dartboardio wrote: » Glad im not the only one regarding weed. Smoked alot it in my teenage years and wouldn't be able to enjoy it anymore. Makes me feel sick and anxious.
greencap wrote: » And if you have a degree in physics will it mean that cliff edges are no longer dangerous. starting to sound like you needed it of course i am, its common sense, you don't need a qualification. yes in your rambling digressive, obfuscating, mealy mouthed waffle fest. and do we have fuking standardized procedures and dosage regimens for street drugs. no. we don't. genius. so my initial point stands.
Bigmac1euro wrote: » Hash- actually lovely not too intense lovely stone. Weed - way too intense but I had some fun times, gladly don’t smoke either anymore as I think I may have over done it and my brain now says no. Cocaine - Good, too expensive and really damaging to the organs, I feel mentally though it didn’t play any games with me. Very moreish all the same too addictive. Best off staying away. Ecstasy - well, depending on the time or year it could have been a number of different things ingredients, my experience from one pill to the next has varied wildly. Deffo some good and some not so good buzzes. MDMA crystals - tastes rank. But it is a good buzz much cleaner but then again I have done some lovely pills which beat mdma any day. Ketamine- absolutely hilarious craic, can become intense though depending on the dosage. Dosage is important. Heroin - no thanks Mushrooms - would love to try. Acid - lasts too long. 2cb - fun fun fun never laughed so much in my life, bit of a mouldy come down though. Alcohol- my favourite but has gotten me in the most trouble of all the above. Another thing, alcohol come downs for me are sometimes the most mentally crushing things I’ve ever had to bare so I really feel alcohol can be seriously damaging mentally and maybe more so than coke (coke addicts not included). Bath salts - vomit. I’ve tried and tested a good bit. Dosage is the main thing. Be careful. Try and know where the drugs you are getting are coming from and Who’s along the network they come from. Tester kits!!!!! Everyone in my opinion should try drugs but dosage and moderation are key. And no my brain is not mush. The last few years I’ve actually felt sharper than ever and mentally exceptionally clear but maybe due to less alcohol and less of any of the above. I had a bout of depression and extreme anxiety in my younger years for about a year but this was at the time I lost my mother and a massive change in my life happened. Rarely do anything anymore. Getting a bit older now. Gladly still alive and relatively healthy. I like a drink at the weekend. But sometimes I won’t drink for weeks at a time depending on how I feel or how busy I am with work or whatever. Alcohol has a major negative effect on sleep.
The WitchKing of Angmar wrote: » And why don't we have standardised procedures or dosage regimen for these drugs genius?
gctest50 wrote: » Nice and simple for you : Would a "standard" pill, ( produced and packed to the same standards as something bought in your local pharmacy) be better ? [ ] Yes [ ] No
greencap wrote: » are you really arguing that street ecstasy from a random dealer is comparable to carefully timed, well reasoned doses from a phd who regularly undergoes government run professional assessment. you might have a 'standard' 2mg, 5mg, 10mg, commercially produced medication/pill. remind me again, what are the standard weights of yokes. you know, the ones that travelled to ireland in a serbians arse, and were made in wherever. ffs.
gctest50 wrote: » So a "standard" pill from a trusted, reliable supplier is safer and better then ? but then you say it isn't : hmmmm
theteal wrote: » Just not a lifestyle choice I'd want to make. Not my scene in the slightest. Huddled up in a toilet cubicle sniffing sh!t off the cistern sounds like a failed life to me. It's clear as day how rampant coke is of late. My ITU nurse wife is bewildered at how people don't realise what they're doing to their bodies.
The WitchKing of Angmar wrote: » I actually have a degree in pharmacology
thank you for the refresher though!
You're entirely correct regarding the importance of doseage when predicting individual drug responses
- I mentioned it in a reply to one of your earlier posts in the thread, maybe you didn't see it (I'll quote it below)
Standardised production procedures and dosage regimens would almost entirely negate any of the currently observed adverse effects of MDMA/ectasy (which is actually most commonly PMA/PMMA sold as MDMA).
greencap wrote: » Because to not measure the dose carefully could be very dangerous. ..........
greencap wrote: » So a ''standard'' ecstasy pill is pointless, and dangerous.
greencap wrote: » Its not just about quality though. Its about quantity. There is no ''standard'' person. So a ''standard'' ecstasy pill is pointless, and dangerous. Pharmacists/doctors differentiate patient doses, you dont just go into the pharmacy and ask for 'substance X'. You ask for 'substance X at a very specific dosage'. A multitude of factors will have been considered. Age, weight, gender, blood pressure, other medications, medical history, and more. Because to not measure the dose carefully could be very dangerous. This of course isn't the case with ecstasy. You just get a bunch of somewhat standardized pills measured out arbitrarily. To ingest. You don't know if you have an underlying condition that reacts to one of the ingredients, you don't know if medication you're on interacts with the ingredients, you don't know the potency of any given pill. And thats a reason to fear drugs.
