PCeeeee wrote: » Ra ra? I'm acknowledging crime is complex. I wish it prevented. I present a solution. Address it if you're able. As for the ra ra part. Cop on
PCeeeee wrote: » Not the victims. Us all. Society. Victims. Citizens. Criminals alike. That's what happens in a functioning state. Crime prevention and rule enforcement is vested in a agency on our behalf.
Feisar wrote: » However we the law abiding public still have to pick up the tab. So the victims have to pay? Ultimate victim blaming there. Cost should be kept to a minimum.
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Case in point. Ra ra lock em up.
PCeeeee wrote: » It certainly is. Preventing it however is no more difficult than locking away the individuals committing the most of it
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » Crime is more complicated than "ra ra lock em up". The solution is like to be more complicated than ra ra lock em up.
El_Bee wrote: » They probably have a functional judicial system, big difference there.
mickdw wrote: » Welfare is regarded a minimum living allowance so no financial penalty for them once they are on the dole. I believe fines/ compensation should be taken directly from welfare payments when scum misbehave.
Hal3000 wrote: » You sound just like a judge. People make mistakes fair enough, but make a mistake 30 / 40 / 50 times then you shouldn't be out on the streets. The Guards are paid to deal with scumbags, if it means more survelance for safer streets I'm all for it. Not sure who would go for dangerous streets with less survelance. ??
El_Duderino 09 wrote: » The level of government involvement needed to make sure scumbags don't behave like scumbags would be unbearable. Imagine the surveillance and government presence in our lives. Cameras everywhere, everyone would need to carry ID by law. People get annoyed when a guard asks "where are you going?". Imagine the power guards would need to have In order to eradicate scumbag behaviour. I've a sneaking suspicion that posters will support all sorts of measures like surveillance and garda powers for OTHER PEOPLE, but definitely not for themselves.
Yurt! wrote: » Interesting statbank for prisons across Europe. We have a higher prison capacity than Denmark, Finland and Norway (a good deal higher in Finland's case); all slightly larger countries than ourselves, so a good point of reference. The Netherlands (Pop. 17m) has a prison capacity of 15'000 to our 4'300, and are in fact closing prisons and taking prisoners from other countries due to overcapacity in their system.http://www.prisonstudies.org/country/ireland-republic
irishproduce wrote: » We don't invest in prisons and politicians believe we don't want to. I've said it before and I'll say it here many times. Ask politicians at your door where they stand on increasing spaces in prisons and being tough on crime. It won't change otherwise.
jay0109 wrote: » Not if your a Solicitor/Barrister/Judge. It's a great system if your part of the racket
El_Bee wrote: » What fantasy land are you posting from, almost every kid around here covers their face, who the **** goes around with their face covered up at 9-10 years onwards?
Deleted User wrote: » While scumbags when they exist should be dealt with properly, they are thankfully much rarer than they were 8 or 10 years ago and before. High living standards and being kept distracted/entertained with technology has made being an actual scumbag ludicrous to the kids who in previous times would have been at risk of becoming one. Scumbags of old became what they were after having grown up hanging around the streets with their friends in gangs - nowadays young working class guys are too busy trying to not look like a scumbag to be letting themselves down robbing cars or committing crime. Nowadays there is too much social status at stake to be seen being a scumbag and it doesn't appeal to them anyway as "being hard" is no longer the badge of honour among these kids that it once was. Nowadays it is all about how expensive their clothes are, how attractive they look with their sunbeds and skin fades - you know, the kind of stuff their older brothers/fathers punched other guys for back in the day. Also, kids from all backgrounds all go to college nowadays as they have little other choice in this psychological-pressure-cooker economy.
Hal3000 wrote: » https://www.thejournal.ie/man-jailed-terminally-ill-woman-son-beating-4582483-Apr2019/ Another beauty of a sentence. In the states this would be home invasion, you wouldn't be getting out ! Here it's just a brake in with some light torture. Sure it's grand.
Leader said her client was put on medication after witnessing the violent death of his friend over ten years ago. She said he suffered family bereavements about a year later and was in a motorbike accident which ended his chances of playing professional football.
Crock Rock wrote: » Everyone makes mistakes and some people can be easily led into making a mistake ........but, c'mon. There are people out there with 30+ previous convictions! I'm in favour of leniency for the first fuck up, thereafter the punishment should be severe. Why don't we have mandatory sentencing for each specific crime, if found guilty, you must serve a specific sentence. In certain jurisdictions, the scumbag who'd have stolen the GPS would be penalised for several offences in one, criminal damage (to the glass). breaking an entry (to the car), theft (of the GPS), perjury (presumably they'd lie in court), resisting arrest (they'd probably try to run too). Here, they'd get a suspended sentence and the hard working delivery man would have to claim from his OWN insurance for the damage to his car. It's just not fair.
[Deleted User] wrote: » While scumbags when they exist should be dealt with properly, they are thankfully much rarer than they were 8 or 10 years ago and before. High living standards and being kept distracted/entertained with technology has made being an actual scumbag ludicrous to the kids who in previous times would have been at risk of becoming one. Scumbags of old became what they were after having grown up hanging around the streets with their friends in gangs - nowadays young working class guys are too busy trying to not look like a scumbag to be letting themselves down robbing cars or committing crime. Nowadays there is too much social status at stake to be seen being a scumbag and it doesn't appeal to them anyway as "being hard" is no longer the badge of honour among these kids that it once was. Nowadays it is all about how expensive their clothes are, how attractive they look with their sunbeds and skin fades - you know, the kind of stuff their older brothers/fathers punched other guys for back in the day. Also, kids from all backgrounds all go to college nowadays as they have little other choice in this psychological-pressure-cooker economy.
mynamejeff wrote: » https://www.irishtimes.com/news/crime-and-law/courts/man-had-40-year-driving-ban-when-he-led-garda%C3%AD-on-high-speed-chase-1.3847083?fbclid=IwAR19PJHcIvtpCq72KT1EixD3WdsVL2U6h1E_Oj6qGZTW2gSZf3J2tHGdltY I actually know this particular scum bag and his scumbag twin. nearly 30 and still getting chances from Judges who have no idea what the real world consists of. "She said he was old enough to know better and it was fortunate nobody was injured. Taylor of Kiltalown Park, Tallaght, Dublin has eleven previous convictions for dangerous driving." "His 121 previous convictions include 11 dangerous driving, burglary, handling stolen property, criminal damage, assault of a garda and road traffic and public order offences." And he gets 3 1/2 years with one suspended of ..... no reason and a point less driving ban Surely any political party with the will to tackle this sort of crap would coast into power
Stovepipe wrote: » Brazilian police. Close the thread.