cgcsb wrote: » That's bullying. They'd be sacked if she were Indian. I don't think the arrogance is a former colony thing, they view themselves as superior to everyone regardless of where else in the world they are from. Same attitude is prevalent in France. The French and English like to talk about how different they are to eachother but really they are a hop skip and jump. The superiority complex permeates all levels of society. I'll give you an example, the plastic bag tax. They agonised over this policy for years, report after report, never once acknowledging their neighbours had this system for years and it worked well. They just like everything they do is for the first time in the world, same with Boris Bikes and all that. The opposite is the case in Ireland whenever a new project or policy is discussed the first port of call is how our neighbours tackle the same issue.
MPFGLB wrote: » Having grown up and gone to college in the west of Ireland , lived in Dublin for 4 years and now in London for some years I constantly ponder the traits and differences between the people I like I can go home to the west of Ireland and have a great night of craic with many people I don’t know including unplanned nights of innocent fun till morning doing silly stuff like brush dancing or singing songs where everyone joins in. Nights like this can be great fun .There is almost an unwritten rule that people who are miserable bastards in the cold light of day are in the pub for craic and fun. One thing I noticed when I first went to London is how quiet th pubs are with roughly the same number of people ..Irish people do love to talk…even if its about nothing in general..in fact they prefer if its about nothing in general But it is true that a lot of Irish people who love this drinking craic behaviour can be very stand offish and insular in the cold light of day. Its almost like that having the craic gives them permission to be child like and unburdened I found in Dublin aot of people who were very quick and funny but a good few smart asses. However they too liked to let their hair down and have craic English people I know from north and south do not tend to spend time talking gibberish in the pubs and are not as spontaneous and as inclusive in this setting However the British imo have the best sense of humour in the world and they tend to prefer more serious and witty conversations. They usually don’t take the piss as much as the Irish But what I will say the British are more honest and though harder to get to know and not as inclusive as the Irish they make for deeper and more honest friendships Also maybe not judge the British by the British press who most people abhor And contrary to stories on here the British I know love the Irish as I am often told ...we are seen as fun loving , warm and unburdened ..if only they knew
MPFGLB wrote: » Also maybe not judge the British by the British press who most people abhor And contrary to stories on here the British I know love the Irish as I am often told ...we are seen as fun loving , warm and unburdened ..if only they knew
nullzero wrote: » Spoken like a true bitter culchie. "anything from Dublin is derivitive nonsense and all Dublin people are reprehensible".
Deebles McBeebles wrote: » Here's one...So a guy starts a thread about the English being no craic. Thread becomes Culchies v Dubs in record time. Boom boom!
ILoveYourVibes wrote: » Culchies and Dubs need to call a truce. :rolleyes: Or else get a LOT funnier about slagging each other off!
cgcsb wrote: » My experience of the garden variety midlands culchies is a fear and loathing of outsiders coupled with resentment and gossip.
completedit wrote: » Ash they are a nation of extremes tbf. But the ones who come to Europe will often be a bit dull. They're usually the ones who feel mortified to be American an have trump as president.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » I often remember something that was said by that great philosopher of human relations, Imelda May, when the President went to England. She announced that we were allowed to like the English now 'but secretly, we've been liking one another for years'. I think it's great that we can look at each other as friends as well as neighbours. I remember as a kid failing to understand why the Swedes didn't hate the Norwegians, and the French don't hate the Germans. It seemed expected that you should dislike your neighbours -- and I have a mum who grew up in the UK, we weren't even the slightest bit republican. Lots of us make British jokes, but they're not intended to offend or hurt. I cringe when I read serious, vicious insults against the Brits. That's how you should feel about insults agin your neighbours and friends, it transpires.
Aegir wrote: » I get most of what you have said about the British, but I would argue that is more about the views of an ex pat in a foreign country than anything else. The reason I can relate to it, is because that is pretty much my experience of the Irish having lived here for ten years.
Deleted User wrote: » Is Donnacha the lad with the fake tan?
Beechwoodspark wrote: » I’d also agree that the English middle classes live very ordered lives. Much less spontaneity. Everything planned well in advance. The city centre Pubs of the weatherspoons chain variety are to be avoided. General air of aggro in a lot of them. People lookin for trouble and often finding it. They love complaining about this that and the other as well. You’d feel like saying “not interested mate, do one yeah”.
road_high wrote: » There’s a lot of Irish I’d describe as having “no manners” and it cuts across all classes and age groups. Years ago I worked for a summer in an Agri diy supplies and the ignorance was just incredible- older Irish men in particular are the most miserable, ungrateful mean people you could find. And never wanted to pay for anything- the most polite customers- a group of Irish travelers that came in for horse stuff!! I don’t know what it’s like now, but past generations really missed out on basic manners and etiquette. Reckon a lot of these people most have been favored by the church/teachers and escaped all manners lessons. Generally find continental Europeans and Americans so polite in comparison to many of us
Nobelium wrote: » "the english are no craic" - yet their comedies are some of the most popular on Irish TV ...talk about deluding ourselves.
Subcomandante Marcos wrote: » The English are craictose intolerant. The Welsh and Scottish are great craic, especially the north Welsh. Great bunch of lads.
A Tyrant Named Miltiades! wrote: » Would you mind expanding on that? I'm not sure I get you. Are you saying that Imelda May only said that because she lives (I think) in the UK? Actually I think a lot of us genuinely like most British people. I'm the first to hold my hands up and say I've made some distasteful jokes about the British, but in all fairness we really don't dislike one another on a personal level. The jokes, however unfunny, tend to be based on a colonial history, not at the expense of any individual British person.