ibarelycare wrote: » Nope it’s not. It’s not my fault you’re scraping a living.
dok_golf wrote: » You an expert then?
dok_golf wrote: » The answer is no then
dok_golf wrote: » Make sure you get an invoice off him so that you will have some comeback if/when things go to ****e.
ibarelycare wrote: » Lol don’t worry I’ll have the Small Claims Court on speed dial for when the walls cave in or the house burns down from the 2 days he’s spending doing a bit of sanding and a bit of painting.
dok_golf wrote: » You won't need small claims court. His insurance will cover it
ibarelycare wrote: » Happy days so, nothing to worry about
dok_golf wrote: » All flippancy aside, be careful. If he trips coming down your stairs or comes off a ladder, with no insurance, he can claim against your home insurance
ibarelycare wrote: » As much as I’m sure that would tickle you, the guy has dozens of fantastic reviews on Adverts spanning over the past number of years, so I’m reasonably confident that he’s not some shady character who’s going to throw himself down the stairs or paint my cat or try to sleep with my boyfriend
the_pen_turner wrote: » reviews on adverts. come on now. anyone could fake that.
ibarelycare wrote: » You do know you can view profiles on Adverts when they leave reviews? So if you’re suggesting he’s playing a seriously long game and has set up 70+ accounts and spent a few years on each of them buying and selling products and services just so he leave fake reviews on his painter account all with the purpose of duping me...
ibarelycare wrote: » Oh get a grip, he has in his hole done that. And sure look even IF 10% of the reviews are fake, there are still a reassuringly amount of great reviews (and from accounts that are clearly not fake). And FWIW (since it’s the second time it’s been brought up) I’m not a moderator on boards. I’m a hosted moderator of a small private forum. They’re two very different things.
the_pen_turner wrote: » im not saying he has. im saying he could. of course he is going to get great reviews. he is only charging 1/2 of the going rate. the people that are going to hire him arnt looking for quality or a fully legal business. all they care about is the cost to them.
the_pen_turner wrote: » as for the mod part. how are we to know any different. it says mod several times on your profile .
ibarelycare wrote: » If you say so! *thumbs up*i see this very regularly . people only care about the cost and not whats being done Not sure why you would need to know since it’s of absolutely no consequence to anything in this thread or forum!
Marty Bird wrote: » OP as others have said that is an extremely cheap quote can’t see how this guy can afford to work so cheap when you factor in the cost of materials. Is he supplying the paint ?
ibarelycare wrote: » Sure look if he turns up he turns up! It’s not like we’ve paid him up front! If he does an ok job for €140 with some bits we need to tidy up ourselves I’ll consider it money well spent as all the graft work will be done. We don’t own the house, we’re saving to buy a house, all we want is a touch-up job to make the place look better. He was giving us good advice on humidity in the house and about the colours that we wanted. I saw his work diary when he was scheduling us in. As I said he seems legit. If he doesn’t turn up we haven’t lost anything. I’m happy to take the risk
cardwizzard wrote: » Good luck with it ðŸ‘
Aint Eazy Being Cheezy wrote: » This threads gas. My guess is that he does a quick job, little bit rough around the edges, and it’s cash and no receipt. It’s not your gaff, and it’ll still look better than it did beforehand, so everyone’s a winner.
ibarelycare wrote: » Bingo!
alan1963 wrote: » sounds like the fella is being a fool to himself, why does he value his time so cheaply?
ibarelycare wrote: » Thanks a mil for your advice and fair play for doing it all yourself! This would be the ideal for us. If quotes are too high we’ll just have to take a few days off work and get it all done. How long did it take you? Did you have to do any prep work on the walls?
looksee wrote: » Heavens, where are all these skilled, experienced local professionals who clean up after themselves (rofl), who turn up when they say they will and don't beggar off in the middle of the job to keep someone else onside. Or they have a bad back, or the kids have to be picked up from school (honestly) and so on and so forth. And will in fact give you a quote in the first place... Mind you I have noticed the Polish lads have picked up some bad habits ten years on.
oceanman wrote: » maybe he has plenty of time..