Crash Bang Wall wrote: » Two harsh yellows, second was in front of me, a coming together in MF, nothing nasty. His black card v Galway was stupid, but this was very harsh.......didnt think his first yellow was a card either, although I was a bit away from it, so I could stand corrected on that one. Re Mackey....he has to play....he was so much better than anything that started. He has the vision that nobody else has.....there are ways to utilise him better. Football should be much more than running around like a blue arsed fly, and racking up the 10k for stats. Play him for Clerkin, i cant recall him even touching the ball, and he didnt do a whole lot in terms of tracking back, busting a gut, or turnovers. Play him as a corner forward with a licence to roam, or to play of a FF line of Madden and one of the Lacken boys......im not sure which of them is the FF that kicked the free/mark
Yevon wrote: » It could be said that we showed the same guts to get a draw against Clare last year, beat Down when things were tight coming down the stretch (league and championship) to beat Tipperary in the last few seconds to get us up to Division 1.
Cavan_King wrote: » And those three sides are all setting the world alight!! I saw Tipperary against Meath this year and I was surprised with how poor they were. Interesting point on We Are Cavan that 11 players have started every Cavan game in the League. So the regulars then are: Raymond Galligan Jason McLoughlin Padraig Faulkner Killian Clarke Ciaran Brady Conor Rehill Martin Reilly Dara McVeety Jack Brady Conor Madden Niall Murray Paul Graham as a twelfth has started every game but the first. Others who have featured with starts or coming on regularly: Niall Clerkin Chris Conroy Gerry Smith Conor Moynagh Cian Mackey Thomas Galligan Pearce Smith Of the list of 12 regulars, I think Jack Brady is the only player at huge risk of dropping out. You're looking at Gerry Smith, Moynagh as definite starters also IMO so that's back to 13 and then you have Gearoid and Caoimhin and we're probably looking at in or around our starting 15 for the championship. On a side note, can't see the game going ahead this morning. Play it Monday?
baconsarnie wrote: » Following pitch inspection, today’s Allianz Football League game in Clones goes ahead. Throw in is 2.00pm in St Tiernach’s Park.
baconsarnie wrote: » Almost wish it had been postponed:) Poor football all round. Conor Moynagh was superb, absolutely top class performance from him. Nice to see Gearoid back. Apart from that, not much to sing about. I’d be worried about the well-being of those Monaghan lads, Conor Mc Manus especially. Mustn’t be doing any gym work- any rap at all and the poor wee darlings were on the turf!!! And I know Cavan fans are always giving out about the ref, but he was shocking. Shocking.
Cavan_King wrote: » Was it 11 wides we had in the first half? No scoring threat up front. No free taker. What exactly did the ref give the free out for the time the quick free was taken with Galligan up the pitch? Cost us a score at a vital time.
Yevon wrote: » So one comeback against Kildare (currently 4th in Division 2) certifies Meath's never say die attitude but Cavan's late results against Clare and Tipperary (when they finished 3rd and 4th in Division 2 last year) prove nothing? Wonder what time there will be an inspection? Would be nice to know before getting on the road for the game.
baconsarnie wrote: » In fairness we kicked a score straight after it, but it was a mad decision. Nearly as bad as him refusing to give Mc Kiernan a mark in the first half- which was well kickable- even though Mc Kiernan was signalling to the ref he was taking the mark. Coupled with Mc Manus buying about 3 frees (at least) in the first half, it was a poor refereeing display
Cavan_King wrote: » And he gave Monaghan a mark from near enough the exact same area but on the opposite side of the field in the second half. Monaghan were just happy we had no scoring threat in the first half. 11 wides and I dong know how many dropped into the keepers hands. Division 2 will be tough next year with Fermanagh and Meath maybe going up.
Yevon wrote: » You can go to Cavan games for 250 years if you want but if you judge Meath as being lads who don't give up based on one game and dismiss 4 instances of Cavan doing the same thing then don't expect anyone to take your point seriously son. Poor today. Moynagh was excellent. I was actually impressed with Madden, he could turn out to be a decent inside forward. Don't know how Mickey can justify not playing Dara inside. Its madness. Ref was very poor, Monaghan alternated between diving and hitting dirty shots. The ref bottled at least 2 clear red cards.
Yevon wrote: » What was the issue with Mackey taking the quick free to Galligan? Really thought Mickey would have a better plan going forward. We never had enough players ahead of the ball or supporting the man in possession. Our free taking is also surely one of the worst in the country. Realistically this is the worst we've looked since 2015. Really hope we can avoid a hammering against Dublin and go into the Championship with a proper plan on how to get enough scores and surprise Monaghan.
