punisher5112 wrote: » Didn't hear of Portobello one, what's the story behind that one.
NaFirinne wrote: Why not be like America and have everyone that wants to be armed - be armed.
Tomas81 wrote: » 3 Garda were sacked. Armed Garda for John Morris was sacked fact, I sat in the court when the Commisioner stated it. Read my posts you will see why. Garda has been suspended without pay in the Portobello issue and won't be ruled lawful guy had just left swan cinema and was shot, Shane Thomas was the injured man's name.
NaFirinne wrote: » Why not be like America and have everyone that wants to be armed - be armed. Then we won't need guards we can just protect ourselves.
bubblypop wrote: » Like the IRA?
bubblypop wrote: » No Gardai were sacked in those incidents. First one is under investigation, pretty sure the shooting will be found to be lawful. John Morris was an active inla man on duty. You don't know what threat the guard in longford was under. You clearly know nothing about other police forces if you think AGS are one of the worst! OP, no I don't believe all Gardai should be armed, there are in fact a huge amount of gardai authorised to carry firearms, they may need deploying differently however.
Tomas81 wrote: » Issue is arming the likes of Seamus from Leitrim who was bullied as a child who doesn't go through any psychiatric checks when joining the AGS then next you have trigger happy headcases with a license to kill.
Tomas81 wrote: » So portobello bridge when the garda took a man from his car after a cinema date with his partner accused him of an armed robbery then shot him? Was that not a balls up hahaha. John Morris unarmed burgling a building shot dead, that ok also. The Garda in Longford shot a man and a dog while under no threat hahaha 3 Garda sacked in those incidents but your saying it was fine. Hahaha And I'm from Northern Ireland originally well versed in the RUC and PSNI. AGS are worse.
sdanseo wrote: » Fixing all this is a lot easier than buying 10,000 handguns and should be a prerequisite to arming under-trained and jaded guards.
sdanseo wrote: » I believe all police should be armed, the gun culture and problems that go with it are not solved by it but not caused by it either. I remember a comparison a few years back which referenced a US police shooting incident where more shots were fired than by every police officer in Germany in an entire year. In civilised countries they are there to protect the officers and public, and nothing more, and in the EU generally are used as an absolute last resort. That said, a root and branch reform of An Garda Síochána is needed with much more urgency. The force is demoralised, dishevelled, ill equipped, understaffed, under-resourced and the average cop underpaid, and top management have been proven to be absolutely corrupt. The cop on the street isn't to blame but probably under performs because they are managed by morons and have morale to match. Fixing all this is a lot easier than buying 10,000 handguns and should be a prerequisite to arming under-trained and jaded guards.
Gerry G wrote: Explain to me what f**k ups have the armed guards had? If you're talking about Abbeylara, I wouldn't consider it a f**k up
Gerry G wrote: » I'll grant you that the last one was a complete balls up but none of the others were and if you think that the Irish guards are one if the most incapable forces in the world then you haven't any experience with police in other countries. Our closest neighbour's the PSNI are a complete shambles compared to the Irish Police
Gerry G wrote: » I think you know exactly the situation I'm talking about. If you don't, you should watch the news some more
punisher5112 wrote: » More definitely needed but there are a lot I wouldn't trust with a rubber stamp never mind a gun. Some are absolutely terrible at their job and should be weeded out for how terrible they are.
Tomas81 wrote: » 1)John Morris unarmed shot dead. 2) Abbeylara was very much a **** up. 3) Portobello bridge August 2017 4)granard This year 5) Tomas mikaljunas There's 5 incidents off top of my head. AGS are one of the most incapable police forces the world over.
Gerry G wrote: » Explain to me what f**k ups have the armed guards had? If you're talking about Abbeylara, I wouldn't consider it a f**k up
shopper2011 wrote: » What situation?
Tomas81 wrote: » Have you forgotten the **** ups the armed Garda in this country have already had? Or are you quite young?
Gerry G wrote: » So how do they deal with the current situation in Ireland?
Gerry G wrote: So how do they deal with the current situation in Ireland?
shopper2011 wrote: » No. Arming Guards solves nothing.