AuldManKing wrote: » You're doing some great training - those 5 & 6 mile tempos are grueling stuff - fair play for getting them done - the paces are solid. See you in Raheny next week.
overpronator wrote: » Cheers Al, I'm looking at your JD long tempos from afar with fear! You giving Raheny a rattle or is it just part of your week?
Duanington wrote: » Nice one S, missed you in the masses yesterday - very strong running
scotindublin wrote: » Good luck today!
overpronator wrote: K club 10k is next up. Considering racing 2 weeks in a row as an end to this block with Dunboyne the week after that. Would people think that recovery would be unrealistic for two raced 10k with an 8-day gap?
Swashbuckler wrote: » Great running. Big first mile! Same opinion as the two lads. I did back to back race weeks last year, 5M and 10k,and actually ran a decent run in the second. Would recommend it every now and then.
overpronator wrote: » Last week went like this Monday 6 miles 7.34 pace Easy miles with 8 short 10-15 second strides thrown in randomly in miles 5 and 6. Legs felt fine after the long run Tuesday Session – Abandoned. We had our usual Tuesday tempo type session down on the plan but storm Gareth was out in full force up in the field. The wind was so strong in places on the loop that I was nearly blown off my feet a couple of times in the warmup. A few of the brave souls that ventured out were doing steady miles so I jumped in with them, did 4 miles a shade under 7 min pace and called it a day, was just too bad weather wise. A little bit annoyed but in reality was impossible to do very much, gave it a lash though. Wednesday – Usual rest day Thursday Session: 3x(1Mile&4x400) 60 seconds recovery after the mile, 45 after the 400s, 3 between sets. We have been building up to three sets of this one for a few weeks so was dreading it a bit but went fine in the end. Plan was for the miles to be around 5.40-5.45 and the 400s around 80-82. Splits: 5.41; 81,81,81,80 5.38; 81,82,82,82 5.40; 82, 81, 83, 81 This was tough but doable, felt decent even on the last set, which is encouraging. Definitely a big session though so glad to get it done. The 400s were sensible also and I’d say that is important for finishing this session and have it not feeling like a raced effort. Conditions were still fairly windy starting out but improved a bit by the end. Friday: 6miles 7.56 Shuffle to shake off the session, felt a bit wobbly over the first 3 miles but grand by the end. There was a big fire in an old abandoned building in the local area that evening so lots of people about taking pictures and flying drones. Weird party atmosphere! Saturday 8 miles 7.19 pace Just an easy hour Saturday morning, stretched the legs a wee bit over the second half, about 7 min flat pace give or take. Sunday 14 miles 7.30 pace Nice easy long run Sunday morning in the phoenix park. Really keeping an eye on the pace with racing going on next week. Body felt tired. 51 miles for the week and next up is the K club this Saturday; so a relatively easy week with a light sessions only. My 10k PB is currently 36.3x, hope to be there or thereabouts. Signed up for Dunboyne too as Id said I would so two bites at a 10k PB to come!