ohnonotgmail wrote: » It is the very definition of a hate crime no matter how much you and others try to downplay it.
suicide_circus wrote: » care to mention any names?
padd b1975 wrote: » You'd have to admit there is a hint of Monty Python about it, but of course in the age of perpetual victimhood the reaction was only going to go one way.
How Soon Is Now wrote: » Meh. Hate crime lol!! The real story here is the athleticism shown by the young fella! Future Olympian down the line ?
Blueshoe wrote: » Like all species the strongest survive. Anyone different from the herd will get picked on or treated different. It's primal man. All the virtue signalling in the world isn't going to change that
Trump Is Right wrote: » So what? Some drunk chaps picked you up, and now you're part of that ever growing group in society that thinks they are victims...!? FFS! :rolleyes: Some people really need to toughen themselves up and stop being so quick to play the victim card... it's embarrassing. We are creating a nation of weaklings and softies! :P Previous generations would have laughed most of this stuff off and got on with their life... now it's some kind of big scandal. Please... Grow a pair!! :pac:
whisky_galore wrote: » I guess it's ok to throw a banana at a black lad and jump up and down making monkey noises... shur tis only a bitta craic. Any Irish person abroad loves the stupid drunken Paddy jokes too. Very mean spirited of that lady that she didn't see the funny side and hi-fived the lads after their stunt. Ah leap froggin, shur normally they'd love that being done to them...
Deleted User wrote: » This thread is an example of how bottom of the barrel boards has become. Woman is assaulted and laughed at, and everyone makes snide digs and laughs at her. Yet, if it were travellers that did it there'd be uproar. Forum is becoming a parody of itself.
Fr_Dougal wrote: » You can’t compare what happened to you and the lady in the article IMHO, you were physically lifted, I’d go as far as to say assaulted. Nobody actually interfered with that lady, they didn’t touch her. It’s not a hate crime, no hatred was shown towards her, nobody tried to incite hatred. Two young fellas had a laugh at her expense alright, but that was it. Had they touched her, verbally abused her etc., then you’d have a point.
cjmc wrote: » She might be reading this but it’s still not imo a hate crime. Sorry
Irene Grumpy Crystal wrote: » Hold on, this isn't true. Not everyone is making snide digs and laughing at her at all. Several people are defending her and calling out those making the digs. And travellers get slated here (many of them with good cause). Most people here are all right.
Deleted User wrote: » Look at the first page of this thread, and the amount of thanks that are attached to the snide pun replies. And I'm no fan of travellers either (to put it lightly) but the sentiment on boards is laughable at times. Forums about the place are generally fine. DIY area is good, Motors is useful albeit very cliquey, learned a lot in the photography forum, etc. but the kinda stuff you see in this thread, which are direct jokes about a specific named person in the article, is really sad to see. If it was someone in a wheelchair there'd be no joking :rolleyes: But they're small so lets act like a south park episode and point and laugh. I just don't get it.
Larbre34 wrote: » Bless me father for I have sinned, the mental picture of this incident happening made me laugh and laugh and laugh.
Blueshoe wrote: » I'm a 5 foot tall man and years ago at a house party my "friends" put me into a dishwasher box and sealed it shut. They then put it into a van and drove to a volcano and threw me in.
BattleCorp wrote: » It's not a hate crime. And anyway, the idea of a hate crime is bullsh1t. It's either a crime or it's not a crime.
grindle wrote: » Yeah but loik, not according to Oirish law or anything. Therefore not real hate despite clear prejudice and a clearly hateful despicable act.
‘Any incident which is perceived by the victim or any other person as being motivated by hate, based on a person’s age, race, ethnicity, religious belief, gender identity, disability, or sexual orientation’ .
Chris_Heilong wrote: » If anyone sees behavior that insults the victim here then report it to a mod. The parts I discussed were to do with the nature of 'Hate crime' and I think many have commented on the same but I would have no time for people insulting someone else.
Fr_Dougal wrote: » Well we know she’s not happy...that narrows it down to six...
ohnonotgmail wrote: » The gardai disagree with you.https://www.garda.ie/en/Crime/Hate-crime/What-is-hate-crime-.html
Teddy Daniels wrote: » You think that Dwarves are a different race ?
Trump Is Right wrote: » Right, but how do you prove that these pair of clowns actually harbour hatred towards midgets? Leapfrogging over someone doesn't prove you hate them? Unless they shouted something discriminatory before or after the incident, you cannot actually prove hatred.