans suit different runners' in any case. I have one concern about Hansons that is not about the LR and that is doing 2 sessions so close together, normally Tuesday and Thursday, right? See, that worries me. I seem to need a minimum of 2 easy days between harder efforts. I might, might give it a lash some year.
MrMacPhisto wrote: » I agree with ya Itziger, what works for one person won't necessarily work for the next guy or girl. I have followed the Hanson plan a few times and it has worked for me. I might try Jack Daniels or P&D again, or something completely new next time for a bit of variety.Re the Hanson plan and the two sessions, maybe you could stretch the plan out to 20 weeks, or an 8 day schedule rather than 7day. Give yourself an extra recovery day or rest day. I guess this would depend on your flexibility and whether you only have time for a long run on a specific day like every Sunday.
Itziger wrote: » Interesting point. I suppose it's something that might work although doing a long run on any day other than Sat/Sun would mean you'd need longish days really (as in daylight) but I suppose it's an idea alright.
Itziger wrote: » The only way to 'prove' anything here would be to take 100 runners doing a classical 20 to 23 mile runs type plan and the next year change them all over to a Hansons type plan.
healy1835 wrote: » That was actually my Dublin training Mike. My Limerick training was really my Rotterdam block from the previous spring. The heat in Rotterdam did for me in the end, but I survived the sun trap that was Limerick city in May '18 and escaped with a sub 3 Will root out that training and post it too.
thomas anderson. wrote: » 10st 7lbs
OOnegative wrote: » Height Dude if you don’t mind?
thomas anderson. wrote: » 5ft 7in. Got down to 10st 3lb for 2:53
squinn2912 wrote: » I’m 5 ‘9 and hit the first sub3 at about 10.5 stone. I ran Belfast in 2:53 at 11 stone and two weeks later I’m a couple of lbs heavier. I keep an eye on it out of curiosity but you feel it when you’re fit
healy1835 wrote: » You kept that quiet......the 2:53, not the weight! Well done more details please....
squinn2912 wrote: » Haha I thought I did announce it?
healy1835 wrote: » Not only did you announce it, but I replied to it! In my defence, I had had a few beers at that stage of the day what's next?
OOnegative wrote: » Can I ask ye sub 3 lads, what was yer weight roughly when ye made that breakthrough?
AuldManKing wrote: and 6"2.