AuldManKing wrote: Maybe you're just mentally weak, P??
OOnegative wrote: Dunno if it warrants wishing you good luck Sunday, it’s only one leg of a relay marathon you’re running........ run well P!!
skyblue46 wrote: Enjoy the run on Sunday P...there should be a great atmosphere for it.
Singer wrote: Have a great marathon!!!
Swashbuckler wrote: » Bib 13024 for anyone interested in tracking the relay teams progress. Splits won't show up for each leg. I'm running the second leg so I'll be carrying the baton from 6 miles to 12.5 miles so I'll be carrying the baton through the 10k split timer and handing off around 20k.
Kellygirl wrote: Ha ha - I like the team name! Hope it’s true for all of us behind ye
Swashbuckler wrote: » A warning from one of my Boardsie Crusaders buddies would have been nice
Singer wrote: I'm far from the inner circle! It was much as a surprise to me on Whatsapp this afternoon as I'm sure it was for you
Swashbuckler wrote: » Thanks for the well wishes everyone. Very excited. If the new arrival is anything like our little girl we're in for some fun! I worry for the new arrival. Haha. Our girl has a big sprinkling of lunatic. .
skyblue46 wrote: When it comes to your observations and thoughts on the day please remember everyone doesn't need every little bit of information! I couldn't face my dinner yesterday
skyblue46 wrote: Hmmm...controversial! A ****e course? Gotta love your honesty. Luckily it's not something I'll ever have to worry about. No doubt a marathon is in your future but no need to panic. You'll get a 5k and 10k PB this year first. Marathon will suit you, so will the training but enjoy this year first....unless you're being tempted by the resale of DCM entries?
Swashbuckler wrote: » I would seriously consider if baba wasn't due in Sept. Honestly on the course comment. The section out by UL is just not a nice section. In town you're made run up that lidl hill three times. Rossbrien is out and back. UL is out and back. Your plunged in with the start of the HM. North Circular is horrible. Brought into a huge atmosphere in town and then sent out into wilderness. Running around cones and down cul de sacs just seems mental to me. That being said I'll probably run it. Haha
skyblue46 wrote: I have to say, from the perspective of someone who has a 3:16 PB which I'm looking to improve, that from reading both yours and shotgunmcos's reports I'd be inclined to give Limerick a miss for the fact that I'd most likely meet the chaos of the HM runners.
Swashbuckler wrote: » Easy to avoid it S. Just get into sub 3 shape and you'll pass them before they start
skyblue46 wrote: I plan to! All ye lads in your thirties targetting sub 3....soft target! AMK still wins run of the year because of the A in AMK!
skyblue46 wrote: » I have to say, from the perspective of someone who has a 3:16 PB which I'm looking to improve, that from reading both yours and shotgunmcos's reports I'd be inclined to give Limerick a miss for the fact that I'd most likely meet the chaos of the HM runners.
Murph_D wrote: » Having endured the Cork version of the HM merge a couple of times, I wouldn't worry about it too much - it's a slight distraction for a few minutes but not much more. You could argue that it works in your favour, as it kind of energises you at a point in the race where you might be starting to feel sorry for yourself. In other words - it's possible to use it for what it can do for you.
Swashbuckler wrote: » That being said, in response to skyblue's original point I think Limerick probably is one of the better marathons in Ireland despite my giving out, in terms of support anyway. Maybe other people might be able to offer some inputs there. I'd be interested to hear opinions on good marathons in Ireland (now that I'm actively interested in marathons haha)
Swashbuckler wrote: » I really thought they had sorted it out last year or maybe I've got it wrong. I recall there being two separate sides of the road for the HM and Marathon or was that not the case? I guess they have to merge at some point though. That being said, in response to skyblue's original point I think Limerick probably is one of the better marathons in Ireland despite my giving out, in terms of support anyway. Maybe other people might be able to offer some inputs there. I'd be interested to hear opinions on good marathons in Ireland (now that I'm actively interested in marathons haha)