Faugheen wrote: » I really don’t understand the Mr Moonlight issue at all. It’s what the man was known as.
sligojoek wrote: » Now that the "run off tank" has been explained above, it's got me thinking. A lot of guards come from a farming background. Given the amount of them that searched the farm, did none of them see the milking parlour and say, "Where's the run off tank?"?
Spanish Eyes wrote: » I think the jury foreman should only be appointed when there is a verdict. All s/he has to to do in reality is convey the decision to the court. Discuss!
paleoperson wrote: » The first question will be a variation of "why do you think that?" and from then on it's a targeted breaking down of their statements, it may well come down to who is good at manipulation or persuasion - and it's not like they think they're the bad guy or anything, they just see it as their duty to convince the others.
Muahahaha wrote: » Earlier on thread someone mentioned a Polish farm labourer employed there who went back to Poland shortly thereafter, is there any more details about this bit?
Spanish Eyes wrote: » Would it be very wrong of me to think that Q's wife might have been controlled by her husband. I doubt many wives or others cuckolded would stand by their man in full view. Anyway, it is tragic for the family of Bobby Ryan no matter what.
Vicarious Function wrote: » I don't think the body was ever in the van. I believe Bobby R. (R.I.P.) was killed as he came out of Mary Lowry's house at approx 6.30 ba.m. by Quirke who was waiting for him. The slurry tank is on M. Lowry's farm, so the body would not have to be transported anywhere. I imagine Quirke would have had a selection of machinery, for instance somethng like a forklift. Using something like that, it wold be simple enough to move the body into the run-off tank. He must have had access to fairly good machinery as he would have had to lift the concrete covers off the tank in order to get the body in there. After all, he had access to a suction machine and slurry spreader, which are fairly heavy machinery. IMO, he could even have used one of those machines in committing the murder.
Muahahaha wrote: » Have to agree with this, the way the media used the Mr.Moonlight moniker was really trashy. I didn't even know he was a truck driver till you just said it now. Yet every single day across radio stations you always heard the exact same words- "Bobby Ryan, a part-time DJ also known as Mr. Moonlight". To me there was an element in the media of a kind of covert sniggering at the victim, the media wanted to sensationlise the story and they wanted listeners to draw innuendo from their reporting that he was a DJ. I would expect that type of trashy reporting from the Sun or the Star but RTE was leading the line on the whole Mr.Moonlight thing, they did it so much it was almost like they were taking glee from it all.
Vicarious Function wrote: » Yes. There are many tragic aspects to this story. The biggest tragedy of all is Quirke himself. He had so much going for him, as we heard on Prime Time and yet due to flaws in his character, he blew it all. He's the real Greek tragedy.
freshpopcorn wrote: » It's a possibility but people are strange. It's amazing the people that will stick by family members. Sometimes they are naive or abused and others they are well matched. One thing is that there eleven year old son died in 2012 and this may have brought them closer together.
Nikki Sixx wrote: » I’m after matching with Mary Lowry on Tinder!
Wrongway1985 wrote: » Think that may have been a red herring, some man working on Quirkes farm work experience I think around the time body was discovered gave evidence saying a discussion with Patrick Quirke about the discovery Quirke said he heard rumors a Polish gang may be involved. I think there was a suggestion of a Polish worker on the farm at the time of disappearance who went back to Poland and committed suicide.Worker may not have existed.
Loafing Oaf wrote: » Yes he is clearly a more sensitive and intelligent man than his demeanour would suggest. But maybe that very depth of character was part of what drove him to commit a 'crime of passion' in circumstances where a simpler man might have said "Feck it, I'll find another woman."
Spanish Eyes wrote: » Sorry now but it didn't stop Mr Q from playing away did it? with no concern for his wife. She supported him but why I wonder?
Stacksofwacks wrote: » careful cos the last 2 ended up dead and the other is in Jail!
Nobelium wrote: » The whole agenda of the media was as usual to present so called "rural" Ireland with as much sneering and condescending contempt as possible.
freshpopcorn wrote: » It didn't make him stop cheating but she may have felt she needed the support and didn't want to be on her own after losing a child was th point I was trying to make. They are endless reasons why she might have stuck by him.
jmreire wrote: » According to Mary, the van was about 10 mins late leaving that morning. So assume that everything was prepared,,,the slabs moved of the tank, and Quirke used a forklift to move the body to the tank,strip it and dump it in, replace the slabs etc.. all in 10 mins?? And remember, the body was not just dumped into the tank...it was carefully laid down. Plus Mary would have to hear the forklift ( or whatever it was )..they are pretty noisy. For that to work, she would have to be involved. The other scenario is that he killed him, loaded him in the van, took the body somewhere else, hid it and then parked the van in the wood car park where it was later found. He then came back later on when he had the time to work at his leisure...picked up the body, stripped it and placed it in the tank...and then covered the tank with bales to hide it. Even that scenario would need an accomplice. Quirke given the nature of his job would be used to pulling and dragging,,, but even so,getting the body up off the ground and into the van dead weight, would take some effort.
Jeff2 wrote: » He seems to know some of what he was doing. He recorded a conversation in Marys home and there is no explanation how. I'd say he was there earlier and left a fully charged phone on record and came back to say he forgot it anytime later. They say it was a Nokia. Some phones can be set to auto answer and no ring tone also....?
Neyite wrote: » There is some evidence that he planned ahead and was quite meticulous. If you had planned ahead you would have time. It was 9.30am before someone next saw him I think. He knew that Friday mornings was good for privacy as Lowry brought her MIL shopping directly after the school run. So no one was at home. Silage bales were on top of the tank it seems so the Gardai would not have seen any signs of the tank. So lets say that you put the silage there a few weeks before, then the night before you move them, open up the tank, park your own car in the woods, walking back to the farm. At 6.30am you knock the victim unconscious, then put him into the tank ensuring that you've landed more blows to ensure he is dead. The victim would bleed out into the tank mostly. You move the van to the woods, drive back in your own car, replace the slab and move the silage bales back in place over the tank. You'd easily have that done in three hours, I'd say?
Neyite wrote: » I think that he claimed to love her because of the benefit to him of her believing she was loved. I know what you are saying and on the surface it does look like it was a jealous love thing, but have you seen how he benefited financially from the relationship? She was his gravy train.
Sheep breeder wrote: » Great theory, but major fault surely he had a job getting the man to walk to the tank or carry a body to with out leaving a trace. The local plod messed up big time. First like your theory above if he moved bales on to the tank the ground would show vehicle tracks and a country copper should see question the reason why and the parlour would suggest a tank. Second if killed on the farm there had to be blood at the scene. Third it seems the local plod did not take this very serious in the start and when the body was found it seems to have being a real mess with the state investigator not turning up and trying to take the body out. The case in rathfarnham graham Dwyer would not have being solved only the young Garda in roundwood done his job when he found the bags in the reservoir This murder was all about quirke getting free milk from the cow and when this stopped he was not happy.
Muahahaha wrote: » Oh right thanks for the clarification. The poster earlier in the thread said a Poiish farm labourer went back to Poland with a ball of cash in his pocket. I didnt post the cash bit because it was obviously innuendo and rumour but now you've clarified that this story came from Quirke himself, enough said.