Forge83 wrote: » Yet you haven’t corrected me on Keegan being the dirtiest footballer in the country. O Se already has more All Irelands than Keegan.
Deleted User wrote: » So in other words as the poster said, he had him in his pocket. He is a half back, that has outscored a lot of full forwards in the country all while keeping some of the best forwards in the country quiet. He is one of the best half backs in the country for several years. Put the sour grapes away for a while.
C__MC wrote: » Keegan plays on the edge like Galvin did, like Kennelly did, like the o ses did. Like the dubs do. Keegan is a class act, stifled your go to man today. It happens. Kerry will bounce back.
Forge83 wrote: » Again I’d disagree, Galvin, Kennelly,O ses played on the edge when the ball was up for takes. They did some disgraceful things and brilliant things and the likes of Galvin May have been a dirty footballer but he was a footballer. Keegan plays on the edge nowhere near the ball. That’s the difference. Digging O Se in the stomach, sledging him at the other side of the field to the ball for most of the game is not football. How many times did Keegan dispossess him or get to a ball before him or block him today? I can’t recall any.
Deleted User wrote: » Are you kidding me. Take off the rose tinted glasses, I have seen your above players and Aiden omahoney do things off the ball that would get you arrested on the street. Including putting there hands down another players shorts and sticking fingers in players eyes, maybe that's okay tactics with those glasses of yours. If you think keegan is any dirtier than those players then your clearly just trolling. Or are related to sos.
DDC1990 wrote: » The biggest mistake the line made was bringing James on for Data. That left a FF line of James, Clifford and Tommy. None of them work back. McCarthy was having a great game in Corner forward, but got run into the ground on the wing in the second half. On top of everything our defensive system is still shaky and lead to goals after individual errors. Diarmuid was tracking Ruane from Midfield and then seemed to think Murphy had him, but they both got attracted to the ball carrier and Ruane slipped in behind. It's not as if we didn't have prior warning after the game in Tralee. For the 2nd goal, it was Seánie O'Shea who was our Full Back defending the high ball with Diarmuid O'Connor. A full back would have been able to use their body to protect the space for Ryan to come out. The 3 goal, despite having an extra man, we lost the kickout. That is unforgivable.
Bass Reeves wrote: » Unless Denis Moran comes back to a good level and
Force Carrier wrote: » I don't think so. He must have 60 years at this stage.
DDC1990 wrote: » The biggest mistake the line made was bringing James on for Dara. .
Forge83 wrote: » Destroyed? They seemed to negate each other if anything. Keegan is the dirtiest player in the country. He is not a footballer. Constant off the ball dirty play. O Se will retire with a few senior All Ireland’s though and be remembered for his talent, Keegan will not.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Wouldnt agree with you. I would argue that keegan is probably one of the most complete footballers in the game, ever. He can mark the best forwards out of games as well as anyone, he can win breaks in the middle third and rampage up the field as well as anyone, and he can attack and score as well as a lot of forwards. He has also been one of the most consistantly excellent players of the last decade. Is there another player you can think of with such a complete skillset? With that in mind, id argue that your point is very unfair. I dont believe he is any dirtier than most defenders out there either. People tend to just say that about him after he has just negated their leading light. Great game with kerry yesterday. As good a league final as i can remember. They are a fine team and the fans take wins and losses in their stride. Fair play
The_Honeybadger wrote: » we are probably fortunate that it wasn’t a rout in all honesty.
kerry37 wrote: Dara was injured coming back out for 2nd half. He was running out of the tunnel and pulled up so it was a forced sub
brocbrocach wrote: » Ah now. The second goal turned the game but if that hadn't gone in Kerry had a real chance. A bit more experience and we could easily have won. The core of that Mayo team is on the road for 7/8 years, battle hardened hardy lads especially in the backs. We only had 3 starters from the semi final in 2017, this game will be a great lesson for them.
Pdoghue wrote: » The thing is, it's probably unfair to Keegan to label him the dirtiest player in the country. He has a high profile so he will get more media attention as a result. He is very composed on the ball and generally picks the right option. He has a good eye for a score too. However, he does what a lot of defenders do - he grapples/hangs on to/tussles with his marker (O'Shea yesterday) off the ball and so prevents the forward from making a run towards the ball. I was at the game yesterday in the Upper Cusack and watched him and O'Shea for about 10 minutes (O'Shea is no saint himself) People laud him for being a great warrior, class act, snuffing out his marker, superlative, superlative, etc, etc. but if people want to call those antics a skill, I have to wonder. IT'S NOT ALLOWED FOLKS. The officials aren't imposing the rules. Ongoing problem with the game.
DDC1990 wrote: » I saw that alright. In hindsight a half forward would have been a better call. Easy to say now. As for Jack and Diarmuid. They seemed to do much better than Jack and Mark did in Tralee. However we were cleaned out under the breaking ball. Thought Diarmuid had a brilliant first half but spent the second half on the back door. He lost Ruane for the goal. He was extremely harshly sent off IMO. Durcan (I think) hopped on Seánie Shea. Diarmuid was pulling the two lads off each other and himself and Ruane for the yellows. Looked gutting to get the line.
kerry37 wrote: » Dont think calling any player dirty is gonna do any good and why bother. We have had more than our share of dirty players over the years. It's called getting the job done. I can never understand these piissing contests that start, X player is dirty, yeah but so is Y. Jesus are we back in school. Keegan a fine footballer, I'd happily have him on the Kerry team and he gets the job done. Did a Kerry player get sent off? Can't figure out what you mean from the post. Thought Aidan O Shea was the only red card yesterday
The_Honeybadger wrote: » Diarmuid was sent off at the end for getting involved in a bit of a tussle. It was harsh. Game was over at that stage.
munster87 wrote: » On top of the lads playing yesterday, if Kerry could get a big year out of David Moran and Gavin White it would make a big difference. Don’t think Burns would have as much of an impact but a good addition to have to the squad.
MayoAreMagic wrote: » Who would make way for white do ye reckon?