The WitchKing of Angmar wrote: » Actually that's pretty much exactly how they decide on dosage - it's an interaction of numerous toxicity indices which will have been established throughout the clinical trial process. This "standard" dose might then be adjusted by patient based on body weight/composition and any other available knowledge on the status of how they metobolise certain drugs. Medication for parkinson's or epilepsy is certainly not developed specifically by patient. You're also making statements referring to certain drugs as if they're applicable to all drugs "Moving his dose from say 10mg to 5mg involves a consultation with a doctor " - that's literally only relevant to whatever drug he is taking and his prescribed dosage. For LSD dosage volumes are quite literally thousands of times less than that of cocaine. To take the example you've provided, a 5mg variation in MDMA administered to a healthy adult would produce so little a difference in response as to be imperceptible - it is not correct to state that such a small variation in doseage can be the difference between fine and an overdose where this specific drug is concerned.
Balanadan wrote: » Legality and morality are not the same thing, for the second time. Come back to me when you have some valid points to discuss or can address any of the points I’ve made x
The WitchKing of Angmar wrote: » That's fair enough and you're dead right to exercise a healthy caution over anything going into your body. My point mainly addresses the fact that a lot of people only avoid drugs because "sure you'd have no idea what's in it" - this is only a scenario that directly results from prohibition. Furthermore there are test kits available that allow you to test powders etc so you know what they are.
Clark Uninterested Stretcher wrote: But you won't die from a dab of mdma. You'll have a great time.
Undividual wrote: It seems sad to me that people go through their whole lives without experiencing some form of transcendant state. I know there are dangers (depending on the individual and the drug) but in my experience the clichés about expanding your mind are true.
gctest50 wrote: » have no fear : Cocaine was pumped out by Merck Heroin production was refined by Bayer
greencap wrote: » we know that self prescription is a dangerous and stupid thing to do for legal drugs, yet for party drugs that logic disappears for some reason. why is that? i would take some mdma right now if there were some doctors and pharmacists giving me the okay. would you take some commercially produced medications for alzheimers, parkinsons, or a heart condition in the absence of professional advice, if they had a reputation for a great buzz. basically, any psychoactive substance going into my body must be preceded by trained professionals being involved. i dont really discriminate on the substance, or consider any prior debate or public disagreement. for me, every pill is a mystery, and im not trained in pharmacy so ill look to the professionals. why others would have the perspective that a few mgs here or there doesn't really matter in relation to the brain, is beyond me.
greencap wrote: » we know that self prescription is a dangerous and stupid thing to do for legal drugs, yet for party drugs that logic disappears for some reason. why is that? i would take some mdma right now if there were some doctors and pharmacists giving me the okay. would you take some commercially produced medications for alzheimers or parkinsons, in the absence of professional advice, if they had a reputation for a great buzz. basically, any psychoactive substance going into my body must be preceded by trained professionals being involved. i dont really discriminate on the substance, or consider any prior debate or public disagreement. for me, every pill is a mystery, and im not trained in pharmacy so ill look to the professionals. why others would have the perspective that a few mgs here or there doesn't really matter in relation to the brain, is beyond me.
greencap wrote: » basically, any psychoactive substance going into my body must be preceded by trained professionals being involved.
The WitchKing of Angmar wrote: » Are we speaking of absolution from the moral or legal question? Again you're conflating the two. And fair enough man. For what it's worth you've contributed nothing constructive to the discussion bar "It's illegal" - and then you fail to recognise that most of your points against recreational drugs derive directly from their status as illegal. Legalisation arguments never gain traction because of narrow minded dolts acting as if everything is set in stone, incapable of even imagining how things might change and be different to their entrenched view.
Balanadan wrote: » You can absolutely choose to disobey laws, but you can’t have any complaint if you are punished for doing so. Let’s be honest here, recreational drugs aren’t a necessity, the issues surrounding them are well known so you can’t really absolve yourself of the implications if you choose to indulge, whether you agree with the law or not. Are there many people who have secured their own supply of organic homemade eco-friendly cocaine and heroin from someone not involved in organised crime? It’s no wonder that legalisation arguments are slow to gain traction when they’re put forward so poorly.
The WitchKing of Angmar wrote: » Absolutely No, moral absolution would depend on the nature of the law you chose to disobey. Organised crime and environmental concerns need not come into it if you can secure your own supply - and regardless those concerns only arise as a result of prohibition. (I'm sure the majority of users would be more than happy to see their drugs taxed and have that go back into the economy rather than to dealers. Government isn't interested in collecting from this huge revenue stream however and seem content with the current futile method of pissing money away on enforcement when 95% of the product will make it to the consumer one way or another)
greencap wrote: » You can have an underlying neural condition (or other condition) which you don't even know about. that condition can mean you're not able to handle a 'normal' dose. and don't even know it. I know someone with a neural condition they knew nothing about, his pills were prescribed after consultations with neurologists and various scans. Moving his dose from say 10mg to 5mg involves a consultation with a doctor with over a decades study under their belt. ... then we get to modern day ''educated'' drug culture, where its 'this is grand mdma is proven fine' go on bung a couple down. if the likes of Parkinsons meds or epilepsy meds or other pills have to be so carefully prescribed lest your one and only brain be damaged, then why do people think they can just self medicate other brain altering substances with a margin of error of 'm'eh who knows'.