recedite wrote: » Here we go; "they are literally nazis" because one of them leap frogged a dwarf.
Deleted User wrote: » Anyone who does something like this isn't just "ignorant" - they are scum. It's these types that ran the concentration camps in Germany or rushed in droves to join ISIS when they heard they could behead people and have 9 year old "wives". Or like that ISIS German woman and her husband who allowed a 5 year old slave girl to starve to death because she wet her bed. These type of people don't change. They are born with a desire to inflict pain on others.
Fall_Guy wrote: » Its not a case of evil people torturing good people here, it's ignorant people hurting an innocent party. I don't know if its cool or not, but its completely unhelpful to brand the young lads in this case as "scumbags".
Pkiernan wrote: » Virtually guaranteed that these 2 dirtbags were on the dole.
Deleted User wrote: » And it was rather unpleasant. Not as bad as being raped or murdered though.
Candie wrote: » Those guys wanted a cheap laugh at that poor womans expense and completely dehumanized her, and that is exactly what a lot of posters on this thread have done too with cheap jokes at the victims expense. It quickly got around to straight white men getting no sympathy and finally wound up with it being no big deal anyway. Depressing, but not surprising.
Oxford University Press wrote: noun noun: hate 1. intense dislike. "feelings of hate and revenge" synonyms: loathing, hatred, detestation, dislike, distaste, abhorrence, abomination, execration, resentment, aversion, hostility, ill will, ill feeling, bad feeling; More antonyms: love, likingdenoting hostile actions motivated by intense dislike or prejudice. modifier noun: hate "a hate campaign"
[Deleted User] wrote: » The criminality itself was not the point of the thread. If you want to open another thread about how awful the criminality itself was, go right ahead. And it was rather unpleasant. Not as bad as being raped or murdered though.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » You can be discriminated against or be victim of a hate crime you know. A racial crime isn’t just white on black.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » This is what you get from the thread. I’ve noticed a tendency to be more upset about words used to describe criminals rather than the criminality itself.
[Deleted User] wrote: » The law doesn't care, I'm not referring to myself. I actually care about victims no matter what background they have or group they belong to.
Irene Grumpy Crystal wrote: » "No one cares"? Speak for yourself dude. People regularly start threads here about sh1tty things being done to defenceless people, whether they're part of a group or not.
Fall_Guy wrote: » I never said they are from a really ****ty background, I just said that they may be. I don't know for certain, but I'm making an educated guess that i am happy to say from the outset may be wrong. As i said in my earlier post. I just don't see anything compassionate about branding kids as scumbags based on ignorant, thoughtless behaviour. It 100% was a really ****ty thing to do, as you say. You seem to be very quick to claim people are being discompassionate towards the victim, while also failing to show any compassion towards the people who committed the stupid act. Its not a case of evil people torturing good people here, it's ignorant people hurting an innocent party. I don't know if its cool or not, but its completely unhelpful to brand the young lads in this case as "scumbags".
Irene Grumpy Crystal wrote: » If anything there is an active effort to show less empathy here because of the woman's size.
Deleted User wrote: » It's not my definition, it's the definition of the authority that enforces the law of the country so it should be the correct one. I'm not saying it's not the legal definition, I'm just saying it's a ridiculous definition - whoever came up with that legislation has zero intelligence or doesn't care about justice. Some on here think compassion and caring about the correct definition of crimes are mutually exclusive. I would argue the opposite - if you are sloppy about legal definitions then you don't really care about people at all. I'm still astonished at the actual definition of hate crime in this country. Compassion is not jumping on the latest bandwagon about who are victims and perpetrators in society - it's about truth. Who are the actual victims - not the ones that shout the loudest. I have a huge amount of compassion for this woman. That doesn't stop me criticising what I see as badly written law.
Irene Grumpy Crystal wrote: » Wow, the mental gymnastics. They're responsible for their own behaviour. Where's the evidence that they're from a sh1t background? No, compassion doesn't always run both ways (where did you pull that from?) And it was also a really sh1tty thing to do to someone on their own and unable to defend themselves... uncool and all as it is to acknowledge that lol!!!
Deleted User wrote: » They would have come up with some other way with someone else. If the person was a culchie for example, they would have mocked their accent. Is that a hate crime? Not according to the garda definition as being a culchie isn't a protected "term" like person’s age, race, ethnicity, religious belief, gender identity, disability, or sexual orientation. But sure no one cares unless you are in one of those special groups. I guess we will all be old someday, then we can perceive to be discriminated against all the time and it's a hate crime every time.
ohnonotgmail wrote: » It is the definition you posted.
vonlars wrote: » It was a hate crime because it was motivated by prejudice. Do you think they'd have hopped over a person of regular height? They assaulted her based solely on her disability, therefore a hate crime. Some of ye would really want to wise up :rolleyes:
Fall_Guy wrote: » Compassion runs both ways. A pair of inner city kids doing something stupid may be "scumbags" like you say....or they may be young kids with **** parents, no education and lives that you wouldn't swap places with all too quickly....just saying.
How Soon Is Now wrote: » Meh. Hate crime lol!! The real story here is the athleticism shown by the young fella! Future Olympian down the line ?
Fr_Dougal wrote: » Not really 😊
Hector Savage wrote: »
Deleted User wrote: » Wow you are right !!! Then literally everything is a hate crime, as someone will perceive something perfectly innocent as a racial slur. That is a ridiculous definition.