yabadabado wrote: » If Klopp left it the morning it would be considered a success as the bar is low at Liverpool. He moved them up the table and got them to a few finals so fans are happy and there is no pressure on him to win trophies. Whoever is the next full time manager of United will be expected to be winning silverware.
GSPfan wrote: » Wait till Everton beat them on the weekend.
manufan16 wrote: » The influx to the thread leads me think Liverpool recently won a game again that was comfortable , nerves have dissapated and confidence is high and mighty throughout. I missed MOTD.
~Rebel~ wrote: » I'm not quite sure I understand your thought process, but it's an interesting enough area to get into I suppose.... We judge any manager through expectation based upon history. Generally speaking, top level clubs hire managers with a higher expectation of success built upon the foundations of their careers to date. Using Klopp as an example, as you mentioned, he achieved success at Mainz, and then Dortmund, and so when he joined Liverpool, fans (and more importantly board members) had a tangible, quantifiable benchmark of what he could do. Is that any guarantee of what he would do? of course not, but on the risk/reward sliding scale, it sets you up for a better chance of getting where you want to be. So the question of Ole or Poch, looking at the same scale, would lead one to move towards Poch of course. His tangible, long term record at clubs in better quality leagues is obviously superior. What makes it muddy is Ole's short term, but high value success. He's there, right now, doing well. So it feels like a risk to drop a current performer, in favor of a different, but higher rated quantity. The risk is; do you hope the initial, and largely unexpected, form will continue, as it did (in the champions league at least) for Zidane at Real Madrid. Or does the short term performance-improvement bubble burst when faced with the longer term harsh realities, like Dalglish at Liverpool, and Di Matteo at Chelsea. On balance, I would say the cold logical decision should be to go with the more-proven-over-time bet of Pochetino. But football doesn't generally follow cold logical thinking, so Ole will get the job. It's not necessarily a bad choice - I don't think there is a bad choice in this situation - but it's the riskier choice. <Edit> As another way of thinking about it. Let's say you're an oil baron , and you just bought a random premier league club with the intention of pushing the top teams all the way. You need a great manager to take charge of the rebuild, and get your team into the champions league. Do you bring in Ole Gunnar Solskjær, or Mauricio Pochettino? For me, there's only one answer there. For the longer term, I would want someone who had proven themselves at all aspects of top league management, over someone who - while inspiring great form and results - is still untried in many aspects of modern management, as those challenges simply haven't presented themselves yet. Executing long term strategy is about much more than short term motivational improvement. This is where Dalglish and Di Matteo fell down quite quickly after that short term motivation ended.
pjohnson wrote: » Whats the concept of a superthread again? Anyone?
redzerdrog wrote: » Not sure you understand the concept of boards
Technophobe wrote: » Quick question.. Can you see Klopp being a long term success?
Technophobe wrote: » You said your can't see Ole being a long term success.. that's your opinion and you are entitled to it..what's deemed success is relative too tho. Ole has certainly been a huge success so far; can't see how anyone would disagree at this point in time.. So I am interested in what you regard as successful..For Klopp to be regarded as successful for example, what does he need to do??
Technophobe wrote: » redzerdrog wrote: » bucketybuck wrote: » Well, lets just remind everybody what you said, for clarity's sake. Point stands Quick question.. Can you see Klopp being a long term success?
redzerdrog wrote: » bucketybuck wrote: » Well, lets just remind everybody what you said, for clarity's sake. Point stands
bucketybuck wrote: » Well, lets just remind everybody what you said, for clarity's sake.
redzerdrog wrote: » Pretty much the Crux of it. I'd fear utd under Poch whereas i really don't under Ole. I think some fans are on a honeymoon period with ole and while you might be happy with the performances against Liverpool and psg after having to endure Jose for so long. That won't be acceptable to fans this time next year.
DARK-KNIGHT wrote: » Ah a nice new thread Not a smell of lemons anywhere
redzerdrog wrote: » Unfortunately can't respond in thread as it's locked but some of ye would seriously wana catch a grip of yourselves. I was responding a reasonable post from mickjag regarding the merits of ole v poch, giving a point of view from an opposition fan yet the reaction was that of bunch of teenage girls. I wasn't pissing on your parade after beating palace as quite frankly the race for 4th isn't on my mind at the minute so that result is of zero concern to me
DM_7 wrote: » Why reply and encourage?
redzerdrog wrote: » Pretty much the Crux of it.
OGS doing a great caretaker job but just can't see him being a long term success. The only two decent sides faced had ye camping out with a flat back 6 ala Jose which is acceptable to Utd at this moment but won t be acceptable this time next year.
Hotblack Desiato wrote: » That's not what you said, though, is it.
redzerdrog wrote: » So it's a wind up to think that poch would do a better job than ole.
As an opposition fan I genuinely hope OGS gets the job over poch.
jayo26 wrote: » It's not a joke to the people that like fellaini!!! The ones that still mourne and miss his elbows every day!!!!! Serious tho..... that's how the debate gets rehashed. Starts out as a joke then it grow into a full on 10 page debate with endless long posts. Just an opinion and not a dig at you.
bangkok wrote: » Ah here, clearly a joke, you even left out smiley face when you quoted me
brinty wrote: » Yes exactly. . Shiny new thread, same old Bangkok
Lithium93_ wrote: What Bangkok said....
bangkok wrote: New thread, no fellaini, never thought i would see the day
bangkok wrote: » Ah lads, shiny new thread, ole breaking records, utd playing brilliant.... stop the handbags