franklyon wrote: » Would have been slaughtered though if he had missed. Think it was just himself who thought going for goal was the best option. Still delighted for him of course.
sliabh 1956 wrote: » Those stewarts have no cop on maye Mayo should have had Parsons inside on the bench with the subs. The second coming of Kerry is not what we have been led to beleve they are quite ordinary even after Mayo gifted them two Goals If Mayo had lost Shamie would have been savaged what a brain thing to do . Then after the match he is up in the stand kissing his partner . Great man for the limelight is our Shamie.
grbear wrote: » Yesterday certainly makes the summer look much more interesting. Plainly winning meant more to Mayo than Kerry and it'll be interesting to see just how much it brings them on. ...
Suarezistheman wrote: Big moment for me was when Aido got a yellow for a tussle in the middle of the field. Some Kerry guy hanging out of him on our kick-out. He was straight onto Hennelly - "down on top of me please" Up he went and plucked it, such defiance. Massive statement of intent.
grbear wrote: Yesterday certainly makes the summer look much more interesting. Plainly winning meant more to Mayo than Kerry and it'll be interesting to see just how much it brings them on.
Stoner wrote: » Wouldn't necessarily agree. That's a good Kerry team that wanted to win, had the wakeup call recently too. As suggested on other threads they might have an issue in the final stages of games. It could well be a factor. It was well worth testing the 2018 Kerry to the very end. Many talk about it being a fittness thing, but it might be a head issue. These new Kerry lads will have to put it to bed though.
Sebastian Dangerfield wrote: » Anyone else think O'Shea looks a good bit lighter? I don't think he'd have gotten around the field like that last year
Stoner wrote: » It was a good moment for Hennelly too.
Suarezistheman wrote: » I've been an advocate of Hennelly for the longest time. Those booming kick-outs are required in Croke Park, end of story. He got us up the pitch countless times. Horan has instilled confidence back into his game and you can see it in his performances. I am absolutely delighted for him because you can be sure he has been to hell and back.
Coillte_Bhoy wrote: » Is it just me but id be quite happy without making a league final and all the hype an ****e that would bring etc. The target is a Connacht final win and the super 8's, i dont think a league final does anything to help that.
PARlance wrote: » Well there goes my theory, wasn't expecting all the elder statesmen to start but I thought we would see Keegan, Higgins and Barrett start. I think Boyle and Moran will be used as impact subs this year.
muddle84 wrote: » Hearing the Mayo New York game is being moved to Yankee stadium??
Call me Al wrote: » I agree with some of what you wrote. But! I keep reading about how it meant so so much to Mayo as if we had the monopoly on that motivation. Kerry played out of their skins yesterday. They wanted to win every bit as much as we did. The want or need to win had nothing to do with the score. We have beaten them twice in a week and, are a better team. That's why we won.
grbear wrote: » Stating the obvious but we wouldn't have seen the same level of delight in either the Kerry players or fans if they had won on Sunday.
grbear wrote: » Really I should have went with "meant more to Mayo than it would have meant to Kerry." Stating the obvious but we wouldn't have seen the same level of delight in either the Kerry players or fans if they had won on Sunday. Good to see you didn't want to disagree with my last point.
seligehgit wrote: How on earth was Aidan not selected?
muddle84 wrote: » God damnit
Stoner wrote: » It's difficult to get 8 and 9 from the same county in these teams