nullzero wrote: » You've succinctly summed up the existence of everyone with a Dublin accent with such ease. Can't wait for me Ray and chips later, have a lovely tip that I must get down to the bookies to back, but I just have to collect me dole money and pop home and knock the missus about a bit first. Thanks be to jaysus dem culchies are runnin the place while I have me feet up, dis is de life.
nullzero wrote: » Kevo, he was bleedin rapid.
is_that_so wrote: » Just keep repeating it. A four year old has no idea and thinks you're being stupid. Eventually she will take it on board. It usually takes a kid till about the age of seven to get a handle on basic English grammar. Crisps is a horror of a word to say, she just can't pronounce it yet - logjam of consonants!:p
Peregrinus wrote: » Nothing new there. When I was a chizler in primary school in the 1970s, I was the only child in my class who had two parents both born in Dublin. And even I only had one out of four grandparents born in Dublin. All accents are developing all the time, and all middle-aged and older people complain that young people are losing their accents/speaking in affected accents/being swamped by foreign accents/whatever. It was ever thus.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » Unless she’s home schooled she will pick up her accent from her peers.
Woke Hogan wrote: » This is a perfect illustration of the Dublin condition: someone comes in speaking generally then a person from Dublin takes it personally and makes it all about themselves. :rolleyes:
is_that_so wrote: » Yeah she will or from TV but I don't think the poster was talking about accent. That peer thing can be mitigated much later if you feel it needs to be.
Lollipops23 wrote: » My grandad hailed from the Capel St tenements and spoke with an incredibly strong Dublin brogue (not "shweeeeeeeeh", but inserted a lot of Ds in words that didn't have them- eg Foreign became Forddin) He had a stroke in his 70s and the nurses referred him for speech therapy, convinced his tongue had been affected. He sounded the same as he always had done. It hadn't hurt his speech in the slightest.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » He was talking about accent. The two syllables in school and the pronunciation of crisps as crips are accents.
Ray Bloody Purchase wrote: » Turty tree. Down dere. Dats right. It does me bleedin' head in.
JohnnyFlash wrote: » super_furry wrote: » Feel free to toddle off back to whatever bog you came up from. Don’t be so thin-skinned. All I said is that the ‘salt o da erth’ Dublin accent is a noise that can be irritating at best, and downright offensive at worst. It’s an accent that gives impression of John Player Blue, a day ‘in da boooookeees’, battering the wife, Ray and chips for dinner, racing pigeons, and never having worked a day in your life.
super_furry wrote: » Feel free to toddle off back to whatever bog you came up from.
Lollipops23 wrote: » My grandad hailed from the Capel St tenements and spoke with an incredibly strong Dublin brogue (not "shweeeeeeeeh", but inserted a lot of Ds in words that didn't have them- eg Foreign became Forddin)
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » That’s a bit like saying, after making a general comment about black people, that it was just you speaking generally and now an individual black person is making it about themselves by getting upset.
is_that_so wrote: » I was referring to done and seen that. Crisps has nothing to do with accent. It's called a consonant cluster and people have to learnt how to say them regardless of accents.
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » The pronoucuation of crisps as crips is, like the two syllables in school, part of a specific Dublin accent. Inner city I would think but probably others.
Woke Hogan wrote: » And now it's a racial thing! :D:D When do the Civil Rights marches start? Talk about delusions of grandeur.
jimgoose wrote: » Yiz can all hang yizzer bollixes off the Five Lamps. :pac:
Franz Von Peppercorn wrote: » The pronoucuation of crisps as crips is, like the two syllables in school, part of a specific Dublin accent. Inner city I would think but probably others. I seen and I done are also Dublin dialects. It’s true that kids can actually make these mistakes growing but fuaranach was referrring to accent, given the nature of this thread.