Cavan_King wrote: » I dunno. I presume the referee was penalizing them for taking it when he hadn’t blown the whistle and gave the free out for the ball being kicked away. I think a chance was taken on a few lads today and it didn’t work out. Pearce Smith doesn’t look ready for senior level. Niall McKiernan also looked out of place. I think the half back line should be Moynagh, Smith & Rehill. Clarke in the full back line with Faulkner & McLoughlin. Graham and Galligan midfield. That would leave a forward line of McVeety, Reilly, Murray, Madden, Reilly & McKiernan when all are fit. McVeety is needed in the forwards and with Madden, Reilly & McKiernan should provide a scoring threat. If Clarke is needed at midfield, I’d be looking to Killian Brady.
tayto lover wrote: » I’m out of the country lads. Who was the referee today as Cavan seem to get little from any of them?
Thunderbirds wrote: » Brendan Crowley Kildare. We got some strange calls too. Easily worst inter county referee I've ever say. Was always 40 yards ahead of the ball.
Yevon wrote: » Two positives from yesterday that deserve a bit more attention are the performances from Madden and Moynagh. I really thought after two years ago when McGleenan was taking Madden off early in the first half of games and in general barely giving him a chance that he would fall away from the panel disillusioned and he did fall off for championship that year. But he's stuck at it and shown remarkable improvement this year. That sort of perseverance is commendablel. Yesterday he consistently wanted the ball, he showed, he moved and didn't shy away even when he wasn't troubling the scoreboard. I think we should stick with him and if he can show the same level of improvement in the next year and back himself for a shot a bit more then he will be a handful. Moynagh looked like the leader on the field yesterday and the one man to really throw himself about. He's cut out a lot of the hail mary shots and he looks fitter and faster than I've seen him before. Took two brilliant marks yesterday and busted a gut to get into space for kickouts. If we got the same level of effort and willingness to get stuck in from Gerry Smith (avoids contact at all costs), Rehill and McVeety I think we would have been much more effective yesterday.
Thunderbirds wrote: » Galligan should take all frees. His first free is always 40 plus yards away. Let him take the few handy ones and get the confidence up.
Yevon wrote: » Clarke's comments in the Irish News... Christ. Blaming the young lads and inexperience. This is his 7th season playing Senior football. He had 1 great game and ranged from average to awful for the rest. The error rate was still extremely high among our senior players, Killian included who seems to not be bothered even attempting to tackle properly anymore. It's a real insight into the lack of leadership evident in Cavan.
Cavan_King wrote: » Have a listen to the We Are Cavan Patreon podcast this week. Looks like the lads are on my side re Cavan having a soft underbelly and being an easy team to play. I was amazed you even asked me to go back over games where Cavan coughed up winning positions if you’re attending matches. I could go as far back as Armagh in 2004. I know an Armagh man who left that day because he was sure they’d lose. Who posted the picture on social media of some of the team out all smiles after the Monaghan game?
Yevon wrote: » Two things worth noting on this; 1. Just because Paul and Damien say something don't make it so. Paul said after we beat Galway in 2016 "is there a better footballer in the country than Killian Clarke? There might be players as good but is there anyone better?" You might want to think twice before making their word gospel. 2. You said about Meath "those lads don't know when they are beat" based on one league game which I correctly pointed out as bull**** given that Cavan have had similar comebacks in the last year alone. I never argued that Cavan were a team that closed out tight games, I used Cavan as the comparison to highlight your faulty logic. That obviously went over your head.
Yevon wrote: » We beat Roscommon on the 24th of February. Also interesting that a few posts ago you said "stats don't tell everything" but now you're referring to a statistical ranking system in your argument. You're still not getting the point, I'll try dull it down a shade: I am NOT arguing that Cavan close out tight games. My issue is with your point about Meath, can you back up your point a little more about how they don't give up? Or did you misspeak and you meant that they didn't give up in that particular game? No point in all this back and forth if it's based on an error you made when posting...
Yevon wrote: » I'm going to ignore the many, many other inconsistencies in your post and focus on this bit. Roscommon have beaten Cavan in almost every game we have played them in the last 5 years. We managed a draw and a victory in a dead rubber prior to this year. They have won a Connacht title, survived in Division 1 and reached the Super 8s in that time. By what measure could you possibly place Cavan ahead of Roscommon? I'm guessing your answer is that you see our players as being as good as Roscommon's? Or that you believe if we perform we are as good as Roscommon? And if so, we have reached the crux of the problem...
Cavan_King wrote: » Despite the recent record, I wouldn’t see Roscommon as being any better than Cavan. We’ve just under performed against them.