LollipopJimmy wrote: » Also, a motorcycle Guard had a load of electric scooters piled up on Kevin St. this morning, recovery truck there too to take them all away.
Garibaldi? wrote: » Electric bikes are legal because when you stop pedalling the motor runs down and would stop entirely if you did not start pedalling again."Pedal-assist" The scooter obviously has no pedals and once started it keeps on going. It was discussed on Ray Darcy today.
Martynet wrote: » It doesn't keep going if you don't hold the throttle
rubadub wrote: » Post from today in the cycling forum.
prinzeugen wrote: » Sorry it is 100% crystal clear. For the one millionth time! Myself and others plus the Garda have made it clear.
If the motor can propel you AT ANY POINT without physical effort it is a MPV. That is the law in Ireland and repeatedly saying "its a grey area" or "there is no definitive answer" is bollox sorry!
In simple terms - Its not about how you get them moving. Its about how they move you.
They are illegal under current road traffic laws. End of story!
rubadub wrote: » What speed were they doing? some bikes have a walk function which can power the motor without pedalling but only to a slow walking pace. If it was being powered without pedalling at a normal cycling speed then yes, it is likely a MPV.
...Ghost... wrote: » A walk function? Hang on now. You mean they are being propelled without any physical effort from the rider?
...Ghost... wrote: » Oh, well that clears it up then. You and a Garda made it crystal clear. Except not all people and not all Garda agree with you. Many Garda have said the push start scooters are not MPVs. Others have disagreed and have seized them....but I have only seen motorcycle Gardaí doing this so far and I said my part about them already. If it was that simple, there would be do discussion regarding the legality of e-scooters which require a push to start each time it stops. Are they though? Many people don't agree with you. What most people do agree to, is that the legislation needs to be clarified/amended. If the legislation truly was clear, there would not be so many talking about the grey area most e-scooters occupy.
rosmoke wrote: » It's also bull**** to get insurance for a kids scooter ... cause that's what it is essentially. Even insurance companies laugh their ass off when you ask about insuring these scooters. How come they are grand in so many countries and in here it isn't? Why stop here, let's have insurance for bicycles because they are heavier, are reaching a higher speed, have a worse weight distribution and are more dangerous. Even if I want to insure a kids scooter I've nowhere to go, it's just not possible because it can't be powered by power alone.
beauf wrote: » ....https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DdBcLcQbP78
prinzeugen wrote: » If you are old enough, you may remember the "fad" around 2007 was for mini motorbikes. There was a electric kids version. Seized by the Garda? Why? They were MPVs. Not registered, taxed etc. Kid on one? Not legal anyway. A person under 16 cannot hold a motorbike licence so were breaking the law by using them in a public place. So calling them kids toys is rubbish. And there was a case before the courts before (in Co Tipp IIRC). The insurance companies laugh like feck because these things will never be road legal and thus cannot be insured under a regular RTA policy.
rosmoke wrote: » @beauf Electric scooters are legal, in here and many other countries. You posted an illegal scooter that can reach a high speed, I posted a link with a legal bike that can go faster, I was talking about how they're less dangerous than bikes and you're going on about your understanding of laws. I'll live it like that, you're right.
rosmoke wrote: » Those were MPVs, very dangerous, powerful and illegal. Electric scooters are nothing like them, they are less powerful, way safer, have a quite low maximum speed and can't go on their own without being pushed. Have you ever tried an electric scooter?
beauf wrote: » Incidentally here is a scooter with no throttle. It only has an assisted mode.https://youtu.be/0QvtcLe4vGc
prinzeugen wrote: » MPV. Booster/flywheel or other, read the law. And was the English voice that sold it?
tuxy wrote: » Looked good until it showed you could be propelled forward using a hip motion and there was no need to put your foot on the ground. That's hardly consider scooting is it?
beauf wrote: » Why would that matter?